Skip to Main Content

Theology: New Testament and Related Literature: Encyclopedias

This subject guide offers resources and library services on the New Testament and Related Literature. Please evaluate material on web sites critical and use peer reviewed, scholarly information.

Encyclopedias

Bible encyclopedias contain articles and definitions to thousands of words and terms used in Scripture. Entries include full historical references such as date, religious environment, family life, customs, language, and literature. All encyclopedia terms are cross-referenced and linked to the verses where they are found to help understand the full meaning of the word in context to its use in specific verses of the Bible. These online articles, provided by well-known and respected Christian leaders, have been written to help those seeking a greater knowledge of Biblical characters, events and places.

Encyclopedia of the Bible and its reception by Hans-Josef. Klauck, Dale C. Allison (Editor.) Jr.,, Volker Leppin (Editor.), C. L. Seow (Editor.), Hermann Spieckermann (Editor.), Barry Walfish (Editor.), Eric Jozef Ziolkowski (Editor.), Christine Helmer (Editor.), Steven L. McKenzie (Editor.), Thomas Römer (Editor.), Jens Schröter (Editor.)

Call Number: N 220.3 ENCYCLOPEDIA

Publication Date: 2009 - 2017

The Interpreter's Dictionary of the Bible by Keith Crim; Victor P. Furnish (Editor); Lloyd R. Bailey (Editor)

ISBN: 9780687192694

Publication Date: 1976-10-01

Supplement to the 4-volume set of The Interpreter's Dictionary of the Bible. The 4-volume set is generously illustrated with over 7,500 entries which define every person, animal, vegetable, and mineral in the Bible. Details major theological concepts and biblical doctrines. More than 1,000 black-and-white illustrations, 8 pages of color illustrations, 8 pages of maps.

Odyssey A free online Bible encyclopedia created by the Society of Biblical Literature. Offers art, photographs, video, essays, maps, and scriptural text.