Museum Studies/Tangible Heritage Conservation : Articles / Databases

Once you have the full reference of the article you can go to the E-journal list.  Type in the journal title and go to the desired platform.  Choose the year, then the volume and issue number.  Search for your article, click on the pdf version and download the article or send it to your e-mail address.

Tip:  You can also search for the article on Google Scholar.  Type the article title in inverted commas in the Google Scholar line.  If there is a link on the right side you will be able to access the full text.  If you can't find the article please contact your information specialist to request the article.

Step 1:  Go to the library website www.library.up.ac.za

Step 2:  On top of the page under the Search tab scroll down to Databases

Step 3:  Choose a relevant database for your discipline  - eg EbscoHost, Proquest, JSTOR, Taylor and Frances or even Google Scholar

Step 4:  Choose relevant keywords and filter eg. full text, date.  Then search.

Step 5:  Mark the articles which might be useful.  Go to the folder and decide which article(s) you want to use.  

Step 6:  If the article is not available in full text, ask your librarian to do an Interlibrary loan

Grove Art Online: 

The Grove® Dictionary of Art is the unsurpassed authority on all aspects of the visual arts, with 30,000 signed and peer-reviewed articles contributed by nearly 7,000 international scholars. Grove Art features entries on artists, architects, craftsmen, patrons, movements, locations, and periods, as well as bibliographies for further research and thousands of searchable images made available through Oxford’s partnerships with museums, galleries, and other outstanding arts organizations. 

Academic Search Complete:

Multidisciplinary database giving access to the electronic version of articles from more than 8,500 scientific journals of which 7,30 are reread ny a perr review committee.

Africa-Wide Information:

Africa-Wide Information comprises an aggregation of 50 databases sourced from Africa, Europe and North America. Africa-Wide provides comprehensive, multidisciplinary information which documents research and publications by Africans and about Africa. Africa-Wide covers close to 4 million news articles,  scholarly publications articles, books, reports, theses, citations, and grey literature. Records include article abstracts and some full text with keyword indexing to enhance relevant retrieval. The coverage is comprehensive from the 18th century to current and dates back to the 16th century. Africa-Wide Information is an essential resource for those with an interest in African research and publications and for those doing research in an African context, no matter the subject field.

Art & Architecture Source:

Art & Architecture Source is the largest full-text art research database covering fine, decorative, and commercial art, as well as architecture and architectural design.

Arts & Humanities Database: 

The Arts & Humanities Database features over 550 full text titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies. As well as over 460 full text scholarly journals from publishers such as Cambridge University Press, Johns Hopkins University Press, and Springer Nature, it also contains relevant magazines such as Vogue, the New York Times Book Review, and Sight & Sound and trade journals including Publisher’s Weekly and Canadian Architect.

Humanities Index: 

An international abstracting and indexing tool for research in the humanities, the Humanities Index includes over 370 internationally respected humanities journals and weekly magazines published in the UK and other English-speaking countries, as well as quality newspapers published in the UK.

Humanities Source: 

Humanities Source is a valuable full-text database covering literary, scholarly, and creative thought. It provides access to 973 active full-text journals as well as indexing and abstracts for the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities. This includes studies in art, history, communications, culture, literature and philosophy. The database features articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, book reviews, and reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays and more.

JStor:

JSTOR is a digital library offering access to a vast collection of academic journals, books, and primary sources across numerous disciplines, Originally containing digitized back issues of academic journals, it now encompasses books and other primary sources as well as current issues of journals in the humanities and social sciences. 

Sabinet African Journals: 

Sabinet African Journals encompasses the breadth and depth of African research content by offering the most comprehensive, searchable collection of full-text African electronic journals available on one platform. This service, which is easy to use and accessible anytime and anywhere, is a growing service — over 630 journal titles in 10 collections are available for individuals, corporates, universities, government departments, research institutions and law firms.

Sage Journals:

SAGE Journals provides full text access to world-class research journals in health sciences, social sciences, humanities, materials sciences, engineering, life and biomedical sciences. 

Sage Research Methods Database: 

The SAGE Research Methods database is a comprehensive online resource designed to support researchers, faculty, and students in their research projects. It is especially useful for those conducting or learning about research methodologies.

Wiley Online Library:

The Wiley Online Library is a vast digital platform that provides access to scholarly content, including journals, books, reference works, and databases across various disciplines. It covers fields such as science, technology, medicine, humanities, and social sciences, offering peer-reviewed articles and authoritative resources.

• ArchiveGrid: ArchiveGrid includes over 7 million records describing archival materials, bringing together information about historical documents, personal papers, family histories, and more. With over 1,400 archival institutions represented, ArchiveGrid helps researchers looking for primary source materials held in archives, libraries, museums and historical societies.

• Museum Studies Bibliographies: The Museum Studies Bibliographies contains bibliographic citations to information on the role and function, history and philosophy, and nature and structure of museums. Much of this information, drawn from all disciplines and functional perspectives, is contained in materials that are difficult to discover or appear in under-utilized formats

• Canadian Heritage Information Network:  offers valuable collections management resources to the Canadian museum community and online public access to millions of collections records. CHIN assists Canadian museums in documenting, managing, and sharing information about their collections, which in turn ensures that this information is accessible now and in the future.

• American Institute for Conservation Learning Community: The American Institute for Conservation (AIC) is the leading membership association for current and aspiring conservators and allied professionals who preserve cultural heritage. We represent more than 3,500 individuals in more than forty countries around the world working in the domains of science, art, and history through treatment, research, collections care, education, and more. All of them have the same goal: preserve our cultural heritage so we can learn from it today and appreciate it in the future.

The Library has enabled its full text holdings on WorldCat and EBSCO (the Library's OpenURL linking service) in Google Scholar.  Search results display the following University of Pretoria Library links in results, when configured correctly:

• FullText@UP – Links to a University of Pretoria Library’s full text sources through WorldCat.
• EDS@UP – Links to the University of Pretoria Library’s full text sources through EBSCO Discovery Service.
• ProQuest Fulltext – Links to the University of Pretoria Library’s full text sources through ProQuest.

To enable your computer to find the relevant material on Google Scholar, you will have to make the following changes to your settings for Google Scholar when you are off-campus.  On campus users are recognised by their IP and no configuration should be needed.

NOTE:  Settings are not transferrable between https://scholar.google.com/ and https://scholar.google.co.za/.  Settings are also dependent on browser settings and can “disappear/reset” on its own and it is therefore important to always double check your Google Scholar settings.

Follow this link https://scholar.google.co.za/scholar_settings that will direct you to the Library links settings screen for Google Scholar.

From your search results, choose the relevant links on the right hand side, to view the full-text journal articles.  Please note that when accessing licensed library resources, from off-campus, users will be prompted to authenticate as library users.