Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Research books in Psychology
Quantitative Methods in Psychology by
Publication Date: 2009-08-05
Quantitative Psychology is arguably one of the oldest disciplines within the field of psychology and nearly all psychologists are exposed to quantitative psychology in some form. While textbooks in statistics, research methods, and psychological measurement exist none offer a unified treatment of quantitative psychology. The SAGE Handbook of Quantitative Methods in Psychology does just that. Each chapter covers a methodological topic with equal attention paid to established theory and the challenges facing methodologists as they address new research questions using that particular methodology. The reader will come away from each chapter with a greater understanding of the methodology being addressed as well as an understanding of the directions for future developments within that methodological area.
Encyclopedia of Case Study Research by
Publication Date: 2009-10-21
Case study research has a long history within the natural sciences, social sciences, and humanities, dating back to the early 1920's. At first it was a useful way for researchers to make valid inferences from events outside the laboratory in ways consistent with the rigorous practices of investigation inside the lab. Over time, case study approaches garnered interest in multiple disciplines as scholars studied phenomena in context. Despite widespread use, case study research has received little attention among the literature on research strategies.The Encyclopedia of Case Study Research provides a compendium on the important methodological issues in conducting case study research and explores both the strengths and weaknesses of different paradigmatic approaches. These two volumes focus on the distinctive characteristics of case study research and its place within and alongside other research methodologies.Key FeaturesPresents a definition of case study research that can be used in different fields of studyDescribes case study as a research strategy rather than as a single tool for decision making and inquiryGuides rather than dictates, readers' understanding and applications of case study researchIncludes a critical summary in each entry, which raises additional matters for reflectionMakes case study relevant to researchers at various stages of their careers, across philosophic divides, and throughout diverse disciplinesKey ThemesAcademic DisciplinesCase Study Research DesignConceptual IssuesData AnalysisData CollectionMethodological ApproachesTheoretical TraditionsTheory Development and ContributionsFrom Case Study ResearchTypes of Case Study Research
The SAGE Handbook of Qualitative Research in Psychology by
Call Number: N 150.72 SAGE
Publication Date: 2007-12-27
Evaluating, Doing and Writing Research in Psychology by
Publication Date: 2001-05-02
Evaluating, Doing and Writing Research in Psychology is a thoroughly revised and expanded co-edition of the highly regarded Reasoning and Argument in Psychology, originally published by UNSW Press, Australia. It represents a comprehensive textbook for all undergraduates in psychology who need to undertake empirical research, taking them step-by-step through the process. In particular, it offers a range of study skills enabling the student to understand the complex processes involved with psychological research, not really covered in other texts. Coverage includes: y is a thoroughly revised and expanded co-edition of the highly regarded , originally published by UNSW Press, Australia. It represents a comprehensive textbook for all undergraduates in psychology who need to undertake empirical research, taking them step-by-step through the process. In particular, it offers a range of study skills enabling the student to understand the complex processes involved with psychological research, not really covered in other texts. Coverage includes: · A guide to evaluating statements, arguments and a range of different psychological explanations· Chapters on the interpretation and evaluation of data and evidence, understanding weaknesses in psychological argument, and measurement and numerical reasoning· Chapters on doing a literature review, writing up essays and projects, and reporting observational studies.