Subject Guides: UAL: Unit for Academic Literacy: Know your databases

Databases

EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window EBSCOhost databases and discovery technologies are the most-used, premium online information resources for tens of thousands of institutions worldwide, representing millions of end-users.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
JStor This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ProQuest This link opens in a new window ProQuest’s collections span six centuries, all disciplines and the diverse content types needed by researchers, providing the world’s largest collection of dissertations and theses; three centuries of newspapers; more than 450,000 academic ebooks; collections of important scholarly journals and other content researchers need such as data; and unique digital vaults of primary source materials . ProQuest’s renowned abstracting and indexing enables researchers to find sources in their area of study.
- This link opens in a new window

Find more extensive lists elsewhere in this subject guide:

Go to the Articles tab and click on the Articles: Find an article sub-tab

Go to the Databases tab

Go to the Subject home page of this guide, under Quick access to..., you will find the link to the Humanities Faculty Library homepage). Click on it. You will find the heading Select a Subject related database on your left-hand side of the screen. Click the + sign and choose the relevant subject from the drop-down list.

Added value

Sign In / Create Accounts to all the databases you are regularly using. You will have access to more functions, eg. creating ALERTS, to be notified about new articles being published. You can save your searches as well.

You can also create ALERTS in Google Scholar.

All databases have HELP functions.

GOOGLE SCHOLAR

In order to access UP electronic articles from Google Scholar, you need to adjust your Google Scholar Settings as follow:

Click on the three lines next to the Google Scholar logo.

On the Settings screen, adjust the following settings:

Bibliography Manager

Language
Library

Search box: Pretoria

Choose and

Save

Read more about Google Scholar