Skip to Main Content
What's it in the Open Books, Journals & Databases tab?
Open Books
University of Toronto Books Online This link opens in a new window
Books Online are books that have been digitized, from the University of Toronto Libraries. They are freely available online and out-of-copyright. The collection currently contains 858 titles.
Directory of Open Access Books This link opens in a new window
The Directory of Open Access Books is a service of OAPEN Foundation. The OAPEN Foundation is an international initiative dedicated to Open Access monograph publishing, based at the National Library in The Hague.
Open Textbook Library
Open textbooks are licensed by authors and publishers to be freely used and adapted. Download, edit and distribute them at no cost.
Open Textbooks
Free, adaptable, openly licensed textbooks and supplemental resources
OpenStax Resources
The demand for OpenStax resources has doubled during COVID-19. Students and instructors need us more than ever. Help us respond with your support and join the movement that has saved students over $1.2 Billion since 2012!
LibreTexts
Welcome to the Mathematics Library. This Living Library is a principal hub of the LibreTexts project, which is a multi-institutional collaborative venture to develop the next generation of open-access texts to improve postsecondary education at all levels of higher learning. The LibreTexts approach is highly collaborative where an Open Access textbook environment is under constant revision by students, faculty, and outside experts to supplant conventional paper-based books.
Bookboon.com
Find free statistics and mathematics books in this category. Are you looking for a specific subject? Try one of the mathematics or statistics books which will help you at your next exam
Open Intro - Statistics
Our mission is to make educational products that are free, transparent, and lower barriers to education. We also feature supporting resources, such as slides, videos, and more
IntechOpen
IntechOpen - where academia and industry create content with global impact, our books are submitted to relevant abstracting and indexing services including Web of Science - Book Citation Index, Crossref, Google Scholar, WorldCat, BASE, EBSCO A-to-Z, Open AIRE, CNKI Scholar, RePEc, ExLibris SFX
Open Journals
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) This link opens in a new window
DOAJ is an online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
This link opens in a new window
LinkOut (NCBI) This link opens in a new window
LinkOut Journals with full text links, sorted by title, in HTML.
SA Journal of Animal Science
The South African Society for Animal Science (SASAS) has changed the way the journal submission process is handled. An Online Journal Management System had been developed in collaboration with the Agricultural Research Council (ARC) to facilitate the Journal Submission & Review Process.
Journal of Animal Science and Biotechnology
Journal of Animal Science and Biotechnology is an open access, peer-reviewed journal that encompasses a wide range of research areas including animal genetics, reproduction, nutrition, physiology, biochemistry, biotechnology, feedstuffs and animal products. The journal publishes original and novel research articles and reviews mainly involved in pigs, poultry, beef cattle, cows, goats and sheep, but the studies involving aquatic and laboratory animal species that address fundamental questions related to livestock are also welcome
Animal Frontiers
Animal Frontiers is the official journal of the following globally active professional animal science societies:
ASAS, the American Society of Animal Science
CSAS, the Canadian Society of Animal Science
EAAP, the European Federation of Animal Science
AMSA, the American Meat Science Association
These organizations are dedicated to the advancement and dissemination of science-based knowledge concerning animal agriculture. Animal Frontiers provides a novel forum for innovative and timely perspectives that have relevance to understanding the complex dynamics at work through animal agriculture. Animal Frontiers publishes discussion and position papers that present several international perspectives on the status of high-impact, global issues in animal agriculture. Every issue will explore a theme of broad and current interest within animal science and animal agriculture.
American Journal of Animal and Veterinary Sciences
American Journal of Animal and Veterinary Sciences, a quarterly, peer reviewed publication and is dedicated for publication of research articles in the field of biology of animals and with the scientific understanding of how animals work: from the physiology and biochemistry of tissues and major organ systems down to the structure and function of bio molecules and cells; particular emphasis would given to the studies of growth, reproduction, nutrition and lactation of farm and companion animals and how these processes may be optimized to improve animal re- productivity, health and welfare. Articles in support areas, such as genetics, soils, agricultural economics and marketing, legal aspects and the environment also are encouraged. AJAVS is an important source of researcher to study articles on protection of animal production practices, herd health and monitoring the spread of disease and prevention in both domestic and wild animals.
Iranian Journal of Applied Animal Science
The Iranian Journal of Applied Animal Science (IJAS), a new broad-based journal, is an open access journal founded on two key tenets: To publish the most exciting research in all areas of animal sciences and to provide the most rapid system for reviewing and publishing, and to disseminate the articles freely for teaching and reference purposes. All articles published in IJAS are peer-reviewed.
