Theology: Spirituality: A.D. 325 - Council of Nicaea

Basil of Caesarea is thought of most often as an opponent of heresy and a pioneer of monastic life in the eastern church. In this new biographical study, however, controversy is no longer seen as the central preoccupation of his life nor are his ascetic initiatives viewed as separable from his pastoral concern for all Christians. Basil's letters, sermons, and theological treatises, together with the testimonies of his relatives and friends, reveal a man beset by doubt. He demanded loyalty, but gave it also, and made it a central feature of his church. In Rousseau's portrait, Basil's understanding of human nature emerges as his major legacy.

Basil of Caesarea's debate with Eunomius of Cyzicus in the early 360s marks a turning point in the fourth-century Trinitarian controversies. It shifted focus to methodological and epistemological disputes underlying theological differences. This monograph explores one of these fundamental points of contention: the proper theory of names. It offers a revisionist interpretation of Eunomius's theory as a corrective to previous approaches, contesting the widespread assumption that it is indebted to Platonist sources and showing that it was developed by drawing upon proximate Christian sources. While Eunomius held that names uniquely predicated of God communicated the divine essence, in response Basil developed a "notionalist" theory wherein all names signify primarily notions and secondarily properties, not essence.

Texts from the personal correspondence between St Basil the Great, his friend Gregory "the Theologian, " and Gregory of Nyssa.

Basil of Caesarea, the Great, has drawn the admiration of many for centuries. He was a father of eastern coenobitic monasticism; an author of orthodox Trinitarian theology and eloquent defender of the Spirit; a model of social virtue and concern for the poor; and an erudite preacher and able bishop. This book explores Basil's Trinitarian thought as the meeting place of the worlds within which he lived, that of ancient Greek culture and learning, and that of Christian faith lived in the liturgy and expressed in the Scripture. His work as a bishop, theologian, and preacher was in large part an effort to make these two worlds one. Basil showed that Christianity had the strength and power to take to itself whatever was good among the Greeks, ennobling their culture with the name of Christ and yet remaining true to itself. He did this not standing outside of Greek culture, but within it. In spite of his enduring insistence upon the transcendence and simplicity of God, Basil developed a precise Trinitarian vocabulary, which he thought effectively refuted two basic errors in thinking about God: the denial of the divinity of the Son and the Spirit; and the denial of their true and real distinction from the Father. He maintained that the right thinking about God is more than just the right use of words; it is also the right interpretation of the Word, the Scriptures. This book also, then, seeks to explain the scriptural foundations of Basil's Trinitarian theology, which themselves testify to his artful synthesis of Greek culture and Christian truth.

Texts from the personal correspondence between St Basil the Great, his friend Gregory "the Theologian, " and Gregory of Nyssa.

Long recognized as an authoritative introduction to the "father of mysticism, " Gregory of Nyssa exploded classical antiquity's static understanding of perfection by showing the Christian life as one of never-ending growth.

This book gathers 37 letters of St Gregory of Nyssa (c. 335-394), translated into English, some for the first time, and equipped with up-to-date scholarly notes. It begins with a biography focusing on Gregory's family background and young adulthood. A study of Gregory the letter writer follows, with a dateline of the letters. Three sub-collections of letters follow: 1. 'Prelude' comprising testimonia from Basil and Gregory Nazianzen, 2. 'The Pasquali Collection', the 30 letters established by G. Pasquali, 3. 'Supplementary', one letter always known as Gregory's, five letters reassigned to Gregory by scholars, and a new one proposed by the author for reassignment. A specially commissioned icon, an original map, and two architectural sketches are included. This book will both stimulate veteran scholars in the Cappadocian Fathers and early Christianity, and serve English speaking lovers of the Fathers who do not have ready access to the sources in other languages.

The first in-depth study of Gregory of Nyssa, this book shows how for Gregory the darkness of faith is what unites the believer with God. Through this union by faith alone, God yet speaks through the deeds and discourse of the believer. While the believer is immersed in the darkness ofunknowing, they are also transformed in light. Laird alters the way in which we understand Gregory's mystical theology.

The thought of Gregory of Nyssa, the youngest of the fourth-cenrtury 'Cappadocian' Fathers, is currently at the centre of a number of important theological debates. This collection of specially commissioned essays calls the long-accepted interpretation of Gregory's trinitarianism into radical question. Gregory of Nyssa, the youngest of the fourth-century 'Cappadocian' Fathers, is currently at the centre of a number of important theological debates. Calls the long-accepted interpretation of Gregory's trinitarianism into radical question. Urges a reading of his 'pedagogy of desire' that will cause a major reconsideration of his methods of trinitarian exposition.

Gregory Nazianzen's Theological Orations, genuine classics, reveal not only the learning and faith of their author, but also his quarrels with Neo-Arians, Pneumatomachians, pagans, and other opponents at Constantinople in the late fourth century C.E. This volume is divided into three parts. The first offers a survey of Gregory's life and works, his orientation as a philosophical rhetorician, an overview of his theology, the relevant views of his major opponents, and the manuscript tradition of these orations. The second is a commentary that concentrates on the context and flow of his arguments about paideia and theology. The third is a new English translation, the first complete one, that evokes the logical and rhetorical power of Nazianzen and through its Biblical citations shows the importance of scripture in the debates.

