Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Veterinary Science Open Access Resources: Datasets, Databases and Repositories

This LibGuide provides information relevant to Veterinary Science open educational resources and open access

Datasets, Databases and Repositories

Search Engines

OA/OER Wiki

Datasets

  • Mendeley Data

    Mendeley Data is a secure cloud-based repository where you can store your data, ensuring it is easy to share, access and cite, wherever you are. Browse datasets.

  • OECD iLibrary

    OECD iLibrary contains all the publications and datasets released by OECD (Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development), International Energy Agency (IEA), Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), OECD Development Centre, PISA (Programme for International Student Assessment), and International Transport Forum (ITF) since 1998 - currently.

  • Systema Naturae

    Systema Naturae is a web platform and index research datasets and conservation projects on wildlife . Systema Naturae believe in open data and the datasets on the website are either submitted by people from across the world or indexed by a web crawler which searches the internet actively for research datasets and projects.

  • Natural History Museum Data Portal

    The Data Portal provides open access to important research datasets produced by Museum scientists as well as digitised objects from the Museum's specimen collection. By releasing these datasets freely online, the Museum enables researchers from anywhere in the world to access and use the data in their own research. It allows anyone to explore, download and reuse the data for their own research. Our natural history collection is one of the most important in the world, documenting 4.5 billion years of life, the Earth and the solar system. Almost all animal, plant, mineral and fossil groups are represented.

Portals

  • EU Open Data Portal

    The European Union Open Data Portal (EU ODP) gives you access to open data published by EU institutions and bodies. All the data you can find via this catalogue are free to use and reuse for commercial or non-commercial purposes.

  • RCVS Knowledge

    RCVS Knowledge is a charity that provides free tools, resources and education to support thousands of veterinary professionals to deliver high-quality evidence-based medicine to millions of animals. We provide access to veterinary research, quality improvement resources and historical collections.

  • WAHIS (World Animal Health Information System)

    To enable free access to world animal health data, the OIE provides Internet users with several computer tools designed to answer specific user needs. This portal provides easy access to these tools, for more accurate results while searching for world animal health information.

Databases

  • Agricola

    AGRICOLA is an online database created and maintained by the United States National Agricultural Library of the United States Department of Agriculture.

  • PubMed

    PubMed is a free search engine accessing primarily the MEDLINE database of references and abstracts on life sciences and biomedical topics.

  • The Veterinary Medical Databases (VMDB)

    VMDB has collected data on animal diseases since 1964 through member hospitals at North American Veterinary Colleges. The current database located at the University of Missouri, College of Veterinary Medicine stores abstracts of more than 7 million hospital records that are a compendium of all the cases at 26 universities.Currently contributing member institutions have unlimited access for searching. Non contributing member and non-member searches are available for a fee upon written request for specific topics.

  • World Animal Health Information Database (WAHIS)

    The WAHIS Interface provides access to all data held within the World Organization for Animal Health(OIE) new World Animal Health Information System (WAHIS) after 2004. It replaces and significantly extends the former web interface (Handistatus II System) that contains the pre-2005 data. Country-specific information includes including exceptional disease event reports, animal health status, veterinary services, population, vaccinations. Data can also be approached by control measures or disease and visualized as disease distribution and outbreak maps.

  • Zoo Animal Databases and Associations

    The Zoological Information Management System (ZIMS) is the updated version of the International Species Inventory System (ISIS) listing the inventories of every zoo which is a member of the system. You can make a specific inquiry for the species you are interested in via email.  They link to the Global Species : Institutions and Zoos collection created from the ISIS records up to the last year they were publicly available (2011) which can only by searched by zoo, not by species. The lists contain various errors due to mistakes in the ISIS records

  • Approved Animal Drug Products (Green Book)

    The Generic Animal Drug and Patent Restoration act requires that each sponsor of an approved animal drug must submit to the FDA certain information regarding patents held for the animal drug or its method of use. As of June 8, 2017, all Green Book reports are updated in their entirety on a monthly basis and are located on the Animal Drugs @ FDA website

  • Consultant

    A diagnostic support system for veterinary medicine created and curated by Dr. Maurice E. White.

