South African urban change three decades after apartheid : homes still apart? Anthony Lemon, Ronnie Donaldson, Gustav Visser 2021. This book provides an analysis of South African urban change over the past three decades. It draws on a seminal text, Homes Apart, and revisits conclusions drawn in that collection that marked the final phases of urban apartheid. It highlights changes in demography, social as well as economic structure and their differential spatial expression across a range of urban sites in South Africa.
Cities for people Jan Gehl 2010 In this revolutionary book, Gehl presents his latest work creating (or recreating) cityscapes on a human scale. He clearly explains the methods and tools he uses to reconfigure unworkable cityscapes into the landscapes he believes they should be: cities for people.
Cities of tomorrow : an intellectual history of urban planning and design since 1880 Peter Hall 2014 Peter Hall's seminal Cities of Tomorrow remains an unrivalled account of the history of planning in theory and practice, as well as of the social and economic problems and opportunities that gave rise to it. This edition is comprehensively revised to take account of abundant new research published over the last decade.
Companion to urban design Banerjee T Today urban design has emerged as an important area of intellectual pursuit, with applications at many different scales -- ranging from the block or street scale to the scale of metropolitan and regional landscapes. The field interfaces with many aspects of contemporary public policy - multiculturalism, economic development, climate change, energy conservation, sustainable development, community livability, and related issues.
Contradictions of neoliberal planning Taşan-Kok G Baeten 2012 The premise of this volume is that the concepts of 'neoliberalism' and 'neoliberalisation' have largely been overlooked in planning theory as well as in the analysis of planning practice, despite the common deployment of these terms in the social sciences.
Democracy and Delivery Urban Policy in South Africa [FREE DOWNLOAD SCROLL DOWN ON PAGE]U Pillay R Tomlinson J du Toit 2006 In a series of essays written by leading academics and practitioners, Democracy and Delivery documents and assesses the formulation, evolution and implementation of urban policy in South Africa during the first ten years of democracy.
Designing for hope : pathways to regenerative sustainability D Hes, C Du Plessis 2015 A forward looking book on sustainable design that describes problems and then, by providing a different way to conceptualise design and development, leads on to examples of regenerative solutions.
Designing urban transformation A Imam 2014 "What can urbanism be?" Drawing inspiration from the philosophical movement known as Pragmatism, the book proposes three conceptual shifts for transformative urban practice: (a) beyond material objects: city as flux, (b) beyond intentions: consequences of design, and (c) beyond practice: urbanism as creative political act.
Ecological Design.Sim Van der Ryn, Stuart Cowan 2010 Ecological Design is a landmark volume that helped usher in an exciting new era in green design and sustainability planning. Since its initial publication in 1996, the book has been critically important in sparking dialogue and triggering collaboration across spatial scales and design professions in pursuit of buildings, products, and landscapes with radically decreased environmental impacts.
Ethical Land Use: Principles of Policy and Planning. Beatly Timothy 1994 This book is on Internet Archive. Sign Up; Log In; Borrow book. Land-use policy and ethical choices -- The nature of ethical discourse about land use -- Utilitarian and market perspective on land use -- Culpability and the prevention of land-use harms -- Land-use rights -- Distributive obligations in land use -- Ethical duties to the environment
Evolving public space in South Africa Karina Landman Evolving Public Space in South Africa discusses the transformation of public space highlighted in the country. Drawing on examples from major cities, the author demonstrates that these spaces are not only becoming wasted space, but are also adapting and evolving to accommodate new users and uses in various parts of the city.
Human Aspects of Urban Form A Rapoport By adopting a man-environment approach, this book seeks to understand the importance of cities for human behavior or satisfaction. This text also considers the way given urban configurations fit people's psychological, cultural, and social needs.
Making Urban Places: Principles and guidelines for layout planning At the most fundamental level this book is concerned with the quality of urban environments.
Naked city : the death and life of authentic urban places Zukin S 2010 As cities have gentrified, educated urbanites have come to prize what they regard as "authentic" urban life: aging buildings, art galleries, small boutiques, upscale food markets. Like Jacobs, Zukin looks at what gives neighborhoods a sense of place, but argues that over time, the emphasis on neighborhood distinctiveness has become a tool of economic elites to drive up real estate values and effectively force out the neighborhood "characters" that Jacobs so evocatively idealized.
Planning Australia: an overview of urban and regional planning S Thompson 2012
What is planning? Planning and governance Planning as a profession Statutory planning Planning and the natural environment The metropolis Planning for rural landscapes Planning for regions Planning for diverse communities Community participation in planning Urban design Planning for heritage conservation and management Transport planning Healthy planning
Planning By Law and Property Rights Reconsidered Countries which take spatial planning seriously should take planning law and property rights also seriously. There is an unavoidable logical relationship between planning, law, and property rights.
