Subject Guides: Historical & Heritage Studies: Articles / Databases

Recommended Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Multidisciplinary database giving access to the electronic version of articles from more than 8,500 scientific journals, of which 7,300 are reread by a peer review committee. There are also bibliographic references and summaries for more than 12,500 journals and 13,200 publications (books, reports, conference proceedings, etc.). Certain identified documents only offer access to bibliographic data and summaries.
Sabinet African Journals This link opens in a new window Sabinet African Journals have been available online to clients with great success since 2001. The collection is proud to be the biggest of its kind, with an exclusive assortment of African and southern African journal titles, which includes more than 430 titles as well as more than 350 000 full text articles and the list keeps on growing.
- This link opens in a new window
Africa-Wide Information This link opens in a new window Africa-Wide Information, produced by NISC South Africa, combines bibliographic databases from around the world to form a multidisciplinary aggregation offering unique and extensive coverage of all facets of Africa and African studies. This includes content from South African Studies, African Studies, and African HealthLine, which focuses on all aspects of health relating to Africa and other developing nations. With over 3.2 million citations and abstracts dating back to the 16th century, this resource is essential for those with an interest in African research, and information on and about Africa.

Aluka Jstor World Heritage Sites

Emerald Insight This link opens in a new window Emerald's Management collection features over 80,000 articles from over 200 titles. The collection continues to disseminate the latest thinking, from authors at 95 of the Financial Times Top 100 business schools and forms an essential part of the research library at most of these institutions. Our specialist collections in fields such as Education, Engineering, Library Studies and Marketing build on this strength; offering focused international research in a range of subject fields.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Humanities Index This link opens in a new window This database is an international abstracting and indexing tool for research in the humanities, covering over internationally respected humanities journals and weekly magazines published in the UK and other English speaking countries, as well as quality newspapers published in the UK.
Humanities Source This link opens in a new window Humanities Source is designed to meet the needs of students, researchers and educators interested in all aspects of the humanities. The collection includes full text for more than 1,400 journals, with citations to over 3.5 million articles, including book reviews. Coverage in Humanities Source includes worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought.
ISAP (Index to SA Periodical Articles: references only) This link opens in a new window Index to SA Periodical Articles: references onl
JStor This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Jstor Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa focuses on the complex and varied liberation struggles in the region, with an emphasis on Botswana, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, and Zimbabwe. The contents of the collection document colonial rule, dispersion of exiles, international intervention, and the worldwide networks that supported successive generations of resistance within the region. Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa brings together materials from various archives and libraries throughout the world and makes them available online to students, teachers, and researchers.

ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window ScienceDirect is a leading full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from nearly 2,500 journals and more than 30,000 books.
Scopus This link opens in a new window Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
Social Science Database This link opens in a new window Social Science Database offers indexing and full text for hundreds of academic journals, providing extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, communication, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology.
Taylor & Francis (Journals) This link opens in a new window Taylor & Francis Group publishes quality peer-reviewed journals under the Routledge and Taylor & Francis imprints.
- This link opens in a new window
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window

Platforms

EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window EBSCOhost databases and discovery technologies are the most-used, premium online information resources for tens of thousands of institutions worldwide, representing millions of end-users.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ProQuest This link opens in a new window ProQuest’s collections span six centuries, all disciplines and the diverse content types needed by researchers, providing the world’s largest collection of dissertations and theses; three centuries of newspapers; more than 450,000 academic ebooks; collections of important scholarly journals and other content researchers need such as data; and unique digital vaults of primary source materials . ProQuest’s renowned abstracting and indexing enables researchers to find sources in their area of study.
- This link opens in a new window

Open Access databases

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) This link opens in a new window DOAJ is an online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
- This link opens in a new window

SDG Hub The South African SDG Hub is a metaplatform that aggregates the best and most relevant research on the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) from South African and selected non-South African universities. Our machine-learning-based classification tool classifies research in terms of one or more of the SDGs. Our mission is to increase the impact of research published on universities' institutional repositories.

Historical & Heritage Studies: Articles / Databases

A-Z Database list

Recommended Databases

Platforms

Open Access databases

Selected History Journals