The British Cookbook by
'Oh what a perfect book. It makes me want to take a year off and stand in a kitchen, all day every day trying to bring these wonderful dishes to life... without a hint of jingoistic grandstanding it reminds us what a rich, varied and proud cuisines we have in Britain... so grateful to have this.' - Stephen Fry 'Staggeringly comprehensive and deeply researched, it's a big, greedy, engrossing banquet of a book.' - Marina O'Loughlin, British journalist, writer and restaurant critic Discover over 550 much-loved authentic home cooking recipes from England, Wales, Scotland, and Northern Ireland, celebrating the rich traditions of regional and seasonal British cooking In The British Cookbook, author and food historian Ben Mervis takes readers on a mouth-watering culinary tour across England, Wales, Scotland, and Northern Ireland, revealing a cuisine as diverse as the landscape from which it originates. Part cookbook, part cultural history, this deeply researched collection of 550 authentic recipes encompasses home-cooked classics, such as Shepherd's Pie, Welsh Rarebit, Scottish Crumpets, and Victoria Sponge; lesser-known and regional recipes, such as Bonfire Night Black Peas and Dublin Bay Prawns; dishes deeply steeped in British history, such as Haggis and Devils on Horseback; and iconic dishes with roots outside of the United Kingdom, such as Chicken Tikka Masala, Curry Goat, and Sesame Prawn Toast. The recipes are fascinating to read and easy to follow, with lively descriptions of each dish's origins; clear, user-friendly instructions; and helpful notes on unique ingredients and techniques. Stunning photographs of food and local scenery complete this exciting ode to British cuisine. Chapters include: Eggs and Dairy Soups and Stews Vegetables Fish and Shellfish Poultry Game and Game Birds Beef Pork and Lamb Savoury Pies and Pasties Stuffings, Dumplings, Porridge and Pastry Griddle Cakes and Breads Oven-Baked Breads and Savoury Bakes Cakes, Buns and Biscuits Puddings and Pies Sauces, Confections and Preserves
Evolutions in Bread by
The New York Times bestselling author of Flour Water Salt Yeast teaches you how to elevate your sandwich bread, breakfast toast, and overall bread-baking game using everything he's learned in the last decade to perfect his loaves. If you want to craft artisan pan breads and rustic Dutch oven loaves at home with professional, consistent results, this is the book for you. Think crispy, crackly crusts and soft, airy interiors, just like from your favorite artisan bakery-except it came from your own oven. Approachable to the home baker, while still being chock-full of expert knowledge and all-new recipes, Evolutions in Bread covers same-day loaves, overnight cold-proof doughs, and classic levains. Forkish shares the secrets he has learned for making sourdough starter that's more flour efficient while also exploring classic breads and enriched doughs, such as Japanese Milk Bread and Brioche. Included with each recipe is a handy baking schedule, helping newbies navigate their first starters and loaves. The doughs are also versatile; most can be prepared as a lidded pan loaf, open pan loaf, or as a rustic country loaf. This book will improve anyone's baking but also serves as a companion to Flour Water Salt Yeast, giving you everything you need to create any loaf imaginable.
Handbook of Herbs and Spices by
Herbs and spices are among the most versatile ingredients in food processing, and alongside their sustained popularity as flavourants and colourants they are increasingly being used for their natural preservative and potential health-promoting properties. An authoritative new edition in two volumes, Handbook of herbs and spices provides a comprehensive guide to the properties, production and application of a wide variety of commercially-significant herbs and spices. Volume 1 begins with an introduction to herbs and spices, discussing their definition, trade and applications. Both the quality specifications for herbs and spices and the quality indices for spice essential oils are reviewed in detail, before the book goes on to look in depth at individual herbs and spices, ranging from basil to vanilla. Each chapter provides detailed coverage of a single herb or spice and begins by considering origins, chemical composition and classification. The cultivation, production and processing of the specific herb or spice is then discussed in detail, followed by analysis of the main uses, functional properties and toxicity. With its distinguished editor and international team of expert contributors, the two volumes of the new edition of Handbook of herbs and spices are an essential reference for manufacturers using herbs and spices in their products. They also provide valuable information for nutritionists and academic researchers. Provides a comprehensive guide to the properties, production and application of a wide variety of commercially-significant herbs and spices Begins with a discussion of the definition, trade and applications of herbs and spices Reviews the quality specifications for herbs and spices and examines the quality indices for spice essential oils
The Experience Economy, with a New Preface by the Authors by
Time is limited. Attention is scarce. Are you engaging your customers? Apple Stores, Disney, LEGO, Starbucks. Do these names conjure up images of mere goods and services, or do they evoke something more--something visceral? Welcome to the Experience Economy, where businesses must form unique connections in order to secure their customers' affections--and ensure their own economic vitality. This seminal book on experience innovation by Joe Pine and Jim Gilmore explores how savvy companies excel by offering compelling experiences for their customers, resulting not only in increased customer allegiance but also in a more profitable bottom line. Translated into thirteen languages, The Experience Economy has become a must-read for leaders of enterprises large and small, for-profit and nonprofit, global and local. Now with a brand-new preface, Pine and Gilmore make an even stronger case for experiences as the critical link between a company and its customers in an increasingly distractible and time-starved world. Filled with detailed examples and actionable advice, The Experience Economy helps companies create personal, dramatic, and even transformative experiences, offering the script from which managers can generate value in ways aligned with a strong customer-centric strategy.