Subject Guides: Modern European Languages (MEL): UP Library Home

News and Announcements

Library Newsletter

Library Newsletter webpage

Poll

Did you find this subject guide useful?

Yes: 30 votes (17.24%)

No: 144 votes (82.76%)

Total Votes: 174

Please send comments about this subject guide to adrienne.warricker@up.ac.za

Welcome

Welcome to the University of Pretoria subject guide for French, German, Portuguese and Spanish, taught in the Department of Modern European Languages (MEL). This guide will provide students, researchers and staff of MEL with access to subject and information resources, and research support.

Quick access to...

Access & Discovery Access & Discovery's purpose is to share documentation that will assist you in discovering and accessing our e-Resources.
more...less...
Prepared and maintained by the System Developers from the UP Libraries.
Access & Lending Fair and easy access to learning and research resources is at the heart of the DLS vision and mission. To be able to fully benefit from all the services, facilities, and resources offered by the library, you need to be a registered client. The Access and Lending Unit assist with that.
Accredited Journals Accredited journals are recognised academic journals which meet specified criteria and therefore qualify for subsidisation by the Department of Higher Education and Training (DHET). To receive subsidy or recognition for an article you have written, you should select a journal that is accredited from one of the lists inluded on this page.
Alumni Guide Welcome to the UP Libraries' Guide for Alumni. UP Alumni have limited access to Library resources depending on your membership category.
Bindery The University of Pretoria has a well-established bindery which offers high-standard and professional binding services to UP staff, students, academic departments as well as private clients. The service can be used for any university-related assignments, articles, and dissertations.
Copyright Copyright procedures & guidelines at University of Pretoria, Department of Library Services.
Databases A-Z Complete list of databases the library subscribes to, including trial access.
Digitisation Digitisation is a wonderful way of increasing access to unique collections that are not readily accessible and visible. Our Digitisation Unit offers an on-demand digitisation service that includes the digitisation and digital preservation of paper documents, photographs, maps, slides and negatives and 3D objects to enable access to and preservation of these collections Please first inquire from your information specialist to avoid disappointment.
Endnote Information on how to start using Endnote X9 with tutorials.
more...less...
EndNote helps you build, publishing and manage your bibliography, citations and references on Windows and Mac.
Humanities Faculty Library homepage webpages Links to Humanities Faculty Library Homepage on Merensky 2 library page
Humanities Open Education Resources Open access (OA) is a set of principles and a range of practices through which research outputs are distributed online, free of cost or other access barriers (Wikipedia).
more...less...
Open educational resources (OER) are freely accessible, openly licensed text, media, and other digital assets that are useful for teaching, learning, and assessing as well as for research purposes. The term OER describes publicly accessible materials and resources for any user to use, re-mix, improve and redistribute under some licenses. (Wikipedia).
Interlending Interlending is a service that can be used to obtain books and articles that are not available at the home library from national and international libraries.
Learning Centre The Learning Centre is at the entrance level of the Merensky 2 building on the main campus. We are your one-stop hub and offer a wide variety of products and services, including virtual and face-2-face assistance and training. We are here to support you with assignments, database searches, and individual and group training with additional online training tutorials.
more...less...
Our training includes, anti-plagiarism, introduction to library products and services and assignment writing. Our virtual services include an online Ask and Chat Service is available for any student who needs efficient, reliable and quick support. You can also contact us on the library mobile phone. No matter where you are or what you prefer, the Learning Centre is always here to make a difference to your academic life.
WorldCat Discovery ("catalogue") Links directly to library catalogue, to search for UP library holdings in advanced search mode.
Library Homepage Links directly to the UP Libraries homepage
ORCiD guide Different methods of how to populate the ORCID will be explained
Plagiarism Prevention The purpose of this page is to inform and support all students and staff concerning anti-plagiarism. The University of Pretoria defines plagiarism as follows: “Plagiarism is the presentation of someone else’s work, words, images, ideas, opinions, discoveries, artwork, music, recordings or computer-generated work (including circuitry, computer programs or software, websites, the Internet or other electronic resources) whether published or not, as one’s own work without properly acknowledging the source” [UP Plagiarism Prevention Page]
more...less...
Training Sessions are offered by request or on Tuesdays and Thursdays
Predatory Publications This guide aims to assist in identifying and avoiding predatory journals.
Prescribed and Recommended Textbooks Welcome to the subject guide for prescribed and recommended textbooks. This guide will introduce you to valuable information on the prescribed and recommended books, as well as the lists itself.
Referencing The importance of referencing: All new knowledge is built on previous knowledge. In academic writing such as assignments, theses, research articles and reports it is standard practice to give an overview of the current knowledge about a topic and to provide evidence to support the points that you make. These ideas will form the foundation for your own arguments and will be integrated into your own work.
Research Data Management Provides information on processes, procedures, and policy with regards to research data management (RDM), as well as access to resources and tools that can support researchers in managing their data.
Researcher Profiles and Identifiers: Improving Research Visibility and Impact: Researcher Profiles Ways to increase visibility, impact, and citations of your published research New ways of communicating scientific discoveries through open science platforms also known as academic profile platforms have emerged for storing, publishing, and disseminating research findings. Researchers as well as research institutions embrace open access and make research as accessible and as open as possible to increase visibility and impact.
Research Guide (Research Commons subject guide) This Guide provides post graduate students (and researchers) with the tips and tools necessary to successfully complete their research.
more...less...
Compiled and updated by the Merensky 2 Library Research Commons staff.
Research Support (webpage) This webpage was compiled by the Merensky 2 Library's Research Commons staff.
Scholarly Communications Scholarly communication can be described as “the system through which research and other scholarly writings are created, evaluated for quality, disseminated to the scholarly community, and preserved for future use (Association of College & Research Libraries). The Scholarly Communications Unit provides services that support the research-intensive needs for research, teaching and learning communities at the University of Pretoria.
Special Needs Clients There is a designated area in the Study Collection Unit in the Library where services are provided to users with special needs. Students must be registered at the Disability Unit in order to make use of this facility in the library. (http://www.up.ac.za/disability-unit)
Subject related databases (webpage) Links to the lists of recommended databases for the Humanities department or programmes.
Training The UP Department of Library Services Training webpage, including training schedule and online tools and videos.
UP Electronic Thesis and Dissertation Submission Guidelines Welcome to the Department of Library Services (DLS) Electronic Thesis/Dissertation Submission Guide. The DLS is committed to provide open access to the University of Pretoria's scholarly outputs by producing simple guidelines for self-submissions.
more...less...
This guide will walk you through the process of submitting your thesis/dissertation to the Library's UPSpace. Follow steps 1-5
UPSpace Links to the UP Open Access Institutional Repository, containing theses and dissertations for African languages.
Worldcat Discovery Training Videos (link to subject guide) Sharing training videos that will assist you with discovering and accessing our resources.

Information Specialist services

Information specialists are subject librarians who render services in the following areas: literature searches, research support, library training, and collection development.

Please request an appointment to see your information specialist by using the Schedule Appointment button in the profile box below, or by clicking on Email Me.

DLS Staff

Adrienne Warricker

Information Specialist

Email Me

Contact:

Merensky 2 Library

+27 (0)12 420 4795

Subjects: African Languages, Afrikaans, Ancient & Modern Languages & Cultures, Creative Writing, English, Humanities, Political Sciences, Translation & Interpreting, Unit for Academic Literacy