Database of Research Methods
Sage Research Methods Covers all aspects of Research Methods
eBooks
Architectural research methods D. Wang L. Groat 2013
This book's unique coverage of research methods is specifically targeted to help professional designers and researchers better conduct and understand research. Part I explores basic research issues and concepts, and includes chapters on relating theory to method and design to research. Part II gives a comprehensive treatment of specific strategies for investigating built forms. In all, the book covers seven types of research, including historical, qualitative, correlational, experimental, simulation, logical argumentation, and case studies and mixed methods
Research methodology in the built environment : a selection of case studies Vian Ahmed et al 2016 Built environment students are not always familiar with the range of different research approaches they could be using for their projects. Whether you are undertaking a postgraduate doctoral programme or facing an undergraduate or masters dissertation, this book provides general advice, as well as 13 detailed case studies from 16 universities in 7 countries, to help you get to grips with quantitative and qualitative methods, mixed methods of data collection, action research and more.
Research methods for architecture Ray Lucas 2016 For FULL Download--Create a Log In on Ebsco Host--download book to Adobe Digital Editions OR download 100 pages per session.
This practical handbook addresses the essential questions about what research in architecture can be. The first part of the book is a general guide to the fundamentals of how to do research, from assembling a literature review to conducting an interview. The second section presents a selection of case studies dealing with such topics as environmental psychology, the politics of space, ethnographic research and mapping.
Research methods for the architectural profession A Aksamija 2021
This book provides a roadmap for successfully integrating research into architectural design and for establishing innovative practices, regardless of a firm's size. Written by an architecture professor with extensive research and professional background and richly illustrated with over 150 color images, this book will be useful for both students and practitioners
Case Studies and Theory Development in the Social Sciences Alexander, G 2005 MIT Press [Log In on INTERNET ARCHIVE to borrow this book] This text presents a comprehensive analysis of research methods using case studies and examines the place of case studies in social science methodology. It argues that case studies, statistical methods, and formal models are complementary rather than competitive.
Practical Research Planning and Design eBook Paul D Leedy 2020 ACCESS for 1 USER at a time~download allowed pages per session, logout~download next number of pages in new session.
An engaging, cross-disciplinary guide to research methodology Practical Research: Planning and Design is a do-it-yourself, how-to manual for planning and conducting research, suitable for a wide variety of courses in basic research methodology.
Encyclopedia of research design eBook Neil J. Salkind 2010
Comprising more than 500 entries, the Encyclopedia of Research Design explains how to make decisions about research design, undertake research projects in an ethical manner, interpret and draw valid inferences from data, and evaluate experiment design strategies and results
The Oxford Handbook of Qualitative Research Leavy P The Oxford Handbook of Qualitative Research presents a comprehensive and student-friendly overview of the field of qualitative research . It provides strong focus on methods instruction with coverage of theoretical approaches, analysis, writing, evaluation, and the politics of research
Qualitative research for the social sciences eBook Marilyn Lichtman 2014
Focusing on the integral role of the researcher, Qualitative Research for the Social Sciences uses a conversational writing style that draws you into the excitement of the research process. The author offers a balanced and nuanced approach, covering the full range of qualitative methodologies and viewpoints about the field, including coverage of social media as a tool to facilitate research or as a venue for study.
Qualitative research from start to finish Robert K Yin 2016 ACCESS 1 USER at a time. Download allowed pages per session, logout--download next number of pages in a new session.
This text presents a fresh approach to doing qualitative research. It offers a unique balance of theory and clear-cut choices for customising every phase of a qualitative study, including adaptive ways of designing studies, collecting data, analysing data and reporting findings.
Ethics in qualitative research Controversies and contexts Hammerskey M. Martyn Hammersley and Anna Traianou emphasize the difficult and controversial character of ethical issues, and examine the philosophical assumptions involved, the social contexts in which key ethical principles arise, and their implications for research practice. The authors argue that the starting point for any discussion of research ethics must be the values intrinsic to research, above all the commitment to knowledge-production.
Qualitative research and evaluation methods Patton, Michael 3rd 2002 ed [Internet Archive eBook~Log In to borrow] Patton has created the most comprehensive, systematic, and up-to-date review of qualitative methods available.
The practice of social research Babbie E 2010 12th ed [Internet Archive eBook~Log In to borrow]A straightforward, comprehensive, and approachable guide to research as practiced by social scientists, this book gives readers the tools they need to apply research concepts practically. The author emphasizes the process by showing readers how to design and construct projects, introducing the various observation modes and answering critical questions about research methods-such as how to conduct online surveys and analyze both qualitative and quantitative data.
Research Ethics eBook David Byrne 2016 For the social science researcher, issues of ethics and safety are of great importance, and should remain in the front of your mind when planning and carrying out research.
The SAGE handbook of applied social research methods eBook Leonard Bickman, Debra J 2009 A comprehensive, intelligent & authoritative guide to researchers who need to select & use the most suitable approach, specific designs, & data collection procedures for their applied research.
Research Interviewing Bill Gillham 2007
The robust, real-world approach makes this book appropriate for practitioner researchers and postgraduate students up to PhD level. Covers distance and face-to-face interviewing, from the un-structured and naturalistic to the highly structured, focused and time-efficient. Emphasis is placed on using the most appropriate methods for the research purpose and how to identify which method is practicable.
Theory by Design: Architectural Research Made Explicit in the Design Teaching Studio. Els De Vos et al 2012
Proceedings of Theory by Design, Antwerp 2012. Why Theory by Design is an issue--Why Theory by Design is a valid option--Plato in the architectural studio--Thinking through Architecture--Design in Architecture and its aesthetic dimension--Inclusiveness of research and design in the Architecture Design Studio--Experiments with methods from visual art to map the spatial identity of a location--Training Architects through reflexive research landscapes in transition--Research through design by action.