Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases - your Best Friends For 2022!
EBSCOhost This link opens in a new windowEBSCOhost databases and discovery technologies are the most-used, premium online information resources for tens of thousands of institutions worldwide, representing millions of end-users.
JStor This link opens in a new window
ProQuest This link opens in a new windowProQuest’s collections span six centuries, all disciplines and the diverse content types needed by researchers, providing the world’s largest collection of dissertations and theses; three centuries of newspapers; more than 450,000 academic ebooks; collections of important scholarly journals and other content researchers need such as data; and unique digital vaults of primary source materials . ProQuest’s renowned abstracting and indexing enables researchers to find sources in their area of study.
A more complete list is included on the Articles / Databases tab of this subject guide.
Sign In / Create Accounts to all the databases you are regularly using. You will have access to more functions, eg. creating ALERTS, to be notified about new articles being published. You can SAVE your searches as well.
You can also create ALERTS in Google Scholar.
All databases have HELP functions.
In order to access UP electronic articles from Google Scholar, you need to adjust your Google Scholar Settings as follow:
Click on the three lines next to the Google Scholar logo.
On the Settings screen, adjust the following settings:
Search box: Pretoria
Read more about Google Scholar