Planning law Jeannie Van Wyk, Juanita M Pienaar 2020 3rd ed The 3rd edition provides a comprehensive discussion of the core aspects of South African planning law.
Planning the City M Sepe 2013 Under the influence of globalization, the centres of many cities in the industrialised world are losing their place identity, the set of cultural markers that define a city's uniqueness and make it instantly recognisable. A key task for planners and residents, working together, is to preserve that unique sense of place without making the city a parody of itself.
Practical Research Planning and Design Paul D Leedy 2020 [ACCESS for 2 USERS at a time. Download the allowed pages per session.LOGOUT to read offline. Download next number of pages during a new session] An engaging, cross-disciplinary guide to research methodology. A do-it-yourself, how-to manual for planning and conducting research, using a conversational tone and step by step instructions.
Public and private spaces of the city A Madanipour This book sets out to find out how and why social space is subdivided in this way and to explore the nature of each realm as defined by spatial and symbolic boundaries.
Public places urban spaces The Dimensions of Urban Design M Carmona et al 2010 Defining Urban Design; Urban Design Today; Urban Change; Contexts for Urban Design; The Dimensions of Urban Design; The Morphological Dimension; The Perceptual Dimension; The Social Dimension; The Visual Dimension; The Functional Dimension; The Temporal Dimension; Implementing Urban Design; The Development Process; The Control Process; The Communication Process.
Resilience Thinking : Sustaining Ecosystems and People in a Changing World Brian Walker et al 2010
Resilience thinking offers a different way of understanding the world and a new approach to managing resources. It embraces human and natural systems as complex entities continually adapting through cycles of change, and seeks to understand the qualities of a system that must be maintained or enhanced in order to achieve sustainability.
The Rise of the network society Manuel Castells 2009 Based on research in the USA, Asia, Latin America, and Europe, Castells formulates a systematic theory of the information society and details the new social and economic developments brought by the Internet and the 'new economy'.
Sustainability Analysis of Human Settlements in South Africa CSIR
Sustainable Development of the Biosphere
Town planning into the 21st century Andrew Blowers, Bob Evans Examining the current position of planning and its likely development, leading experts outline the changing context for land use and environmental policy in Britain, in particular the reasons why existing processes could prove unsatisfactory.
Urban Planning in a Changing World: the 20th Century Experience
Written by leading experts from around the world, this collection of original essays will form an unprecedented critical survey of the state of urban planning at the end of the millennium.
Urban regeneration a handbook This book represents the first systematic overview of urban regeneration in one volume. It is an introduction to the key theoretical and applied issues in regeneration.
A Voice for the Excluded This book is on Internet Archive. Create a LOG IN on Internet Archive. Borrow the book for 1 hour or 14 days.
Whose public space? : international case studies in urban design and development Ali Madanipour 2010 Modern urban societies have become fragmented environments consisting of individuals. This book consists of theoretical accounts and case studies which address whether making public spaces more accessible can restore the social fabric of the city, highlighting key projects across the world.
Gambling on development : why some countries win and others lose
Stefan Dercon 2022 In the last thirty years, the developing world has undergone tremendous changes. Overall, poverty has fallen, people live longer and healthier lives, and economies have been transformed. And yet many countries have simply missed the boat. Why have some countries prospered, while others have failed? Stefan Dercon argues that the answer lies not in a specific set of policies, but rather in a key 'development bargain', whereby a country's elites shift from protecting their own positions to gambling on a growth-based future. Despite the imperfections of such bargains, China is among the most striking recent success stories, along with Indonesia and more unlikely places, such as Bangladesh, Ghana and Ethiopia. Gambling on Development is about these winning efforts, in contrast to countries stuck in elite bargains leading nowhere.Building on three decades' experience across forty-odd countries, Dercon winds his narrative through Ebola in Sierra Leone, scandals in Malawi, beer factories in the DRC, mobile phone licences in Mozambique, and relief programmes behind enemy lines in South Sudan. Weaving together conversations with prime ministers, civil servants and ordinary people, this is a probing look at how development has been achieved across the world, and how to assist such successes.
Best Practice Ebsco Host eBooks
Best Practice eBook Central eBooks
eBook Central eBooks Do a Keyword Search Filter with
Owned+subscribed to by my library
Ebsco Host eBook Collection Select eBook Collection on the list Do a Keyword Search Filter with FULL TEXT
Taylor + Francis eBooks Subjects Select Built Environment FILTER by Content which I have access to
Wiley Online Library Select Subjects Architecture&Planning eBooks