Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Essential Ethnographic Methods by
Publication Date: 2012-10-01
This is Book 3 of 7 in the Ethnographer's Toolkit, Second Edition. Essential Ethnographic Methods introduces the fundamental, face-to-face data collection tools that ethnographers and other qualitative researchers use on a regular basis. It provides ethnographers with tools to answer the principal ethnographic questions about setting, participants, activities, behavior, and more. The essential "mixed" methods for collecting data include open-ended and focused listening, questioning strategies, participant and non-participant observation, recording techniques, visual recall, mapping the environments and contexts in which participant behavior occurs, and engaging in ethnographically informed survey research. Because these data collection strategies require ethnographers to become involved in the local cultural setting and to acquire their experience through hands-on experience, the essential tools also allow them to learn about new situations from the perspective of an "insider." With these detailed instructions, the quality and scope of the data ethnographers collect are sure to be improved. Other books in the set: Book 1: Designing and Conducting Ethnographic Research: An Introduction, Second Edition by Margaret D. LeCompte and Jean J. Schensul 9780759118690 Book 2: Initiating Ethnographic Research: A Mixed Methods Approach by Stephen L. Schensul, Jean J. Schensul, and Margaret D. LeCompte 9780759122017 Book 4: Specialized Ethnographic Methods: A Mixed Methods Approach edited by Jean J. Schensul and Margaret D. LeCompte 9780759122055 Book 5: Analysis and Interpretation of Ethnographic Data: A Mixed Methods Approach, Second Edition by Margaret D. LeCompte and Jean J. Schensul 9780759122079 Book 6: Ethics in Ethnography: A Mixed Methods Approach by Margaret D. LeCompte and Jean J. Schensul 9780759122093 Book 7: Ethnography in Action: A Mixed Methods Approach by Jean J. Schensul and Margaret D. LeCompte 9780759122116
Ethnography Essentials by
Publication Date: 2010-01-19
A comprehensive and practical guide to ethnographic research, thisbook guides you through the process, starting with the fundamentalsof choosing and proposing a topic and selecting a research design.It describes methods of data collection (taking notes, participantobservation, interviewing, identifying themes and issues, creatingethnographic maps and tables and charts, and referring to secondarysources) and analyzing and writing ethnography (sorting and codingdata, answering questions, choosing a presentation style, andassembling the ethnography). Although content is focused onproducing written ethnography, many of the principles and methodsdiscussed here also apply to other forms of ethnographicpresentation, including ethnographic film. