Subject Guides: Social Work: Core Collection

Core Social Work Journals

Google Scholar

With Google Scholar you can search across various disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, from academic publishers,online repositories, universities and other web sites.

Be sure to link Google Scholar to the UP Libraries to get free access to the library resources. To do this from the Google Scholar homepage, click on Settings in the upper-right corner. Click on "Library Links" on the left. Type in "Pretoria" and then check all the boxes and save. Now your results will link to the library's resources.

How to find articles

How to search for journals:

How to find articles at UP

Social Work Databases

Academic Search Complete Multidisciplinary database giving access to the electronic version of articles from more than 8,500 scientific journals, of which 7,300 are reread by a peer review committee. There are also bibliographic references and summaries for more than 12,500 journals and 13,200 publications (books, reports, conference proceedings, etc.). Certain identified documents only offer access to bibliographic data and summaries.
Africa-Wide Information Africa-Wide Information, produced by NISC South Africa, combines bibliographic databases from around the world to form a multidisciplinary aggregation offering unique and extensive coverage of all facets of Africa and African studies. This includes content from South African Studies, African Studies, and African HealthLine, which focuses on all aspects of health relating to Africa and other developing nations. With over 3.2 million citations and abstracts dating back to the 16th century, this resource is essential for those with an interest in African research, and information on and about Africa.
African Journals Sabinet African Journals have been available online to clients with great success since 2001. The collection is proud to be the biggest of its kind, with an exclusive assortment of African and southern African journal titles, which includes more than 430 titles as well as more than 350 000 full text articles and the list keeps on growing.
Family & Society Studies Worldwide Family & Society Studies Worldwide™ is a core resource providing the most comprehensive coverage of research, policy, and practice literature in the fields of Family Science, Human Ecology, Human Development, and Social Welfare. FSSW is an anthology of 4 database files providing access to more than 1.3 million records. Coverage spans from 1970 to the present.
Humanities Index This database is an international abstracting and indexing tool for research in the humanities, covering over internationally respected humanities journals and weekly magazines published in the UK and other English speaking countries, as well as quality newspapers published in the UK.
Humanities Source Humanities Source is designed to meet the needs of students, researchers and educators interested in all aspects of the humanities. The collection includes full text for more than 1,400 journals, with citations to over 3.5 million articles, including book reviews. Coverage in Humanities Source includes worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought.
ProQuest Central ProQuest Central is the largest single periodical resource available, bringing together complete databases across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Language and Literature, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, as well as core titles in the Performing and Visual Arts, History, Religion, Philosophy, and includes thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (PQDT) Global is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, offering millions of works from thousands of universities. Each year hundreds of thousands of works are added. Full-text coverage spans from 1743 to the present, with citation coverage dating back to 1637.
SAGE Knowledge SAGE Knowledge is the ultimate social sciences digital library for students, researchers, and faculty. Hosting more than 4,400 titles, it includes an expansive range of SAGE eBook and eReference content, including scholarly monographs, reference works, handbooks, series, professional development titles, and more.
Social Science Database Social Science Database offers indexing and full text for hundreds of academic journals, providing extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, communication, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology.
Social Work Abstracts Social Work Abstracts offers extensive coverage of more than 450 social work and human services journals dating back to 1965. Produced by the National Association of Social Workers (NASW), the database provides citations and abstracts dealing with all aspects of the social work field, including theory and practice, areas of service and social issues and problems.
Taylor & Francis (Journals) Taylor & Francis Group publishes quality peer-reviewed journals under the Routledge and Taylor & Francis imprints.
Wiley Online Library Over 1, 000 journals, major reference works, online books, Current Protocols laboratory manuals, and databases as well as a suite of professional and management resources.

Journal Alerts

If there is a key journal/s in your research field,it might be helpful to create a journal alerts. When a new issue is out of that publication/Journal you will receive an email notification, with a list of all articles in that issue.

Databases Such as Ebscohost TOC,SCOPUS, do offer that.

Social Work: Core Collection

Keyword Searching

Core Social Work Journals

Google Scholar

How to find articles

Social Work Databases

Journal Alerts