Subject Guides: Development Studies: Articles

DATABASES

Search the DATABASES for scholarly / peer-reviewed articles. Filter your results by choosing PEER-REVIEWED.

Sign in (create your own account) to be able to save searches, create alerts (be informed of new articles published) and use other other database features.

EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window EBSCOhost databases and discovery technologies are the most-used, premium online information resources for tens of thousands of institutions worldwide, representing millions of end-users.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database and should always be included in your database selection.
Africa-Wide Information is a multi-disciplinary database supplying information on South Africa, Southern Africa and Africa. It is not a full text database but leads you to valuable information.
Econlit
Masterfile Premier is a multi-disciplinary database providing full text articles.

On the EBSCOhost Choose screen, read the descriptions of all the databases to be able to choose more databases related to your topic of research.

Sabinet African Journals This link opens in a new window Sabinet African Journals have been available online to clients with great success since 2001. The collection is proud to be the biggest of its kind, with an exclusive assortment of African and southern African journal titles, which includes more than 430 titles as well as more than 350 000 full text articles and the list keeps on growing.
- This link opens in a new window
Agriculture Science Database This link opens in a new window This database contains the leading agricultural journals published in North America. ProQuest Agriculture Journals offers the complete text as well as complete images from such journals as Agricultural Research, Forest Products Journal, Journal of Animal Science, Journal of Soil and Water Conservation and Plant Physiology.
Emerald Insight This link opens in a new window Emerald's Management collection features over 80,000 articles from over 200 titles. The collection continues to disseminate the latest thinking, from authors at 95 of the Financial Times Top 100 business schools and forms an essential part of the research library at most of these institutions. Our specialist collections in fields such as Education, Engineering, Library Studies and Marketing build on this strength; offering focused international research in a range of subject fields.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
JStor This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Choose the Business or Social Science database.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window ScienceDirect is a leading full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from nearly 2,500 journals and more than 30,000 books.
Taylor & Francis (Journals) This link opens in a new window Taylor & Francis Group publishes quality peer-reviewed journals under the Routledge and Taylor & Francis imprints.
- This link opens in a new window
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
SAGE Journals This link opens in a new window SAGE is the world’s largest independent academic publisher and is committed to global dissemination of research. SAGE’s mission is founded in the belief that education is intrinsically valuable, and the dissemination of useable knowledge is a key foundation in building a healthy society.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

GOOGLE SCHOLAR

In order to access UP electronic articles from Google Scholar, you need to adjust your Google Scholar Settings as follow:

Click on the three lines next to the Google Scholar logo.

On the Settings screen, adjust the following settings:

Bibliography Manager

Language
Library

Search box: Pretoria

Choose and

Save

Read more about Google Scholar

LOCATE A SPECIFIC ARTICLE

You found the citation of an article you need, but need the full text article. Four ways to locate the article:

1. On the library homepage, in the Everything search box, type ti: (for title) and enter the title of the article. One of the first results should be the article. Click on the title to access the record. You should find options for online viewing.

2. On the library homepage, in the Google Scholar search box, type allintitle: (for title) and enter the title of the article. (Google Scholar Settings should be University of Pretoria.)

3. On the library webpage, in the Journal search box, type ti: (for title) and enter the journal title. The first results should be the journal title. Click on the title to access the record. Follow the links for online viewing.

4. Request the article from another library via Interlibrary Loans.

Or contact alett.nell@up.ac.za

Development Studies: Articles

DATABASES

GOOGLE SCHOLAR

LOCATE A SPECIFIC ARTICLE

SOME DEVELOPMENT STUDIES JOURNALS

WHAT IS A SCHOLARLY ARTICLE?