Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Fabi: eBooks~Printed books

Forestry and Agricultural Biotechnology Institute

eBooks for FABI

  Basic Plant Pathology Methods Onkar D Dhingra, J B Sinclair 2nd Updated Ed 

The 2nd edition is updated and expanded with numerous new figures, new culture media, and additional methods for working with a greater number of organisms. Methods are easy to use and eliminate the need to seek out original articles. This reference allows for easy identification of methods appropriate for specific problems and facilities. Scientific names of pathogens and some of their hosts are updated in this edition. The book also acts as a research source providing more than 1,800 literature citations.

 The Code Decoded. A user's guide to the International Code of Nomenclature for algae, fungi, and plants Nicholas Turland  2019

 Biochemistry & molecular biology of plants BB Buchanan, W Gruissem, R L Jones 2015

Biochemistry and Molecular Biology of Plants, 2nd ed has been hailed as a major contribution to the plant sciences literature and critical acclaim has been matched by global sales success. Maintaining the scope and focus of the first edition, the second will provide a major update, include much new material and reorganise some chapters to further improve the presentation. This book is meticulously organised and richly illustrated.

First in fly : Drosophila research and biological discovery Stephanie Elizabeth Mohr 2018

A single species of fly, Drosophila melanogaster, has been the subject of scientific research for more than one hundred years.  Drosophila's importance as a research organism began with its short life cycle, ability to reproduce in large numbers, and easy-to-see mutant phenotypes. Over time, laboratory investigation revealed surprising similarities between flies and other animals at the level of genes, gene networks, cell interactions, physiology, immunity, and behavior. Like humans, flies learn and remember, fight microbial infection, and slow down as they age.

Insect pheromone biochemistry and molecular biology  Gary J Blomquist, Richard Vogt 2021 

The 2nd ed provides an updated and comprehensive review of the biochemistry and molecular biology of insect pheromone biosynthesis and reception. The book ties together historical information with recent discoveries, provides the reader with the current state of the field, and suggests where future research is headed. Written by international experts, many of whom pioneered studies on insect pheromone production and reception, this release updates the 2003 first edition with an emphasis on recent advances in the field. 

  Invasive stink bugs and related species (Pentatomoidea):biology, higher systematics, semiochemistry, and management  J E McPherson eBook 2018  The Superfamily Pentatomoidea (stink bugs and their relatives) is comprised of 18 families with over 8,000 species, the largest of which is the family Pentatomidae (about 5,000 species). These species primarily are phytophagous, and many cause tremendous economic damage to crops. Comprehensive coverage of the biology of invasive pentatomoids and related true bug species is presented in the book. Containing the contributions of more than 60 stink bug specialists from 15 countries, this book provides a better understanding of the biology and economic importance of these invasive species, why they became invasive, and how their continued geographical expansion is likely to affect numerous agricultural systems and natural environments.

  Molecular biology and biotechnology : basic experimental protocols M P Bansal, 2013 

 Next-generation sequencing and bioinformatics for plant science Vijai Bhadauria 2017

This book covers genome assembly and annotation, omics technologies, structural variations, abnormal chromosome number, chromosomal rearrangement, copy number variation, mobile elements, sequencing of small RNA nucleotides and transcription factor binding sites.

 Olfactory concepts of insect control : alternative to insecticides Vol 1 edited by Jean-François Picimbon 2019 Springer

The insect chemo-sense organs (olfaction and taste) are described as specific targets for pest control, alternative to xenobiotic insecticides, without affecting economic growth at the international level, but so more compatible with the protection of environment and health. We propose to study or re-study “pheromones”; these natural chemical signals that in the insect world specifically change the behavior of another insect of the same species. While this remains a mystery in human (and most mammals), it is well known that insects have developed a most remarkable machinery for odor recognition of mates and host plants.

 Olfactory concepts of insect control: alternative to insecticides Vol 2 edited by Jean-François Picimbon 2019 Springer

Flies, locusts, mosquitoes, moths, and most other insect species respond to odor messages they exchange consciously. This is due to the existence of thousands of olfactory sensilla covering the antennal branches and thousands of nerve cells that will transmit the odor signal toward specific parts of the insect brain. Pheromones, pheromone regulatory pathways, pheromone-sensitive nerve cells, pheromone receptors, and pheromone-binding proteins appear in this book as a prerequisite not only for fundamental knowledge but also for applied research and insect control. The pheromone or olfactory concepts, exposed here in nocturnal species of moths, mainly deal with the phenomenal expansion of some specific insects, invasive pest species that have severe impacts on agriculture or human health.

  Soil Nitrogen Ecology Cruz C et al 2021 PLEASE LOGOUT WHEN DONE -- Only 1 USER at a time

This book highlights the latest discoveries about the nitrogen cycle in the soil. It introduces the concept of nitrogen fixation and covers important aspects of nitrogen in soil and ecology such as its distribution and occurrence, soil microflora and fauna and their role in N-fixation. The importance of plant growth-promoting microbes for a sustainable agriculture, e.g. arbuscular mycorrhizae in N-fixation, is discussed as well as perspectives of metagenomics, microbe-plant signal transduction in N-ecology and related aspects. 

eBook Collections

eBook Central eBooks

Browse Subjects or do Keyword Search--Filter with Owned and subscribed to by my library

Ebsco Host eBook Collection 

On List Select eBook Collection--Do Keyword searches--Filter by FULL TEXT

Printed Books

 CRISPR-Cas : a laboratory manual Jennifer A Doudna, Prashant Mali 2016

The development of CRISPR-Cas technology is revolutionizing biology. Based on machinery bacteria use to target foreign nucleic acids, these powerful techniques allow investigators to edit nucleic acids and modulate gene expression more rapidly and accurately than ever before.Featuring contributions from leading figures in the CRISPR-Cas field, this laboratory manual presents a state-of-the-art guide to the technology. It includes step-by-step protocols for applying CRISPR-Cas-based techniques in various systems, including yeast, zebrafish, Drosophila, mice and more.

 Methods in rhizosphere biology research  Didier Reinhardt, Anil K Sharma 2019

This book compiles various methodologies used in understanding interactions within the rhizosphere. An in-depth understanding of the rhizosphere is essential to developing successful strategies for future sustainable agriculture. The book summarizes methods and techniques used to study the mechanisms involved in mutualistic symbioses and pathogenic interactions of plants with various microbial organisms including fungi, bacteria, and oomycetes. Each chapter discusses different methodologies used in rhizosphere biology, while also providing real-world experimental data and trouble-shooting tips.