Reference works are non-circulating (may not be borrowed / taken out of the library).
Reference works have an N ( for "Naslaan") as prefix, e.g. N 439.363 HAT = Handwoordeboek van die Afrikaanse Taal.
Other examples are:
The Columbia Dictionary of Modern Literary and Cultural Criticism / Childers and Hentzi, (eds.) 1995. N 803 COLUMBIA
A Glossary of Literary Terms / Abrams and Harpham. 10th ed. 2012. N 803 ABRAMS
Literêre Terme en Teorieë / T T Cloete (red). 1992. GV 803 LITERERE & N 803 LITERERE
For more titles on literary theory, search the library system for "su:Literature History and criticism Theory, etc".
Assistance available on level 3.
Afrikaans N 439.363
Dutch N 439.313
English N 423
Groot woordeboek: Afrikaans en Nederlands / hoofredakteur: Willy Martin. Pharos, 2011. N 439.3633931 GROOT
HAT: handwoordeboek van die Afrikaanse taal / editors, F. F. Odendal, R. H. Gouws. 5th ed. Pearson Education, 2005. N 439.363 HAT Book (6th ed. on order).
Multilingual illustrated dictionary: English, IsiZulu, Sesotho, IsiXhosa, Setswana, Afrikaans, Sepedi: dictionary, isichazimazwi, bukantswe, isichazi-magama, bukafoko, woordeboek, pukuntsǔ / John Bennett, Nthuseng Tsoeu [with] Thabisile Buthelezi ... [et al.]. Juta Gariep, 2006. N 403 BENNETT
The new Routledge Dutch dictionary: Dutch-English/English-Dutch / N. Osselton and R. Hempelman. Routledge, 2003. N 439.31321 OSSELTON
Pharos Afrikaans-Engels, English-Afrikaans woordeboek = Pharos Afrikaans-Engels, English-Afrikaans dictionary. 1st ed. 2nd print, with corrections. Pharos, 2010. N 439.36321 PHAROS
Prisma groot woordenboek Afrikaans en Nederlands / hoofdred. Willy Martin; [red.: Else Boekkooi ... et al.]. Prisma, c2011. N 439.3633931 PRISMA
Prisma woordenboek: Nederlands / A.A. Weijnen, A.P.G.M.A. Ficq-Weijnen; bewerking: M.A. Hofman. 40ste herz. druk. Spectrum, 2005. N 439.313 WEIJNEN
Verklarende Afrikaanse woordeboek / F. J. Labuschagne, L. C. Eksteen. 9de hersiene uitgawe. Pharos Woordeboeke, 2010. N 439.363 LABUSCHAGNE
Woordeboek van die Afrikaanse taal. Deel 14. [S-Skooi]. N 439.363 WOORDEBOEK [Dl 1-14 beskikbaar].
Die Afrikaanse Literatuur, 1652 – 2004. / Kannemeyer. 2005. N 839.3609 KANNEMEYER
Bibliografie van Afrikaanse boeke. Deel 1 (1861) – Deel 9 (1977) / Nienaber. N 839.36016 NIENABER
Bronne by die studie van Afrikaanse Digbundels 1900-1978 / Senekal en Van Aswegen. 1981. N 839.3610016 SENEKAL
Bronne by die studie van Afrikaanse Dramas, 1900-1978 / Senekal en Van Aswegen. 1980. N 839.3620016 SENEKAL
Bronne by die studie van Afrikaanse Prosawerke / Senekal en Engelbrecht. 1984. N 839.3630016 SENEKAL
Bronnegids by die studie van die Afrikaanse letterkunde en taal (1995-) / Marx en Stroebel. Bloemfontein : NALN, 1996-1997. N 839.36016 BRONNEGIDS ST
Geskiedenis van die Afrikaanse Literatuur (Kannemeyer) See Favourite web-links tab.
Geskiedenis van die Afrikaanse Letterkunde (Nienaber) See Favourite web-links tab.
Index to South African periodicals (Repertorium van Suid-Afrikaanse tydskrifartikels. Vol.1(1940)-v.44(1984). N 800 REPERTORIUM, N 320 REPERTORIUM
Op weg na 2000: tien jaar Afrikaanse literatuur, 1988-1997 / Kannemeyer. 839.3609 KANNEMEYER
Perspektief en profiel : 'n Afrikaanse literatuurgeskiedenis / Van Coller, (red.) 1998-2006. (Vols 1-3). 839.3609 PERSPEKTIEF
Lexicon van literaire termen N 803 GORP
Kritisch lexicon van de moderne Nederlandstalige literatuur. N 839.3109 KRITISCH
New Oxford American Dictionary (3 ed.) 2015
Oxford Dictionary of English (3 ed.) 2015
Oxford Paperback Thesaurus (4 ed.) 2012
The Oxford Dictionary of Reference and Allusion. (3 ed.) 2015 (online).
The Oxford Essential Dictionary of Foreign Terms in English. 2002 (online).
Pocket Fowler’s Modern English Usage. 2nd ed. 2008 (online).
The Oxford Companion to Classical Civilization. 2nd ed. 2014 (online).
The Oxford Companion to Classical Literature. 3rd ed. 2011 (online).
A Guide to Countries of the World (3 ed.) 2014.
Visual English Dictionary. 2005.
World Encyclopedia. 2014.
World Flags. 2004.
World Maps. 2004.
Concise Oxford Companion to the English Language. 2013 (online).
The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Linguistics. 3rd ed. 2014 (online).
A Dictionary of Critical Theory. 2010 (online).
A Dictionary of Writers and Their Works. 3rd ed. 2015 (online).
Oxford Companion to Classical Literature. 3rd ed. 2011 (online).
Oxford Dictionary of English Idioms. 3rd ed. 2012 (online).
Oxford Dictionary of Literary Terms. 4th ed. 2015 (online).
Oxford Dictionary of Phrase and Fable. 2nd ed. 2014 (current online version).
Oxford Dictionary of Plays. 2nd ed. 2015 (online).
Oxford Dictionary of Science Fiction. 2007 (online).
Focus on: Oxford Reference Online
Oxford Business French Dictionary: English-French / French-English
Oxford Business Spanish Dictionary: English-Spanish/Spanish-English
Pocket Oxford German Dictionary: English German/German-English (4 ed.)
Pocket Oxford Latin Dictionary: English-Latin/Latin-English (3 ed.)
Pocket Oxford Spanish Dictionary: English-Spanish/Spanish-English (4 ed.)
Pocket Oxford-Hachette French Dictionary: English-French/French-English (4 ed.)
Book Citation Index “provides researchers with access to the citation network between books and the wider world of scholarly and scientific research, allowing them to measure the contribution of books in specific disciplines and identify potential collaborators.” Subscription resource.
Pharos Dictionaries - Subscription resource. On-campus access only.
Also see lists of relevant databases and e-journals, of favourite web-links, and of e-books in this guide.