Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Dictionary of Biblical Criticism and Interpretation by
Publication Date: 2007-02-23
Compiling the results from contemporary and exciting areas of research into one single important volume, this book stands ahead of its field in providing a comprehensive one-stop Handbook reference of biblical interpretation. Examining a wide range of articles on many of the recognized interpreters including Augustine, Luther and Calvin, up to the modern figures of Martin Hengel and T.W. Manson, Porter expertly combines the study of biblical interpretation with the examination of the theological and philosophical preconceptions that have influenced it, and surveys the history of interpretation from different perspectives. Key perspectives studied include: the historical dimension; addressing how interpretation has developed at various periods of time; from early Jewish exegesis to the historical-critical method the conceptual approach; looks at the various schools of thought that have generated biblical interpretation, and compares and contrasts competing conceptual models of interpretation the personal perspective; addresses the reality of biblical interpretation by individuals who have helped plot the course of theological development With relevant bibliographies and a guide to further reading, this Dictionary will be an extremely important reference held for many years, not only by libraries, but also by students, scholars, clergy and teachers of this fascinating and high-profile subject.
Dictionary of Biblical Interpretation by
Publication Date: 1999-04-01
The Dictionary of Biblical Interpretation is a comprehensive reference work that explores the history of human reflection and research on the meaning of the Old and New Testaments. This major new reference work on the theory and practice of biblical interpretation explores the history of reflection, research, and commentary on Scripture by: * reviewing the lives and ideas of men and women who have made significant contributions to biblical interpretation * exploring the history of interpretation of the various biblical writings, including apocryphal and deuterocanonical works * examining numerous methods and movements that have informed the reading of Scripture, from the first century to the present day. * Nearly 400 scholars from around the world have contributed over 1,000 signed articles, making this the most comprehensive resource of its kind* Ecumenical (Jewish, Protestant, Orthodox, Roman Catholic), international (African, Australian, European, Middle Eastern, and North American), and eclectic, examining a broad array of perspectives on and procedures for biblical interpretation.
To Each Its Own Meaning by
Publication Date: 1999-07-01
This volume introduces the reader to the most important methods of biblical criticism. It serves as an indispensable handbook for the work of students approaching biblical studies for the first time and for the professional interpreter of scripture who wants to understand the latest currents in biblical scholarship.
What Is Narrative Criticism? by
Publication Date: 1991-01-01
The first nontechnical description of the principles and procedures of narrative criticism. Written for students' and pastors' use in their own exegesis. With great clarity Powell outlines the principles and procedures that narrative critics follow in exegesis of gospel texts and explains concepts such as "point of view," "narration," "irony," and "symbolism." Chapters are devoted to each of the three principal elements of narrative: events, characters, and settings; and case studies are provided to illustrate how the method is applied in each instance. The book concludes with an honest appraisal of the contribution that narrative criticism makes, a consideration of objections that have been raised against the use of this method, and a discussion of the hermeneutical implications this method raises for the church.
What Is Postmodern Biblical Criticism? by
Publication Date: 1995-05-15
Postmodernism is not simply one perspective but a basketful of related critical assumptions. A.K. M Adam prepares readers for wrestling with deconstruction, ideological criticism, postmodern feminism, "transgressive" postmodernism, and other postmodern approaches to biblical interpretation. He offers plain-language explanations and illustrative examples and shows how students might undertake their own postmodern biblical interpretation.
What Is Social-Scientific Criticism? by
Publication Date: 1993-11-01
This book gives a clearly written, authoritative introduction to social-scientific criticism of the New Testament, including:the rise of this methodits practitioners and the focal points of their workhow the method is applied to the interpretation of the biblical textthe presuppositions and procedures of the method.Also included are four appendices, a glossary of terms, and full bibliographies. Intended as a basic introduction for students and general readers, the book will be of interest also to exegetical veterans.