Indigenous Research Methodologies by 
Introduction to social work and social welfare : empowering people by
Social welfare : its business, history, and future -- Social work as a profession and a career -- Generalist social work practice -- Poverty and public welfare -- Emotional/behavioral problems and counseling -- Family problems and services to families -- Sexual orientation and services to LGBT individuals -- Drug abuse and drug treatment programs -- Crime, juvenile delinquency, and correctional services -- Problems in education and school social work -- Work-related problems and social work in the workplace -- Racism, ethnocentrism, and strategies for advancing social and economic justice -- Sexism and efforts for achieving equality -- Aging and gerontological services -- Aging and gerontological services -- Health problems and medical social services -- Physical and mental disabilities and rehabilitation -- Overpopulation, misuse of the environment, and family planning.
The Political Economy of Social Welfare Policy in Africa by
The Political Economy of Social Welfare Policy in Africa: Transforming policy through practice is a groundbreaking text that uses a political economy and human rights lens to analyse and critique social welfare policy in selected countries in Africa. Tracing the political transformation ofSouth Africa and other sub-Saharan countries, it provides the reader with critical insight into how social welfare policy evolved during periods of colonial and post-colonial governance regimes and the contemporary period characterised by neoliberal globalisation. The text focuses on theinterdependence of economic and social development policies and processes to advance human development and protect the basic human rights of all, especially the poorest and most marginalised.
Climate Change and Poverty by
Arguably the most important challenge facing the world in the twenty-first century is climate change, which will affect global issues of poverty and social exclusion such as food, fuel, housing, transportation, and air pollution. In Climate Change and Poverty, Tony Fitzpatrick offers a timely new "ecosocial" way to think about the conjunction of climate change and poverty, analyzing the causes, symptoms, and possible solutions to poverty and establishing a cross-national, multidisciplinary approach that will be of use to scholars, researchers, and policy makers alike.
Pathways to Recovery and Desistance by
This book uses the latest research to build guidance on community-based rehabilitation with the aim of challenging stigma and marginalization. Best examines effective methods for community growth, offers sustainable ways of promoting social inclusion, and puts forward a new drug strategy and a new reform policy for prisons.
Environment in the Lives of Children and Families by
This new Policy Press Short presents innovative international research into how the term "environment" is understood within families and how that plays out in everyday lives. Based on a study that involved creative qualitative work with families in India and the United Kingdom, it shows how environmental practices are negotiated in families, and how they relate to values, identities, and society. Through that analysis, we begin to see the ways in which families and childhood are constructed as sites for intervention in debates about climate change.
Climate Change, Consumption and Intergenerational Justice by
The United Nations 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development makes climate change and responsible consumption key priorities for both industrialized and emerging economies. Moving beyond the Global North, this book uses innovative cross-national and cross-generational research with urban residents in China and Uganda, as well as the UK, to illuminate international debates about building sustainable societies and to examine how different cultures think about past, present, and future responsibility for climate change. The authors explore how far different nations see climate change as a domestic issue whilst looking at local explanatory and blame narratives to consider profound questions of justice, between those nations that are more and less responsible for, and vulnerable to, climate change.
Social Policy in Post-Apartheid South Africa by
This book critically examines the current social policy in post-apartheid South Africa and proposes an alternative social policy agenda to create a new development pathway for the country. Taking social policy as a vehicle that will facilitate the creation of a new society altogether, namely the "Good Society," the author argues for the adoption of policy that will socially re-engineer South Africa. The author shows how the policy tools and development interventions which were undertaken by the post-apartheid state in driving South Africa's transformation agenda failed to emancipate many individuals, families, and communities from the cycle of intergenerational poverty and underdevelopment. He contends that social policy interventions that foster the social re-engineering of South African society must take place to untangle the inherited colonial-apartheid social order. This book includes comparative analyses on the Global South and Global North to present the ways in which countries such as post-Second World War Great Britain and Sweden, and post-independence Zambia of the 1960s and 1970s, were able to use social policy to create new societies altogether or places similar to the "Good Society." The conceptual and methodological issues that form the basis for this book reside in public policy-making and the public good and will be of interest to scholars of social policy, social development, and South African society.
Social Work Practice with Older Adults by
Social Work Practice With Older Adults by Jill Chonody and Barbra Teater presents a contemporary framework based on the World Health Organization's active aging policy that allows forward-thinking students to focus on client strengths and resources when working with the elderly. The Actively Aging framework takes into account health, social, behavioral, economic, and personal factors as they relate to aging, but also explores environmental issues, which supports the new educational standards put forth by the Council on Social Work Education. Covering micro, mezzo, and macro practice domains, the text examines all aspects of working with aging populations, from assessment through termination.
Continuing Professional Development in Social Work by 
Intervention Research by 
Critical Thinking and Professional Judgement for Social Work by 
What Works (and Doesn't) in Reducing Recidivism by 
Social Work and Human Development by 
Aging by 
Emotional Well-Being and Mental Health by 
Social Work Practice in Health Care by 
Social Welfare Policy and Advocacy by 
Social Welfare Policy for a Sustainable Future by 
Implementation Monitoring and Process Evaluation by 
Practical Program Evaluation by 
Social Welfare for a Global Era by
Drawing on a large body of literature and his own extensive knowledge of the field, Midgley offers students, scholars, and practitioners an up-to-date account of the complex ways social well-being is enhanced in the global era, including the major welfare institutions that provide a cultural context for social welfare policy and practice.
Children in Therapy by 
Working with Aging Families by 
Improving Mental Health Through Social Support by 
Groups by 
Introducing Mental Health by 
Designing and conducting mixed methods research by 
Qualitative Inquiry and Research Design by 
The Future of Social Work by 
Putting Professional Leadership into Practice in Social Work by 
Health and Social Work by 
Developing Your Communication Skills in Social Work by 
Talk therapy toolkit : theory and practice of counselling and psychotherapy by 
Handbook of Social Work with Groups, Second Edition by 
Play-Based Interventions for Childhood Anxieties, Fears, and Phobias by Play-Based Interventions for Childhood Anxieties, Fears, and Phobias by 
Direct Practice Skills for Evidence-Based Social Work by Health and Social Work by Handbook of Social Work with Groups, Second Edition by Putting Professional Leadership into Practice in Social Work by Developing Your Communication Skills in Social Work by Talk therapy toolkit : theory and practice of counselling and psychotherapy by 
Innovation in Mixed Methods Research by 
Social Work Theories in Context by 
Character Strengths Interventions by 
Qualitative Research and Evaluation Methods by (search via course code e.g. INL 113)
Archer, E., Janse van Vuuren, H., & Van der Walt, H. (2017). Introduction to ATLAS.ti: Basic operations, tips and tricks for coding (6th ed.). Pretoria: Research Rescue. ISBN: 9780994719645
Mental Health Social Work in Context by 
Employee Assistance Programs by 
Employee Assistance Programs by If you come across a book you need for research and UP Libraries doesn't own it,Request a copy through our Interlibrary Loan Services(ILL).
ILL requests can take up to 7 days to process.
Essential Research Methods for Social Work by 
The Handbook of Social Work Research Methods by 
Research Methods for Social Work by 
Research for Effective Social Work Practice by 
The SAGE Handbook of Social Work Research by 
The Handbook of Social Work Research Methods by The SAGE Handbook of Social Work Research by 
Research Methods for Evidence-Based Practice by 
The Social Work Dictionary by 
The Encyclopedia of Social Work by 
Social Workers' Desk Reference by 
