It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The catalogue search, allows users to search for all types of information related to a given topic. The result will be in different formats depending on what the user searches for. Use the filters on the left side of the results page to filter the results by: years, language, format and even discipline.
Animals Science books shelf / call numbers
NEW BOOKS IN THE LIBRARY
Genetic Improvement of Farmed Animals by Geoff Simm; Geoff Pollott; Raphael A. Mrode; Ross Houston; Karen MarshallComprehensive, yet concise and approachable, Genetic Improvement of Farmed Animals provides a thorough grounding in the basic sciences underpinning current farmed animal breeding practice. Relating science to practical application, it covers all the major farmed animal species: cattle, sheep, goats, poultry, pigs and fish. The book: Provides a comprehensive coverage from genetics, analysis and strategies for improvement to response to selection, new technologies and predicting breeding values; Uses examples in temperate and tropical systems, sustainability and biodiversity to turn theory into practical applications; Outlines current practice and future directions to leave readers completely up to date. Based on the previous bestseller, Genetic Improvement of Cattle and Sheep, this book has been completely revised, expanded and redesigned to be an essential textbook for undergraduate, masters and early postgraduate level students in agriculture, animal and veterinary science.
Call Number: 636.0821 SIMM
Publication Date: 2020-12-23
Mason's World Dictionary of Livestock Breeds, Types and Varieties by Valerie PorterMason's World Dictionary of Livestock Breeds, Types and Varieties, now in its sixth edition, has a long history as a reliable and authoritative source of key livestock breed information. Intended as a list of livestock names and synonyms for breeds, groups, types and varieties worldwide, the dictionary aims to include all names found in the literature, 'defining' each breed or type with a brief indication of identifying characteristics, uses and source of origin. Expanded into a new edition, this established and trusted resource: Extends coverage to include yak and camelids in addition to the existing cattle, sheep, pigs, goats, horses, asses and water buffalo.Features well over 10,000 entries and cross-references on breeds, sub-breeds, types, varieties, strains and lines of species.Covers newly created and now-recognised local breeds documented over the past two decades. An important updated work, Mason's Dictionary forms a useful reference for livestock breeders and academics interested in breeds, as well as national and international organizations with interests in livestock.
Publication Date: 2020-08-03
The Value of Fibre by G. González-Ortiz (Editor); M. R. Bedford (Editor); K. E. Bach Knudsen (Editor); C. M. Courtin (Editor); H. L. Classen (Editor)Dietary fibre has been associated with impaired nutrient utilisation and reduced animal performance. A minimum amount of dietary fibre is required to maintain normal physiological functions in the gastrointestinal tract. This book reviews the latest advances in the understanding of dietary fibre for animal nutrition. Fibre clearly has more value than was once thought. This book attempts to define not only the analytical constraints but also the advances in understanding its role in intestinal development and health in both swine and poultry. It identifies how we can exploit fibre to the advantage of the host. Stimulating the gastrointestinal microbiota (often referred to as the second brain) to digest more fibre creates a more favourable environment for intestinal health. This outcome is especially important in antibiotic free diets. The type of fibre employed, the use of exogenous enzymes and the interaction between them, the gastrointestinal microbiota and the host will be covered in detail throughout the chapters. This book discusses the practical application of this research and has been written for all animal scientists, nutritionists, feed producers and anyone interested in exploring new developments in the understanding of dietary fibre.