Subject Guides: Education: Digital Resources

Repositories

UPSpace (UP Institutional Repository)
A training tool on UPSpace, search for dissertations, theses, and articles published at UP,…. by UP

UPSpace (Institutional Repository)

UP Research Data Repository (Figshare)

Open Educational Resources

This guide aims to make you aware of a number of open educational resources available for use (national and international).

EDUCATION: OPEN EDUCATIONAL RESOURCES

Basics on database searching
Basic information when choosing and searching a database

Ebscohost Basic Search PowerPoint
Sabinet
Service provider for South African content
Google Scholar
How to find articles using Google Scholar
EbscoHost
Finding articles and Eric reports on Google Scholar

SAGE Research Methods

SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new window SAGE Research Methods is a research methods tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects. SAGE Research Methods links over 175,000 pages of SAGE’s renowned book, journal and reference content with truly advanced search and discovery tools.

Sage Research Methods

Databases (Access to articles, cases, dissertations, e-books, reports and more)

African Digital Repository This link opens in a new window Is a central repository for records harvested from the institutional repositories of a number of Southern African and African institutions. Links to the full text are included.
EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window EBSCOhost databases and discovery technologies are the most-used, premium online information resources for tens of thousands of institutions worldwide, representing millions of end-users.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ERIC (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources. The database contains more than 1.3 million records and provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index.
ERIC (Proquest) This link opens in a new window This database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to education-related literature. ERIC provides coverage of journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs.
Emerald Insight This link opens in a new window Emerald's Management collection features over 80,000 articles from over 200 titles. The collection continues to disseminate the latest thinking, from authors at 95 of the Financial Times Top 100 business schools and forms an essential part of the research library at most of these institutions. Our specialist collections in fields such as Education, Engineering, Library Studies and Marketing build on this strength; offering focused international research in a range of subject fields.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
JStor This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ProQuest This link opens in a new window ProQuest’s collections span six centuries, all disciplines and the diverse content types needed by researchers, providing the world’s largest collection of dissertations and theses; three centuries of newspapers; more than 450,000 academic ebooks; collections of important scholarly journals and other content researchers need such as data; and unique digital vaults of primary source materials . ProQuest’s renowned abstracting and indexing enables researchers to find sources in their area of study.
- This link opens in a new window
SA ePublications This link opens in a new window Full-text access to more than 400 journals, with fully searchable articles in PDF format that focus on African content.
SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new window SAGE Research Methods is a research methods tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects. SAGE Research Methods links over 175,000 pages of SAGE’s renowned book, journal and reference content with truly advanced search and discovery tools.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window ScienceDirect is a leading full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from nearly 2,500 journals and more than 30,000 books.
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window SpringerLink is the premier electronic data source from Springer for researchers in biomedicine, life science, clinical medicine, physics, engineering, mathematics, computer science, humanities, social sciences and economics.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Taylor & Francis (Journals) This link opens in a new window Taylor & Francis Group publishes quality peer-reviewed journals under the Routledge and Taylor & Francis imprints.
- This link opens in a new window
Taylor & Francis eBooks This link opens in a new window

Google Scholar and Google Scholar Settings

Google Scholar - Library Links - Settings
Set your Google Scholar settings ensuing full text access

Google Scholar Search Tips

Ensure that your Google Scholar library settings are correct this will enable you to get access to our paid content (fulltext)
Place one concept consisting of two words in “...” e.g. “research methodology”
Use the advanced search option to limit your search

- dated between

- where words should occur

- authored by

- published in

Google Scholar Assistance

E-Dictionaries

Access to dictionaries

A dictionary is "a reference source in print or electronic form containing words usually alphabetically arranged along with information about their forms, pronunciations, functions, etymologies, meanings, and syntactic and idiomatic uses"

Acknowledgement: https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/dictionary