Early Church - Web Resources - Theology: Historical Theology - Subject Guides at University of Pretoria

Early Christian Writings

Early Christian Writings Early Christian Writings provides access to online editions of Christian texts from the 1st to the early 3rd centuries. The web site is divided into five areas: New Testament, Apocrypha, Gnostics, Church Fathers, and Other.

Early Church Texts

Early Church Texts This web site provides access to primary texts from the 1st to the 5th century of the church. Texts have online dictionary links, English translations, and notes. The site also has a number of subscription options to allow for printing out the texts and associated background information and notes.

BIBLindex

BIBIndex BIBLindex is searchable index of biblical quotations and allusions in early Christian literature. Need to register for a password

Loeb Classical Library (Print Books in Reference Section)

Loeb Classical Library:

LOEB works contain both the original text as well as a convenient parallel English translation.
Many TLG sources can be found in the Loeb Classical Library- With locations provided by TLG (e.g., book and line), one can easily locate many passages in the LOEB collection.
The Loeb collection can be found in the reference section

THESAURUS LINGUAE GRAECAE - A Digital Library of Greek Literature

The Thesaurus Linguae Graecae® (TLG®) is a research program at the University of California, Irvine. Founded in 1972 the TLG has collected and digitized most literary texts written in Greek from Homer to the fall of Byzantium in AD 1453. Its goal is to create a comprehensive digital library of Greek literature from antiquity to the present era.

Christian Classics Ethereal Library

Christian Classics Ethereal
The Christian Classics Ethereal Library is an online source for classic Christian writings. The Early Church Fathers section of the CCEL site provides English translations of the Church Fathers from the Ante-Nicene and Nicene and Post-Nicene Fathers series, a set of late nineteenth century translations now available in the public domain. The Ante-Nicene Fathers covers writers from the Apostolic Fathers to 325. The Nicene and Post-Nicene Fathers consists of Series I (Augustine and John Chrysostom) and Series II (other Greek and Latin Fathers from Eusebius to Gregory the Great). Each volume contains a table of contents (which unfortunately is not collapsible and can be difficult to navigate) and indexes of scripture references, phrases in the relevant ancient and modern languages, and pages in the print edition. The library is searchable from the main CCEL page. While more modern translations of the Fathers are usually available in print form, those at the CCEL are free and easily accessible. The user should be aware of the devotional nature of the site. The same material is available in a somewhat different format at Early Church Fathers v2.0, which also contains additional material linked from CCEL, and New Advent, a Catholic devotional site. The latter has the advantage of listing authors alphabetically by name rather than by NPNF volume, in which it can be difficult to find authors if the volume in which they appear is unknown.

Annotation provided by Juliet Crawford Schwab.