Livestock Science
Livestock Science promotes the sound development of the livestock sector by publishing original, peer-reviewed research and review articles covering all aspects of this broad field. The journal welcomes submissions on the avant-garde areas of animal genetics, breeding, growth, reproduction, nutrition
BMC Veterinary Research
BMC Veterinary Research is an open access, peer-reviewed journal that considers articles on all aspects of veterinary science and medicine, including the epidemiology, diagnosis, prevention and treatment of medical conditions of domestic, companion, farm and wild animals, as well as the biomedical processes that underlie their health
Czech Journal of Animal Science
The Czech Academy of Agricultural Sciences is a specialized and professional scientific agricultural institution operating in the Czech Republic
Journal of Animal Science and Technolog
Journal of Animal Science and Technology is no longer published by BMC as of 31/12/2018. The journal is continuing to operate under the ownership of The Korean Society of Animal Science and Technology.
Open Access Animal Science at Taylor & Francis
Open access publication can enable increased visibility and discoverability as your research can be read by anyone around the world. This greater visibility can result in increased readership and citations, and a chance to make an impact beyond your field. Explore our open access animal science journals
Nature Protocols
Nature Protocols is an online journal publishing high-quality, citable, peer-reviewed protocols from the leading laboratories in all fields of biological
BMC Zoology
BMC Zoology is an open access, peer-reviewed journal that considers articles on all aspects of zoology, including comparative physiology, mechanistic and functional studies, morphology, life history, animal behavior, signaling and communication, cognition, parasitism, systematics, biogeography and conservation
Frontiers in Zoology
Frontiers in Zoology is an open access, peer-reviewed online journal publishing high quality research articles and reviews on all aspects of animal life.
As a biological discipline, zoology has one of the longest histories. Today it occasionally appears as though, due to the rapid expansion of life sciences, zoology has been replaced by more or less independent sub-disciplines amongst which exchange is often sparse. However, the recent advance of molecular methodology into "classical" fields of biology, and the development of theories that can explain phenomena on different levels of organisation, has led to a re-integration of zoological disciplines promoting a broader than usual approach to zoological questions. Zoology has re-emerged as an integrative discipline encompassing the most diverse aspects of animal life, from the level of the gene to the level of the ecosystem.
Current Zoology
Current Zoology (formerly Acta Zoologica Sinica, founded in 1935) is an open access, bimonthly, peer-reviewed international journal of zoology. It publishes review articles and research papers in the fields of ecology, evolution and behaviour.
Current Zoology is sponsored by Institute of Zoology, Chinese Academy of Sciences, along with the China Zoological Society.
Journal of Vertebrate Biology
The Journal of Vertebrate Biology (formerly Folia Zoologica, founded in 1938) publishes high-quality original research papers of broad interest. The Journal welcomes papers on the behaviour, ecology, physiology, anatomy, developmental biology, taxonomy, and evolution of vertebrates, including research at the interface of these disciplines.
Open Databases
Open Educational Resources Commons
OER Commons is a public digital library of open educational resources. Explore, create, and collaborate with educators around the world to improve curriculum.
Internet Archive
The Internet Archive, a 501(c)(3) non-profit, is building a digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form. Like a paper library, we provide free access to researchers, historians, scholars, the print disabled, and the general public. Our mission is to provide Universal Access to All Knowledge.
BioOne Complete
BioOne Complete is a database of more than 200 subscribed and open-access titles in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences. The flagship product of the nonprofit publisher BioOne, BioOne Complete provides libraries with cost-effective access to high-quality, curated research and independent society publishers with a dynamic, community-based platform and global distribution. BioOne Complete's unique business model reinvests precious library funds in scientific communication, with over $45M returned to participating publishers to date.
J-STAGE This link opens in a new window
J-STAGE is an electronic journal site operated by Japan Science and Technology Agency (JST) and it makes electronic journals issued by Japanese academic institutions available to the public via the Internet.
BASE
What is BASE? BASE is one of the world's most voluminous search engines especially for academic web resources. You can access the full texts of about 60% of the indexed documents for free (Open Access). BASE is operated by Bielefeld University Library.
BioMed Central This link opens in a new window
An STM (Science, Technology and Medicine) publisher with a large portfolio of peer-reviewed open access journals. Their journals span all areas of biology, medicine and health, including broad interest titles such as BMC Biology and BMC Medicine alongside specialist journals, such as Malaria Journal and BMC Infectious Diseases.
- This link opens in a new window
PubMed Central® This link opens in a new window
PubMed Central® (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).
This link opens in a new window