Welcome to the Historical & Heritage Studies subject guide. This guide will introduce you to valuable information sources that are tailor-made for the subject, as well as services and facilities offered by the UP DLS
African Newspapers Series 1, 1800 - 1922This link opens in a new windowExplore African History and Culture during the 19th and 20th Centuries. This ground-breaking online collection offers unmatched coverage of the people, issues and events that shaped the continent during the 19th and early 20th centuries.
African Newspapers Series 2, 1835-1925This link opens in a new windowNineteenth- and early 20th-century African newspapers cover the issues and events that shaped the continent.
Apartheid: Global Perspectives 1946-1996This link opens in a new windowTranslated news broadcasts and publications, written by the people who experienced apartheid and also those around the world who watched, reacted and analysed it.
Financial Mail Archive, 1959 – 2019, Johannesburg, South AfricaThis link opens in a new windowThe most widely-read business weekly in South Africa, the Financial Mail has provided authoritative news from across the continent and the world since 1959. While its archive offers a comprehensive history of South African markets, researchers can also use the paper’s financial coverage as a mirror for understanding topics of broad social importance, including the rise and fall of apartheid and major shifts in South African culture, labour and politics. Now, each issue is available in a fully searchable digital archive, giving students and researchers unprecedented access to decades of South African history.
Rand Daily Mail, 1902-1985This link opens in a new windowThe Rand Daily Mail is renowned today for being the first newspaper to openly oppose apartheid and contribute to its downfall. Explore deep coverage from the Boer Wars to the Apartheid Era.
Sunday Times Archive, 1906 – 2019, Johannesburg, South AfricaThis link opens in a new windowKnown as “the paper for the people,” South Africa’s largest Sunday newspaper has been covering the people, issues and events that shaped South Africa and beyond for over a century. Through firsthand reporting, photographs, editorials, cartoons and more, the Sunday Times has recorded every major historical event of the 20th century, making it a vital resource for scholars in a variety of disciplines. Now, each issue is available in a fully searchable digital archive, offering students and researchers fresh insight into decades of South African, African and world history.
Sabinet SA Media
SA MediaThis link opens in a new windowContains records from South African newspapers and periodicals from 1978 onwards.
Proquest
African NewsstreamThis link opens in a new windowAccess to the latest news and developments from a variety of titles including The International Herald Tribune, Africa News Service, BBC Monitoring Africa and more.
International NewsstreamThis link opens in a new windowInternational Newsstream provides the most recent news content outside of the US and Canada, with archives which stretch back decades featuring newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format. ProQuest International Newsstream provides information from more than 660 of the world's top newspapers, including The Times (London), The Bangkok Post, El Norte, Financial Times, The Guardian, Jerusalem Post, South China Morning Post, The Daily Telegraph, Asian Wall Street Journal, and the BBC Monitoring series of publications.
