To renew books electronically from anywhere, please follow the steps outlined below:
Go to the library home page: www.library.up.ac.za.
On the right under My Library Space, Renew Library Items
Login with your portal details
Your library record will appear.
You can see which books you have out on loan.
Renew items due to expire.
You are allowed to renew your books a maximum of six times (if there is not a hold on an item).
The Study Collection is also referred to as the Reserved Collection.
Books in high demand (Prescribed and Recommended books) are located in this collection.
|
|||||||
|
|||||||
| SRC collection in the Study Collection | |||||||
|
Books with SRC in front of the call number are located in the Study Collection and can be borrowed for up to one month. Books in this collection cannot be renewed. These books are kindly donated by the Student Representative Council. |
Conceptual Metonymy by
The volume addresses a number of closely connected methodological, descriptive, and theoretical issues in the study of metonymy, and includes a series of case studies broadening our knowledge of the functioning of metonymy. As regards the methodological and descriptive issues, the book exhibits a unique feature in metonymy literature: the discussion of the structure of a detailed, web-based metonymy database (especially its entry model), and the descriptive criteria to be applied in its completion. The theoretical discussion contributes important challenging insights on several metonymy-related topics such as contingency, source prominence, "complex target", source-target contrast / asymmetry, conceptual integration, hierarchies, triggers, de-personalization and de-roling, and many others. The case studies deal with the role of metonymy in morphology, monoclausal if only constructions, emotional categories, and iconicity in English and other languages, including one sign language. Beside cognitive linguists, especially metonymy researchers, the book should appeal to researchers in A.I., sign language, rhetoric, lexicography, and communication.
Two Zulu Poets by
In Two Zulu Poets, Dike Okoro brings to our attention the sparkling wealth of African poetry in indigenous languages. Modern African poets and scholars owe so much to the pioneering efforts of these two South African poets. Dr. Okoro has surely, in this bilingual edition of two Zulu poets, unearthed invaluable gems of poetry. - Tanure Ojaide, Frank Porter Graham Professor of Africana Studies, The University of North Carolina at Charlotte.
The Social and Political History of Southern Africa's Languages by
This book is the first to offer an interdisciplinary and comprehensive reference work on the often-marginalised languages of southern Africa. The authors analyse a range of different concepts and questions, including language and sociality, social and political history, multilingual government, and educational policies. In doing so, they present significant original research, ensuring that the work will remain a key reference point for the subject. This ambitious and wide-ranging edited collection will appeal to students and scholars of southern African languages, sociolinguistics, history and politics.
Making and Using Word Lists for Language Learning and Testing by
Word lists lie at the heart of good vocabulary course design, the development of graded materials for extensive listening and extensive reading, research on vocabulary load, and vocabulary test development. This book has been written for vocabulary researchers and curriculum designers to describe the factors they need to consider when they create frequency-based word lists. These include the purpose for which the word list is to be used, the design of the corpus from which the list will be made, the unit of counting, and what should and should not be counted as words. The book draws on research to show the current state of knowledge of these factors and provides very practical guidelines for making word lists for language teaching and testing. The writer is well known for his work in the teaching and learning of vocabulary and in the creation of word lists and vocabulary size tests based on word lists.
Resisting Linguistic Imperialism in English Teaching by
This book explores how English is used in periphery communities, while subtly resisting the linguistic imperialism from the global ELT enterprise.
FIGURATIVE LANGUAGE, GENRE AND REGISTER by
This volume combines diverse research scenarios to present a solid framework for analysis of figurative language. Figurative Language, Genre and Register brings together discourse analysis and corpus linguistics in a cutting-edge study of figurative language in spoken and written discourse. The authors explore a diverse range of communities from chronic pain sufferers to nursery staff to present a detailed framework for the analysis of figurative language. The reader is shown how figurative language is used between members of these communities to construct their own 'world view', and how this can change with a shift in perspective. Figurative language is shown to be pervasive and inescapable, but it is also suggested that it varies significantly across genres.
The Bloomsbury Companion to Cognitive Linguistics by
The Bloomsbury Companion to Cognitive Linguistics is a comprehensive and accessible reference resource to research in contemporary cognitive linguistics. Written by leading figures in the field, the volume provides readers with an authoritative overview of methods and current research topics and future directions.The volume covers all the most important issues, concepts, movements and approaches in the field. It devotes space to looking specifically at the major figures and their contributions. It is a complete resource for postgraduate students and researchers working within cognitive linguistics, psycholinguistics and those interested more generally in language and cognition.
Forensic Linguistics by
First published in 2004, John Olsson's practical introduction to Forensic Linguistics has become required reading for courses on this new and expanding branch of applied linguistics. This second edition has been revised and updated throughout, and includes new chapters on language in the justice system, forensic transcription, and expanded information on forensic phonetics. The book includes an appendix of forensic texts for student study, exercises and suggestions for further reading. This unique, hands-on introduction to Forensic Linguistics, based on Olsson's extensive experience as a practising forensic linguist, is essential reading for students, and researchers encountering this branch of applied linguistics for the first time.
