Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Publication Date: 2012-02-07
From Miroslav Volf, one of the world's foremost Christian theologians--and co-teacher, along with Tony Blair, of a groundbreaking Yale University course on faith and globalization--comes Allah, a timely and provocative argument for a new pluralism between Muslims and Christians. In a penetrating exploration of every side of the issue, from New York Times headlines on terrorism to passages in the Koran and excerpts from the Gospels, Volf makes an unprecedented argument for effecting a unified understanding between Islam and Christianity. In the tradition of Seyyed Hossein Nasr's Islam in the Modern World, Volf's Allah is essential reading for students of the evolving political science of the twenty-first century.
The Challenge of Islam by
Publication Date: 2005-03-01
In this text, the author provides an introduction to Islam, explores the prospects for dialogue between Islam and Christianity, and discusses a number of pertinent issues ranging from matters of media-driven perceptions of Islam to thorny theological topics.
Christian-Muslim Relations by
Publication Date: 2011-01-01
Christian-Muslim Relations, a Bibliographical History 3 (CMR3) is a history of all the works on Christian-Muslim relations from 1050 to 1200. It comprises introductory essays and over one hundred entries containing descriptions, assessments and comprehensive bibliographical details of individual works.
Christian-Muslim Relations by
Publication Date: 2013-01-01
Christian-Muslim Relations, a Bibliographical History. Volume 5 (CMR 5) is a history of all the known works on Christian-Muslim relations in the period 1350-1500. It comprises introductory essays and detailed entries containing descriptions, assessments and comprehensive bibliographical details of individual works.
Christian-Muslim Relations by
Publication Date: 2010-01-01
Christian-Muslim Relations, a Bibliographical History 2 (CMR2) is a history of all the works on Christian-Muslim relations from 900 to 1050. It comprises introductory essays and over one hundred entries containing descriptions, assessments and comprehensive bibliographical details of individual works.
Christian-Muslim Relations by
Publication Date: 2009-01-01
Christian-Muslim Relations, a Bibliographical History 1 (CMR1) is a history of all the known works on Christian-Muslim relations from 600 to 1500. It comprises introductory essays and over 200 detailed entries containing descriptions, assessments and compehensive bibliographical details of individual works.
Christian-Muslim Relations - A Bibliographical History, 1200-1350 by
Publication Date: 2012-01-01
Christian-Muslim Relations, a Bibliographical History 4 (CMR 4) is a history of all the known works on Christian-Muslim relations in the period 1200-1350. It comprises introductory essays and detailed entries containing descriptions, assessments and compehensive bibliographical details of individual works.
Christian-Muslim Relations. a Bibliographical History Volume 11 South and East Asia, Africa and the Americas (1600-1700) by
Publication Date: 2016-12-08
Christian-Muslim Relations, a Bibliographical History, Volume 11 (CMR 11) covering South and East Asia, Africa and the Americas in the period 1600-1700, is a continuing volume in a history of relations between the two faiths from the 7th to the early 20th century as this is reflected in written works. It comprises introductory essays and the main body of entries which treat all the works, surviving or lost, that are recorded. These entries provide biographical details of the authors, descriptions and assessments of their works, and complete accounts of publications and studies. The result of collaboration between numerous leading scholars, CMR 11, along with the other volumes in this series, is intended as a basic tool for research in Christian-Muslim relations. Section Editors: Clinton Bennett, Luis F. Bernabe Pons, Jaco Beyers, Lejla Demiri, Martha Frederiks, David D. Grafton, Stanislaw Grodź, Alan Guenther, Emma Gaze Loghin, Gordon Nickel, Claire Norton, Reza Pourjavady, Douglas Pratt, Radu Păun, Peter Riddell, Umar Ryad, Mehdi Sajid, Cornelia Soldat, Karel Steenbrink, Davide Tacchini, Ann Thomson, Serge Traore, Carsten Walbiner
Common Ground by
Publication Date: 2009-09-04
Christian-Muslim interaction is a reality today in all corners of the globe, but while many celebrate the commonality of these traditions, significant differences remain. If these religions cannot be easily reconciled, can we perhaps view them through a single albeit refractive lens? This is the approach Paul Heck takes in Common Ground: To undertake a study of religious pluralism as a theological and social reality, and to approach the two religions in tandem as part of a broader discussion on the nature of the good society. Rather than compare Christianity and Islam as two species of faith, religious pluralism offers a prism through which a society as a whole--secular and religious alike--can consider its core beliefs and values. Christianity and Islam are not merely identities that designate particular communities, but reference points that all can comprehend and discuss knowledgeably. This analysis of how Islam and Christianity understand theology, ethics, and politics--specifically democracy and human rights--offers a way for that discussion to move forward.
A History of Christian-Muslim Relations by
Publication Date: 2000-09-05
This much-needed succinct overview of the Christian-Muslim encounter places the emphasis on the context within which perceptions and attitudes were worked out and provides a depth of historical insight to the complexities of current Christian Muslim interactions on different continents.
