Veterinary Science Open Access Resources: Apps, Calculators and Formularies

These apps and calculators have not been tested by the Jotello F. Soga  Library staff. This is just a list of what is freely available to download

• VetCalculators

  Vetcalculators is a collection of drug dosage calculators for veterinarians and technicians. It includes calculators for emergency and anesthetic drugs, Constant Rate Infusions (CRI's) (single drug, multiple drug and loading doses), IV fluid rates, chocolate toxicity, calorie requirements, blood transfusions and unit conversion calculators, including weight, temperature, body surface area, mg to ug, cc's to ounces's, cm's to inches.

• Veterinary Anesthesia & Analgesia Support Group Drug Delivery Calculators

  You will find calculators for CRI/MCI drug administration (both IV fluids based and syringe pump based infusions), epidural drug administration, total intravenous anesthesia (alfaxan, propofol, & fentanyl/midazolam), emergency drugs, blood pressure related drug administration, local anesthetic blocks, and IM based anesthesia.

• Veterinary Emergency Drug Calculator

  From Colorado State University.

• Plumb’s Veterinary Drugs

  Plumb’s Veterinary Drugs, accessible on your tablet, smartphone, and computer, is continually updated so you have the most current information available to help you make more informed drug decisions.

• The Merck Veterinary Manual
  "Contains authoritative guidelines for the diagnosis, treatment, and prevention of animal disorders and diseases. For companion, production, exotic, and laboratory animals."
  Available for: iOS | Android  (Free)

• Compendium of Veterinary Products (CVP)
  "CVP features over 5,000 pharmaceutical, biological, feed medication and parasiticide product monographs."
  Available for: iOS  (Free)

• Timeless Vet Drug Index 
  "Evidence-based veterinary drug formulary authored by Dr. Etienne Côté, Dr. Stephen Ettinger, and Dr. Wayne Schwark." 
  Available for: iOS | Android  (Free)

• Vetivex Flow Rate Calculator
  "Provides assistance in calculating IV fluid requirements and infusion rates for dogs, cats and horses for veterinary professionals.  This IV Fluid Flow Rate Calculator assists in generating a fluid plan by using parameters that assess hypovolemia, dehydration, ongoing losses and physiologic fluid requirements."
  Available for: iOS | Android  (Free)

• Animals Diseases Encyclopedia
  "Veterinary medicine is the branch of medicine that deals with the prevention, diagnosis and treatment of disease, disorder and injury in non-human animals. The scope of veterinary medicine is wide, covering all animal species, both domesticated and wild, with a wide range of conditions which can affect different species."
  Available for:Android  (Free)

• Hagyard Pharmacy Mobile Formulary 
  "Contains equine drug indications, administration amount, route, and frequency for over 120 medications." 
  Available for: iOS (Free)
• Foal CPR 
  "A unique resource detailing at birth foal CPR for veterinarians and horse owners." 
  Available for: iOS  (Free)

• TARGET (Vet) 
  "The Veterinary Antimicrobial Reference Guide to Effective Treatment. For treating microbial infections in small animals." 
  Available for: iOS | Android  (Free)
• Dog CPR 
  "Features detailed notes, pictures, and a drugs table, and provides up to date information to help veterinarians perform successful CPR on their canine patients." 
  Available for: iOS  (Free)
• Pet First Aid - Red Cross 
  Contains veterinary advice for dog and cat emergencies. Includes videos, quizzes, and step-by-step advice. Developed in consultation with Penn Vet's Dr. Deborah C. Mandel.
  Available for: iOS | Android  (Free)
• Zoetis IV Fluid Volume Calculator 
  "Calculate Total Volume of Crystalloid Fluids for dogs and cats going under Fluid Therapy. Includes Deficit Volume, Normal Ongoing Losses, Abnormal Ongoing Losses calculation." 
  Available for: iOS  (Free)
• MN Urolith
  "The Minnesota Urolith Center, in partnership with Hill’s Pet Nutrition, provides complementary urolith analysis and science supported treatment recommendations to veterinarians worldwide. The application is exclusively for veterinarians and veterinary support staff. It requires an existing account on the main system at www.urolithcenter.org. Use the same email and password to access the iPhone application, enabling convenient viewing of the status of recent submissions." 
  Available for: iOS  (Free)

• Vet's Guide to Residue Avoidance Management (VetGRAM) 
  "Information resource for drugs approved in food-producing animal species. Includes approved drug uses, government restrictions, required withdrawal times and tolerances." 
  Available for: iOS | Android  (Free)
• ThermalAid 
  "A tool to identify, monitor, and reduce heat stress in cattle to improve welfare and performance." 
  Available for: iOS (Free)

• ExotiKeeper

  "This app helps you organize your exotic pet collection. Keep track of your pets' molt/shed dates, feeding schedules and a lot more!"
  Available for: Android  (Free)