Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Ancient Languages and Cultures (ALC): Know your databases

Subject guide for students, researchers and academics in Ancient Languages and Cultures. Provides overview of resources available via UP's

Databases

Databases - your Best Friends For 2019!

Databases

Find more extensive lists elsewhere in this subject guide:

Go to the Articles tab and click on the Articles: Find an article sub-tab

Go to the Databases tab

Go to the Subject home page of this guide, under Quick access to..., you will find the link to the Humanities Faculty Library homepage). Click on it. You will find the heading Select a Subject related database on your left-hand side of the screen. Click the + sign and choose the relevant subject from the drop-down list.

Added value

Sign In / Create Accounts to all the databases you are regularly using. You will have access to more functions, eg. creating ALERTS, to be notified about new articles being published. You can save your searches as well.

You can also create ALERTS in Google Scholar.

All databases have HELP functions.

GOOGLE SCHOLAR

In order to access UP electronic articles from Google Scholar, you need to adjust your Google Scholar Settings as follow:

Click on the three lines next to the Google Scholar logo.

On the Settings screen, adjust the following settings:

Bibliography Manager

  • Language
  • Library  

Search box: Pretoria

Choose and

Save

Read more about Google Scholar