The Routledge Applied Linguistics Reader by 
The Routledge Handbook of Forensic Linguistics by 
A Glossary of Corpus Linguistics by
This alphabetic guide provides definitions and discussion of key terms used in corpus linguistics. Corpus data is being used in a growing number of English and Linguistics departments which have no record of past research with corpus data. This is the first comprehensive glossary of the many specialist terms in corpus linguistics and will be useful for corpus linguists and non corpus linguists alike. Clearly written, by a team of experienced academics in the field, the glossary provides full coverage of both traditional and contemporary terminology.
E-Lexicography by
This book looks at current research and future directions in e-lexicography. Online dictionaries and reference tools are increasingly prevalent in a digitized and internet-led era in language study that has embraced computational linguistics. This book responds with theoretical and practical analysis of key topics, from a global range of contributors. Since COBUILD in the 1980s, lexicographers have found it essential to engage with and utilize electronic computational tools. Internet dictionaries, online reference tools and even search engine optimization demand a knowledge of electronic lexicography and force a reassessment of the field. This volume looks at, amongst other topics: Polyfunctional versus monofunctional dictionary tools Developing theories of lexicography for electronic mediums Distinguishing between the database and the dictionary Online dictionaries not as data repositories but as sophisticated search engines This volume will appeal to scholars inlexicography and to practicing lexicographers.
Borrowed Words by
The rich variety of the English vocabulary reflects the vast number of words it has taken from other languages. These range from Latin, Greek, Scandinavian, Celtic, French, Italian, Spanish, and Russian to, among others, Hebrew, Maori, Malay, Chinese, Hindi, Japanese, and Yiddish. He shows howto discover the origins of loanwords, when and why they were adopted, and what happens to them once they have been. The long documented history of English includes contact with languages in a variety of contexts, including: the dissemination of Christian culture in Latin in Anglo-Saxon England, andthe interactions of French, Latin, Scandinavian, Celtic, and English during the Middle Ages; exposure to languages throughout the world during the colonial era; and the effects of using English as an international language of science. Philip Durkin describes these and other historical inputs,introducing the approaches each requires, from the comparative method for the earliest period to documentary and corpus research in the modern. The discussion is illustrated at every point with examples taken from a variety of different sources. The framework Dr Durkin develops can be used to explore lexical borrowing in any language. This outstanding book is for everyone interested in English etymology and in loanwords moregenerally.
The Oxford Handbook of Lexicography by
This volume provides concise, authoritative accounts of the approaches and methodologies of modern lexicography and of the aims and qualities of its end products. Leading scholars and professional lexicographers, from all over the world and representing all the main traditions andperspectives, assess the state of the art in every aspect of research and practice. The book is divided into four parts, reflecting the main types of lexicography. Part I looks at synchronic dictionaries - those for the general public, monolingual dictionaries for second-language learners, andbilingual dictionaries. Part II and III are devoted to the distinctive methodologies and concerns of the historical dictionaries and specialist dictionaries respectively, while chapters in Part IV examine specific topics such as description and prescription; the representation of pronunciation; andthe practicalities of dictionary production. The book ends with a chronology of the major events in the history of lexicography. It will be a valuable resource for students, scholars, and practitioners in the field.
Mixing Metaphor by
Mixing metaphors in speech, writing, and even gesture, is traditionally viewed as a sign of inconsistency in thought and language. Despite the prominence of mixed metaphors, there have been surprisingly few attempts to comprehensively explain why people mix their metaphors so frequently and in the particular ways they do. This volume brings together a distinguished group of linguists, psychologists and computer scientists, who tackle the issue of how and why mixed metaphors arise and what communicative purposes they may serve. These scholars, almost unanimously, argue that mixing metaphors is a natural consequence of common metaphorical thought processes, highlighting important complexities of the metaphorical mind. Mixing Metaphor, for the first time, offers new, critical empirical and theoretical insights on a topic that has long been ignored within interdisciplinary metaphor studies.
Electronic Lexicography by 
A Glossary of Cognitive Linguistics by 
Literacy as Translingual Practice by 
The Routledge Handbook of Metaphor and Language by
The Routledge Handbook of Metaphor and Languageprovides a comprehensive overview of state-of-the-art interdisciplinary research on metaphor and language. Featuring 35 chapters written by leading scholars from around the world, the volume takes a broad view of the field of metaphor and language, and brings together diverse and distinct theoretical and applied perspectives to cover six key areas: Theoretical approaches to metaphor and language, covering Conceptual Metaphor Theory, Relevance Theory, Blending Theory and Dynamical Systems Theory; Methodological approaches to metaphor and language, discussing ways of identifying metaphors in verbal texts, images and gestures, as well as the use of corpus linguistics; Formal variation in patterns of metaphor use across text types, historical periods and languages;　 Functional variation of metaphor, in contexts including educational, commercial, scientific and political discourse, as well as online trolling; The applications of metaphor for problem solving, in business, education, healthcare and conflict situations; Language, metaphor, and cognitive development, examining the processing and comprehension of metaphors. The Routledge Handbook of Language and Metaphoris a must-have survey of this key field, and is essential reading for those interested in language and metaphor.