Publication Date: 2011-01-11
Humanity: Texts and Contexts is a record of the 2007 Singapore "Building Bridges" seminar, an annual dialogue between Muslim and Christian scholars cosponsored by Georgetown University and the Archbishop of Canterbury. This volume explores three central questions: What does it mean to be human? What is the significance of the diversity that is evident among human beings? And what are the challenges that humans face living within the natural world? A distinguished group of scholars focuses on the theological responses to each of these questions, drawing on the wealth of material found in both Christian and Islamic scriptures. Part one lays out the three issues of human identity, difference, and guardianship. Part two explores scriptural texts side by side, pairing Christian and Islamic scholars who examine such themes as human dignity, human alienation, human destiny, humanity and gender, humanity and diversity, and humanity and the environment. In addition to contributions from an international cast of outstanding scholars, the book includes an afterword by Archbishop Rowan Williams.
Islam and Global Dialogue by
Publication Date: 2005-10-28
At a time when the world is becoming increasingly interdependent, multi-cultural and multi-religious, the concept of religious pluralism is under assault as a result of hatred, prejudice and misunderstanding from both religious exclusivists and dogmatic secularists. In this important and timely book, twenty internationally acclaimed scholars and leading religious thinkers respond to contemporary challenges in different ways. Some discuss the idea of a dialogue of civilisations; others explore the interfaith principles and ethical resources of their own spiritual traditions. All of them reject the notion that any single religion can claim a monopoly of wisdom; all are committed to the ideal of a just and peaceful society in which people of different religions and cultures can happily coexist. More space is here given to Islam than to Judaism and Christianity because, as a result of negative stereotypes, it is the most misunderstood of the major world religions. HRH Prince Hassan bin Talal of Jordan contributes the Foreword.
Journeys of the Muslim Nation and the Christian Church by
Publication Date: 2003-10-12
Islam and Christianity seem to be at opposite and unbridgeable poles, both committed to world mission. Given the political tension and violent acts that sometimes surround these two major world religions, it is essential for both sides to understand the other--its history, beliefs, traditions, and vision for the future.This invaluable resource from David W. Shenk, an expert in comparative religious studies, examines Islam and Christianity at their deepest spiritual, cultural, and communal levels. It explores the similarities, and yet unavoidable differences found in Isaac and Ishmael, Jesus and Muhammad, the Bible and the Qur'an, Jerusalem and Medina, the Eucharist and the Hajj, the Church and the Ummah. Reflecting years of conversations and dialogue with Muslim friends, this is narrative theology, full of anecdote and personal experience that bridges the poles and builds understanding.
The Legend of Sergius Bahira by
Publication Date: 2009-01-01
This book offers editions and translations of the Syriac and Christian Arabic versions of the originally ninth-century Legend of Sergius Baḥīrā, which portrays Islam's political might as predestined but finite and its scripture and religion as derivative of Christianity
Martin Luther and Islam by
Publication Date: 2007-01-01
Drawing upon a vast array of Martin Luther's writings while also focusing upon a few key texts, this book illuminates the Reformer's thought on Islam, and thereby provides fresh insight into his place in the history of Christian-Muslim relations
Muslim-Christian Encounters in Africa by
Publication Date: 2006-08-29
This engaging collection of essays offers new insights into the multi-faceted and changing encounters of Muslims and Christians in Africa in the past and closer to the present.
Routledge Handbook on Christian-Muslim Relations by
Publication Date: 2017-08-16
The matter of Christian¿Muslim relations cannot be ignored these days. While the term itself may not appear all that often, relations between the two faiths and their reciprocal perceptions are undeniable influences behind many current conflicts, declarations of mutual recognition and peace negotiations, not to mention the brooding hatred of religious extremists. Since 9/11, relations between the two faiths have, in one form or another, hardly been away from the news. This Handbook contains fundamental information about the major aspects of relations between Christians and Muslims. Its various sections follow the history from the early seventh century to the present, the major religious issues that have led to disputes between the two faiths, and the political implications of religious differences at various stages through history, as well as in the present. It includes analysis of scriptural and theological themes and explores the characteristics of relations at important points in history and also in various parts of the world today. Chapters are devoted to the most significant intellectual interpretations and encounters, the main armed clashes, including the Crusades, and the important documents issued by each faith that in recent years have led the way towards new developments in recognition and acceptance. With chapters written by some of the foremost experts in the field, the book traces the largely dark history of relations and explains the underlying reasons why Muslims and Christians have found tolerance and respect for the other difficult. It is an excellent resource for understanding the past and for highlighting lessons for future relations between the world¿s two largest religions.
Tradition and Modernity by
Publication Date: 2013-05-20
Tradition and Modernity focuses on how Christians and Muslims connect their traditions to modernity, looking especially at understandings of history, changing patterns of authority, and approaches to freedom. The volume includes a selection of relevant texts from 19th- and 20th-century thinkers, from John Henry Newman to Tariq Ramadan, accompanied by illuminating commentaries.
Understanding Christian-Muslim Relations by
Publication Date: 2008-06-10
For centuries Christians and Muslims have engaged with each other in manifold ways, peaceful and otherwise, be it in scholarly study, or in war and colonization. Today, Christians represent an influential body of opinion that largely perceives Islam, post 9/11, as a threat. Yet Muslims represent approximately one third of the world's population. Improved understanding between Christians and Muslims is therefore crucial and a prerequisite for universal peace and justice. This book aims to investigate Islam's place in the world, Muslim aspirations vis-a-vis non-Muslims and the realities of how Muslims are perceived and how they perceive others. Each chapter analyses accessible texts from central thinkers and commentators, broadly split into two camps: confrontational or conciliatory. Christian-Muslim relations are set in the wider context of civilizational, geo-political and economic interaction between the Muslim world and the historically Christian West.