Subject Guides: Psychology: Databases

Databases

PsycINFO
PsycINFO covers literature published in psychology and related disciplines, including psychiatry, neuropsychology, nursing, social work and pharmacology. Records are indexed using the Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms
MEDLINE (Ovid)
MEDLINE is the U.S. National Library of Medicine's (NLM) premier bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences. 1950-current.
ProQuest ProQuest’s collections span six centuries, all disciplines and the diverse content types needed by researchers, providing the world’s largest collection of dissertations and theses; three centuries of newspapers; more than 450,000 academic ebooks; collections of important scholarly journals and other content researchers need such as data; and unique digital vaults of primary source materials . ProQuest’s renowned abstracting and indexing enables researchers to find sources in their area of study.
SpringerLink
SpringerLink is the premier electronic data source from Springer for researchers in biomedicine, life science, clinical medicine, physics, engineering, mathematics, computer science, humanities, social sciences and economics.
PsycARTICLES
PsycARTICLES®, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. It contains more than 153,000 articles from nearly 80 journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA), its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychological Association and the Hogrefe Publishing Group. It includes all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to the present and nearly all APA journals go back to Volume 1, Issue 1.
EBSCOhost
EBSCOhost databases and discovery technologies are the most-used, premium online information resources for tens of thousands of institutions worldwide, representing millions of end-users.
ScienceDirect
ScienceDirect is a leading full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from nearly 2,500 journals and more than 30,000 books.
Scopus
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
PubMed
PubMed comprises more than 25 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
PsychiatryOnline
PsychiatryOnline is a powerful web-based portal that features DSM-5®—the most widely used psychiatric reference in the world—and The American Journal of Psychiatry as the cornerstones of an unsurpassed collection of psychiatric references from American Psychiatric Publishing, the most trusted and respected name in psychiatric publishing.
MEDLINE® (Web of Science)
Explore biomedicine and life sciences, bioengineering, public health, clinical care, and plant and animal science. Search precisely with MeSH terms and CAS registry numbers; link to NCBI databases and PubMed Related Articles. Backfiles to 1950.
CINAHL: Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature
CINAHL indexes the top nursing and allied health literature available including nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses Association.

For full-text nursing and allied health journals, CINAHL Complete is the companion to the CINAHL index.

Searching Guidelines

There are several ways of searching for journal articles by topic keywords:

Search using keywords in Library Catalogue
Search using keywords in our Specialist Databases
Found something you can't access? Request at Inter-Library Loan

Keyword Searching

Examples of Keyword Searches:

keyword: organization* AND psychology

keyword: abnormal psych

Tips

APA: Finding Information About Psychological Tests

This website created by the American Psychology Association describes how to find published and unpublished tests.

Finding Tests and Measures in PsycINFO

http://www.apa.org/pubs/databases/training/lessons-tests.pdf

Articles not available in full-text?

To receive articles or books that the library does not own:

Use the University of Pretoria Libraries interlibrary loans service

Recommended Databases

Academic Search Complete Multidisciplinary database giving access to the electronic version of articles from more than 8,500 scientific journals, of which 7,300 are reread by a peer review committee. There are also bibliographic references and summaries for more than 12,500 journals and 13,200 publications (books, reports, conference proceedings, etc.). Certain identified documents only offer access to bibliographic data and summaries.
Sabinet African Journals Sabinet African Journals have been available online to clients with great success since 2001. The collection is proud to be the biggest of its kind, with an exclusive assortment of African and southern African journal titles, which includes more than 430 titles as well as more than 350 000 full text articles and the list keeps on growing.
Africa-Wide Information Africa-Wide Information, produced by NISC South Africa, combines bibliographic databases from around the world to form a multidisciplinary aggregation offering unique and extensive coverage of all facets of Africa and African studies. This includes content from South African Studies, African Studies, and African HealthLine, which focuses on all aspects of health relating to Africa and other developing nations. With over 3.2 million citations and abstracts dating back to the 16th century, this resource is essential for those with an interest in African research, and information on and about Africa.
Education Database Education Database supports the study and application of education across all levels of education, including early childhood education, primary and secondary education, and higher education. The database supports global study and research, including thousands of full-text journals, dissertations and other relevant sources.
Emerald Insight Emerald's Management collection features over 80,000 articles from over 200 titles. The collection continues to disseminate the latest thinking, from authors at 95 of the Financial Times Top 100 business schools and forms an essential part of the research library at most of these institutions. Our specialist collections in fields such as Education, Engineering, Library Studies and Marketing build on this strength; offering focused international research in a range of subject fields.
ERIC (EBSCOhost) ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources. The database contains more than 1.3 million records and provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index.
JStor
Sabinet African Journals Sabinet African Journals have been available online to clients with great success since 2001. The collection is proud to be the biggest of its kind, with an exclusive assortment of African and southern African journal titles, which includes more than 430 titles as well as more than 350 000 full text articles and the list keeps on growing.
ScienceDirect ScienceDirect is a leading full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from nearly 2,500 journals and more than 30,000 books.
Scopus Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
Social Science Database Social Science Database offers indexing and full text for hundreds of academic journals, providing extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, communication, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology.
Taylor & Francis (Journals) Taylor & Francis Group publishes quality peer-reviewed journals under the Routledge and Taylor & Francis imprints.
Wiley Online Library
Web of Science Core Collection Access the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities and examine proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions.