Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Ancient Languages and Cultures (ALC): Databases

Subject guide for students, researchers and academics in Ancient Languages and Cultures. Provides overview of resources available via UP's

E-Resources overview

UP Library provides online access to: 414 bibliographic databases469 327 e-books (26 723 licensed, the rest free), and 73 481 electronic journals covering ALL subject areas. You have access to most of the databases from anywhere in the world, provided that you are a registered student or lecturer of the library and University of Pretoria.

[The remaining databases are available on-campus on the CD Databases & Application menu which should be available on the desktop of any university computer.  If not loaded please contact your Information Specialist in the library or the Library Help Desk Tel.: +27 12 420 2802.]

The subscription databases are very important for academic and research work as they index the most important journals, conference proceedings (and books), on a specific subject, and when properly used, enable you to find and focus on the most relevant references. Remember that no search engine will cover the most important academic and scientific references you need. If you need to, please contact your Information Specialist

To access databases, you need a Username (Student/Personnel number) and a PIN - guide on this page.  If you experience problems, please do not hesitate to contact your Information Specialist or the Library Help Desk.

- Source: UP Library Services E-Resources Home webpage <http://www.library.up.ac.za/eresources/index.htm> 

Platforms and databases

"Discovery Tools"

Use Google Scholar to find scholarly and peer-reviewed materials.

(Using the Google Scholar search box on the library homepage enables you to find scholarly materials to which we have access in full-text. Please take some time beforehand to check recommendations for your Google Scholar settings on the Access & Discovery subject guide).

Google Scholar Search