Subject Guides: Archaeology: Articles

DATABASES

Search the DATABASES for scholarly / peer-reviewed articles. Filter your results by choosing PEER-REVIEWED.

EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window EBSCOhost databases and discovery technologies are the most-used, premium online information resources for tens of thousands of institutions worldwide, representing millions of end-users.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database and should always be included in your database selection.
Africa-Wide Information is a multi-disciplinary database supplying information on South Africa, Southern Africa and Africa. It is not a full text database but leads you to valuable information.
Art source indexes Archaeology journals.
Masterfile Premier is a multi-disciplinary database providing full text articles.
On the EBSCOhost Choose screen, read the descriptions of the databases to familiarize yourself with the relevant databases for your subjects.

Sabinet African Journals This link opens in a new window Sabinet African Journals have been available online to clients with great success since 2001. The collection is proud to be the biggest of its kind, with an exclusive assortment of African and southern African journal titles, which includes more than 430 titles as well as more than 350 000 full text articles and the list keeps on growing.
- This link opens in a new window
JStor This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ProQuest This link opens in a new window ProQuest’s collections span six centuries, all disciplines and the diverse content types needed by researchers, providing the world’s largest collection of dissertations and theses; three centuries of newspapers; more than 450,000 academic ebooks; collections of important scholarly journals and other content researchers need such as data; and unique digital vaults of primary source materials . ProQuest’s renowned abstracting and indexing enables researchers to find sources in their area of study.
- This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window ScienceDirect is a leading full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from nearly 2,500 journals and more than 30,000 books.
Scopus This link opens in a new window Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Taylor & Francis (Journals) This link opens in a new window Taylor & Francis Group publishes quality peer-reviewed journals under the Routledge and Taylor & Francis imprints.
- This link opens in a new window
Web of Science (All Databases) This link opens in a new window Access the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities and examine proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window

Aluka Jstor World Heritage Sites
The collection includes photographs, 3D models, GIS data, site plans, aerial and satellite photography, images of rock art, excavation reports, manuscripts, traveler's accounts, historical and antiquarian maps, books, articles, and other scholarly research. The collection is comprised of two interlinked and unique types of data: spatial and contextual data.

LOCATE A SPECIFIC ARTICLE

You found the citation of an article you need, but need the full text article. Four ways to locate the article:

1. On the library homepage, in the Everything search box, type ti: (for title) and enter the title of the article. One of the first results should be the article. Click on the title to access the record. You should find options for online viewing.

2. On the library homepage, in the Google Scholar search box, type allintitle: (for title) and enter the title of the article. (Google Scholar Settings should be University of Pretoria.)

3. On the library webpage, in the Journal search box, type ti: (for title) and enter the journal title. The first results should be the journal title. Click on the title to access the record. Follow the links for online viewing.

4. Request the article from another library via Interlibrary Loans.

Or contact alett.nell@up.ac.za

GOOGLE SCHOLAR

Adjust your Google Scholar settings to access UP electronic articles: Settings > Library Links > Type Pretoria in search box and choose all the options > Save.

Archaeology: Articles

DATABASES

LOCATE A SPECIFIC ARTICLE

GOOGLE SCHOLAR

WHAT IS A SCHOLARLY ARTICLE?