Texts from the personal correspondence between St Basil the Great, his friend Gregory "the Theologian, " and Gregory of Nyssa.

This book brings together a new, original survey of the significance of Gregory's life and work with translations of eight beautiful and profound orations. Gregory of Nazianzus portrays a vivid picture of a fascinating character of vital importance who deserves to be regarded as the first true Christian humanist. The eight orations, each representing a different aspect of his writing, are examined alongside a selection of his shorter poems in verse translation, letters, and a translation of Gregory's own will. Author Brian Daley offers extensive commentary on the works translated and an ample bibliography. With an extensive introduction to Gregory's life, thought and writings, and including detailed notes, this study places Gregory in his correct historical context, and gives students access to a deeper understanding of this fascinating figure from the past.

Saint Gregory of Nazianzus stands as the founding father of the Byzantine religious synthesis, and his own conception of the vision of God as light made him an important figure for Byzantine spiritual writers. This study is a critical analysis of the man, his writings and inner life in the English language. It offers an insight into the mind of one of the greatest protagonists of Nicene theology and opens a window onto the world of late antiquity and the place of the Christian Church in it.

This volume by a respected theologian offers fresh consideration of the work of famous fourth-century church father Athanasius, giving specific attention to his use of Scripture, his deployment of metaphysical categories, and the intersection between the two. Peter Leithart not only introduces Athanasius and his biblical theology but also puts Athanasius into dialogue with contemporary theologians. This volume launches the series Foundations of Theological Exegesis and Christian Spirituality. Edited by Hans Boersma and Matthew Levering, the series critically recovers patristic exegesis and interpretation for contemporary theology and spirituality. Each volume covers a specific church father and illuminates the exegesis that undergirds the Nicene tradition. The series contributes to the growing area of theological interpretation and will appeal to both evangelical and Catholic readers.

The heart of this book is a selection of Greek texts from early Christian writers, accompanied by notes so that a person with one year of Greek can read the texts. Basic translations of the texts are also provided so that readers can check their work. A list of words used 50+ times in the New Testament and the principal parts of several verbs is included. The Greek selections represent a variety of styles and levels of difficulty. The notes also vary, with very extensive notes provided in some cases. Passages that have played a major role in the history of Christian thought are included, as well as passages that contribute to matters of spirituality and pastoral care. Several passages are of more purely historical interest. The author includes an introduction to the writings of the early church to help orient readers to the writings of the Fathers in general and also give the rationale for the particular selections included in the book. Each selection also has a brief introduction discussing its historical setting and content. A brief bibliography is included for the particular selections included and for the Greek reference works cited. However, the book would also be of interest to those studying the Classics and could be used by anyone as a brief introduction to some samples of early Christian thought. This may be the only book available that provides such translation notes for selections from the Greek fathers.

A translation of all existing documents from the cenobitic monasteries of Pachomius (292-346). '...a major contribution to patristic scholarship on the highest level of scientific accuracy' -Speculum. '...it is unlikely that these fascinating and unparalleled volumes will be superseded...'-The Catholic Historical Review. 'This series is recommended to anyone interested in early history and spirit of cenobitism and religious life' -Spiritual Life. '...they deserve a place on the bookshelf of every scholar interested in the patristic period' -Patristics.

Pachomius, who died in 346, has long been regarded as the "founder of monasticism." Available again, Philip Rousseau's careful reading of the available texts reveals that Pachomius's pioneering enterprise has been consistently misread in light of later monastic practices. Rousseau not only provides a fuller and more accurate portrait of this great teacher and spiritual director but also gives a new perspective on the development of monasticism. In a new preface Rousseau reviews the scholarly developments that have modified his views and emphases since the book was published. The result is to make Pachomius an even less assured pioneer, a man likely to have been more involved in the village and urban society of his time than previously thought.

First published in 1999. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.

Ten of the twelve homilies of St. John Chrysostom presented here were delivered at Antioch over a period of several years beginning in A.D. 386. The final two homilies were delivered in 398 after Chrysostom became patriarch of Constantinople. All but one of the homilies aim at refuting the Anomoeans, heretics who revived the most radical tenets of Arius and blatantly claimed that man knows God in the very same way that God knows himself. Chrysostom's refutations and instructions to the faithful are based on the Scriptures rather than on human reasoning. He departed from this series of refutations only in the sixth homily, which he delivered on December 20, 386, again at Antioch. It consists of a panegyric of St. Philogonius, bishop of Antioch ca. A.D. 319-23, who before his episcopal ordination had led a very exemplary life, practiced law and contracted a marriage that was blessed with a daughter. In addition to their theological content, these homilies contain many other points of interest. On one occasion, people applauded the speaker and were very attentive to the homily but then left the church so that when Christ is about to appear in the holy mysteries the church becomes empty (Hom III.32; Hom VII.2). During another homily, pickpockets plied their trade so that Chrysostom urged "let no one come into the church carrying money" (Hom IV.46). Chrysostom also indicates that people kept talking to one another at the sacred moment when Christ becomes present (Hom IV.36). He also mentions that chariot races often proved more enticing than going to church (Hom VII.1). Finally, valuable information on fourth-century Eastern liturgies is found in Hom III.41, 42, and Hom IV.32.