  • Shelter Animals Count, the National Database

    Shelter Animals Count exists to create an effective infrastructure for complete and accurate shelter reporting from more than 4000 shelters. It is a collaborative initiative formed by a diverse group of stakeholders to create and share a national database of sheltered animal statistics, providing facts, and enabling insights.  They publish data reports as well as provide a database for registered users. The data matrix looks at live intakes for Dogs and Cats and rolls up data into core intake and outcome types. Exploring the data uses Tableau to view and interact with shelter and rescue data, demographic and economic data by community and organization.

  • Dryad

    Dryad hosts research data underlying scientific and medical publications, as well as researcher-submitted data, many of which involve animals and medicine. Data are linked both to and from the corresponding publication and, where appropriate, to and from select specialized data repositories (e.g. GenBank). Includes many types of files (e.g., text, spreadsheets, video, photographs, software code) including compressed archives of multiple files.

  • National Animal Health Monitoring System (NAHMS)

    Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service, U.S. Department of Agriculture: The USDA maintains many relevant surveys and data sets specific to animal health. The NAHMS Program Unit conducts national studies on the health and health management of United States domestic livestock and poultry populations and makes the findings available as public reports in PDF.

  • Animal Quantitative Trait Loci

    Designed to house all publically available QTL and trait mapping data (i.e. trait and genome location association data; collectively called "QTL data" on this site) on livestock animal species. Part of the National Animal Genome Research Program.

  • Livestock Library

    This resource was developed by the Sheep CRC and the Beef CRC and is now managed by AGBU (Animal Genetics and Breeding Unit by the New South Wales State Department of Agriculture and the University of New England). It provides one-stop access to a wide range of Australian research publications, conference proceedings and reports on sheep and cattle research.

  • Movebank

    Movebank is a free, online database of animal tracking data hosted by the Max Planck Institute of Animal Behavior. We help animal tracking researchers to manage, share, protect, analyze and archive their data.

  • Invasive Species Compendium

    A constantly developing encyclopaedic resource covering invasive species threatening livelihoods and the environment worldwide. ISC contains datasheets on over 1500 invasive species and animal diseases including information on countries, habitats and pathways. There is also a bibliographic database of over 65,000 records

  • CABI One Health Cases: Real life examples of One Health in practice

    CABI One Health Cases is a curated collection of real-life examples of One Health in practice, stressing the interconnections between humans, animals, plants, ecosystems, and their shared environment in a truly transdisciplinary way. A database of educational, practical cases, it will be an invaluable resource for students, teachers, academics, public stakeholders, and industry practitioners. Case studies cover important and contemporary topics in One Health. They focus on practical approaches to solving problems, spanning animal health, human health, environmental health, plant sciences and sociological issues. They consider research methodologies and, with accompanying data, show the real impact of One Health in practice. Each case study highlights the value added by a One Health and transdisciplinary approach. They show how an integrated view, bringing together interaction of stakeholders from different backgrounds, can help tackle the biggest problems faced by the world today. Cases summarise learning outcomes, and reflect on both successes and challenges encountered throughout.

  • CABI Open Access Services

    The CABI Open Access programme makes key tools and research freely available, in order to contribute to their mission of solving problems in agriculture and the environment.

  • OpenAlex

    OpenAlex is a comprehensive open catalog of the global research system - scholarly papers, authors, institutions, and more. It is named after the ancient Library of Alexandria. The OpenAlex dataset describes scholarly entities and how those entities are connected to each other. The database, which launched on 3 January 2022, is a replacement for Microsoft Academic Graph (MAG), a free alternative to subscription-based platforms such as Scopus, Dimensions and Web of Science 

Repositories