Procedure for requesting software to install on personal computer:
UP registered students can request software (including To have IBM SPSS, Atlas.ti, Qualtrics and Stata) on the Service Management Automation portlet on the UP portal by typing the software name on the search tab, then Request Service then follow the prompts.
Download Free software on personal computer.
Software on Research Commons computers
R , IBM SPSS and Atlas.ti are installed on all Hatfield and Groenkloof Research Commons computers. The Veterinary Research Commons has SPSS & ArcGIS installed.
Need assistance with Statistical Analysis using SPSS, R, PYTHON, STATA or SAS?
There is a pool of academics and researchers ready to assist with your data analysis needs, whether it be for your thesis, dissertation, journal article or book manuscript.
Contact Mikateko Ngobeni
at Mikateko.Ngobeni@up.ac.za with the details and your request will be allocated to a facilitator in your field of study.
Data analysis and R programming: This online introduction to data R programming .
Quick list of useful R packages: this is RStudio Support’s list of useful packages with installation instructions and functionality descriptions.
RStudio Blog: RStudio’s blog is great to find information about RStudio.
R-Bloggers: The R-Bloggers blog has useful tutorials and news articles posted by other R users.
R-Bloggers' tutorials for learning R: This blog post from R-Bloggers compiles some basic R tutorials and also links to more advanced guides.
Atlas.ti:
IMB SPSS:
Introduction to Structural Equation Modeling Using IBM SPSS Statistics and Amos by Excel:
Mplus:
A Course in Statistics with R by
Integrates the theory and applications of statistics using R A Course in Statistics with R has been written to bridge the gap between theory and applications and explain how mathematical expressions are converted into R programs. The book has been primarily designed as a useful companion for a Masters student during each semester of the course, but will also help applied statisticians in revisiting the underpinnings of the subject. With this dual goal in mind, the book begins with R basics and quickly covers visualization and exploratory analysis. Probability and statistical inference, inclusive of classical, nonparametric, and Bayesian schools, is developed with definitions, motivations, mathematical expression and R programs in a way which will help the reader to understand the mathematical development as well as R implementation. Linear regression models, experimental designs, multivariate analysis, and categorical data analysis are treated in a way which makes effective use of visualization techniques and the related statistical techniques underlying them through practical applications, and hence helps the reader to achieve a clear understanding of the associated statistical models. Key features: Integrates R basics with statistical concepts Provides graphical presentations inclusive of mathematical expressions Aids understanding of limit theorems of probability with and without the simulation approach Presents detailed algorithmic development of statistical models from scratch Includes practical applications with over 50 data sets
Ensemble Classification Methods with Applications in R by
An essential guide to two burgeoning topics in machine learning - classification trees and ensemble learning Ensemble Classification Methods with Applications in R introduces the concepts and principles of ensemble classifiers methods and includes a review of the most commonly used techniques. This important resource shows how ensemble classification has become an extension of the individual classifiers. The text puts the emphasis on two areas of machine learning: classification trees and ensemble learning. The authors explore ensemble classification methods' basic characteristics and explain the types of problems that can emerge in its application. Written by a team of noted experts in the field, the text is divided into two main sections. The first section outlines the theoretical underpinnings of the topic and the second section is designed to include examples of practical applications. The book contains a wealth of illustrative cases of business failure prediction, zoology, ecology and others. This vital guide: Offers an important text that has been tested both in the classroom and at tutorials at conferences Contains authoritative information written by leading experts in the field Presents a comprehensive text that can be applied to courses in machine learning, data mining and artificial intelligence Combines in one volume two of the most intriguing topics in machine learning: ensemble learning and classification trees Written for researchers from many fields such as biostatistics, economics, environment, zoology, as well as students of data mining and machine learning, Ensemble Classification Methods with Applications in R puts the focus on two topics in machine learning: classification trees and ensemble learning.
Maximum Likelihood Estimation and Inference by
This book takes a fresh look at the popular and well-established method of maximum likelihood for statistical estimation and inference. It begins with an intuitive introduction to the concepts and background of likelihood, and moves through to the latest developments in maximum likelihood methodology, including general latent variable models and new material for the practical implementation of integrated likelihood using the free ADMB software. Fundamental issues of statistical inference are also examined, with a presentation of some of the philosophical debates underlying the choice of statistical paradigm. Key features: Provides an accessible introduction to pragmatic maximum likelihood modelling. Covers more advanced topics, including general forms of latent variable models (including non-linear and non-normal mixed-effects and state-space models) and the use of maximum likelihood variants, such as estimating equations, conditional likelihood, restricted likelihood and integrated likelihood. Adopts a practical approach, with a focus on providing the relevant tools required by researchers and practitioners who collect and analyze real data. Presents numerous examples and case studies across a wide range of applications including medicine, biology and ecology. Features applications from a range of disciplines, with implementation in R, SAS and/or ADMB. Provides all program code and software extensions on a supporting website. Confines supporting theory to the final chapters to maintain a readable and pragmatic focus of the preceding chapters. This book is not just an accessible and practical text about maximum likelihood, it is a comprehensive guide to modern maximum likelihood estimation and inference. It will be of interest to readers of all levels, from novice to expert. It will be of great benefit to researchers, and to students of statistics from senior undergraduate to graduate level. For use as a course text, exercises are provided at the end of each chapter.
