3D Interactive Learning Content that will transform your understanding of how anatomy translates to clinical practice
You can download, share, and reuse millions of the Smithsonian’s images and nearly 3 million 2D and 3D digital items, This includes images and data from across the Smithsonian’s 19 museums, nine research centers, libraries, archives, and the National Zoo.
Real 3D Anatomy is a collaboration between Creative Dimension Software Ltd and the Centre for Comparative and Clinical Anatomy at the University of Bristol. On this site you can currently view two 3D presentations of canine (dog) anatomy. The main presentation is a complete 3D dog bone set. Need a Flash enabled browser.
Dr Michelle Lewis, veterinarian and lecturer in the Department of Paraclinical Sciences’ Pathology Section at the Faculty of Veterinary Science, used her experience with dolphin post-mortems to produce this video as a learning tool for students and veterinarians alike. The field of marine mammals is one of the highly specialized areas of veterinary research and medicine, with limited institutions available in South Africa where students may gain experience.
For nearly a century hundreds of thousands of rural livestock farmers in Southern Africa have been kept in a virtual trade lock-down because of Foot-and-Mouth Disease (FMD). The form of FMD that occurs in Southern Africa is in fact a trivial disease and is different from the FMD that occurs in most other parts of the world. Southern Africa urgently needs a new science-based approach to control FMD that will be to the benefit of both our livestock and conservation sectors. This new documentary about FMD, released at the end of April, is dedicated to the memory of Prof Gavin R Thompson, former extraordinary professor (1998-2001 and 2012-2021) in the Faculty’s Department of Veterinary Tropical Diseases (DVTD), who sadly passed away on 23 April 2021. Prof Thompson was an internationally renowned veterinary scientist and an expert on Foot and Mouth Disease and other transboundary diseases. During his time in the department he contributed significantly to publication outputs, postgraduate student supervision and presentation of training workshops on FMD. He also wrote the script for this film, a collaborative effort between the Department, Afrivet, the Peace Parks Foundation (PPF) and Conservation International. It was produced by M&M Pictures.
Veterinary Educational Videos website is collection of online videos for veterinarians, veterinary students and veterinary technicians/nurses.
Sample clips and images on avian diseases and necropsy, bovine diseases and necropsy and peripheral nerve blocks in dogs.
Instructions and short videos on handling small mammals to minimise stress and injury.
This tutorial includes video clips demonstrating health assessment in lab animals and how to recognise pain and distress.
This tutorial includes short videos showing how to assess pain in farm animals, dogs and cats, and laboratory animals, with some advice on analgesia.
Video clips of conditions, with diagnosis, designed to accompany the text 'Veterinary neuroanatomy and clinical neurology'.
Video clips of eye surgery to accompany the text 'Veterinary ophthalmic surgery' by Gelatt & Gelatt.
*Enable Adobe flash player to use
This company sells ultrasound equipment. Their site includes videos, articles, booklets and tables on pregnancy and ultrasound in sheep and cattle.
This company sells ultrasound equipment. It has short instructional videos demonstrating abdominal ultrasound.
This company sells ultrasound equipment. Instructional videos on cardiac ultrasound exams.
These short videos capture 19 communication skills that can be effectively interwoven throughout the veterinarian/client consultation, and incorporate good and bad points of practice.
Christene Seegers is one of the few biomedical artists in South Africa. She made a large collection of biomedical illustrations of wild and domestic animals while she was employed in the Department of Anatomy of the Faculty of Veterinary Science, Onderstepoort.
A selection of slides created by lecturers in the Section of Pharmacology & Toxicology, Dept of Paraclinical Sciences, University of Pretoria. The focus of the collection is the botanical description and distribution of the plants in Southern Africa and also the clinical signs, necropsy, syndromes and treatment of affected animals.
American Society of Animal Science
DPDx is a website developed and maintained by CDC’s Division of Parasitic Diseases and Malaria (DPDM). DPDx uses the Internet to strengthen diagnosis of parasitic diseases, both in the United States and abroad. This interactive and rapid exchange of information, allied with already available diagnostic reference resources, will enhance the capacity to address the global problem of parasitic diseases.
Cornell University, Department of Animal Science
J. Carl Fox, PhD. Oklahoma State University College of Veterinary Medicine
Pathological photographs and a few videos
University of Illinois College of Veterinary Medicine
Washington State University, College of Veterinary Medicine
Animals, crops, fruits and vegetables, insects and lab work.
An open access biomedical image search engine from the National Library of Medicine.
Free, online collection of vet anatomy resources led by the Royal Veterinary College.
From Iowa State University (Dr. Alexander zur Linden)
Includes drawings and dissection images
Color images designed as a supplement to the text Rooney's Guide to the Dissection of the Horse
From University of Minnesota- includes carnivore and ungulate gross anatomy, developmental anatomy, neuroanatomy and planar MRI and CT anatomy
From University College Dublin- includes 115 anatomical images (courtesy of Dr. Pat McCarthy)
Excellence in dermatology is a comprehensive resource of clinical information and education materials. We are committed to bringing you clinically relevant knowledge that is evidence based, insights from the top dermatology experts, and easily accessible, self-paced materials.
Images and information from several of the world's largest collections of well-preserved, sectioned and stained brains of mammals, principally those at the University of Wisconsin-Madison and Michigan State University.
The Minnesota College of Veternary Medicine offers the courseware freely to the international community to promote inter-institutional sharing of veterinary instructional resources.
A website devoted to the interesting and often unique biology of the goat and the organisms that call the goat their home.
The Visual Guides of Animal Reproduction, originally known as The Drost Project, began as a collection of images compiled by Maarten Drost over a period of 30+ years as a theriogenologist. The purpose of the Visual Guides of Animal Reproduction is to share these visual images with students and colleagues and other professionals around the globe. The guide focused on bovine reproduction, bubaline (water buffalo) reproduction, equine (horse) reproduction, ovine (sheep) reproduction, porcine (pig) reproduction, caprine (goat) reproduction, and canine (dog) reproduction.
The official website of the GNU Image Manipulation Program (GIMP). GIMP is a free image editor. The software provides the tools needed for high quality image manipulation.
Free video editor and slideshow maker for Windows. Easy to use professional editing tools.