Theology: Christian / Theological Ethics: Introductory Texts

This is a single volume that effectively introduces students to the full breadth of the discipline of Christian ethics. This reader captures the range of timely issues related to ethics but not at the expense of essays that show the theoretical foundations of the field. Part One examines the sources of Christian Ethics--Scripture, tradition, philosophy, and science. The norms, forms, and contexts of Christian moral theories are reviewed in Part Two. The final section discusses contemporary questions about human sexuality, medical practice, the use of force, economic justice, ecological responsibility, and more. Relevant biblical readings and a series of case studies accentuate the text.

This comprehensive textbook offers an unparalleled introduction to the study of Christian Ethics, mapping and exploring all the major ethical approaches, and offering thoughtful insights into the complex moral challenges facing people today.  Redefines the field of Christian ethics along three strands: universal (ethics for anyone), subversive (ethics for the excluded), and ecclesial (ethics for the church) Encompasses Christian ethics in its entirety, offering students a substantial overview by re-mapping the field and exploring the differences in various ethical approaches Provides a successful balance between description, analysis, and critique  Reveals how ecclesial ethics is respectful of, and indeed, often profoundly indebted to, other approaches to ethics Structured so that it can be used alongside a companion volume, Christian Ethics: An Introductory Reader, which further illustrates and amplifies the diversity of material and arguments explored here

Richard Hays explores the ethical values and dynamics with which Jesus himself lived to show how the New Testament provides challenging moral guidance on some of the most important contemporary ethical issues.

Voted one of Christianity Today's 1996 Books of the Year!Especially in today's complicated world, moral practice and decision-making raise many hard questions. Dealing with those questions often requires wide-ranging understanding--in areas such as systematic and practical theology, psychology, economics, sociology and philosophy. For the first time, the New Dictionary of Christian Ethics and Pastoral Theology offers expert information and guidance across this range of disciplines--in a single volume.Besides hundreds of articles on specific issues, the Dictionary includes eighteen major keynote articles which provide a basic introduction to the main themes of Christian ethics and pastoral theology. These articles alone constitute a textbook of Christian ethics, excellently surveying that broad field.Written at a nontechnical and accessible level, this Dictionary will be consulted again and again by Christians from all walks of life.

Philosophical ethics consists in the human endeavour to answer rationally the fundamental question of how we should live. The Oxford Handbook of the History of Ethics explores the history of philosophical ethics in the western tradition from Homer until the present day. It provides a broadoverview of the views of many of the main thinkers, schools, and periods, and includes in addition essays on topics such as autonomy and impartiality.The authors are international leaders in their field, and use their expertise and specialist knowledge to illuminate the relevance of their work to discussions in contemporary ethics. The essays are specially written for this volume, and in each case introduce the reader to the main lines ofinterpretation and criticism that have arisen in the professional history of philosophy over the past two or three decades.

The Westminster Dictionary of Christian Ethicsis an invaluable reference work. Included are articles on basic ethical concepts; biblical and theological ethics; philosophical traditions; major non-Christian religious traditions; psychological, sociological, political, and other concepts important to Christian ethics; and, finally, substantial problems, such as war, usually including both information and options. With 620 entries cover a spectrum of topics that concern thinking people everywhere, providing clear, concise and accurate information about ethical concerns.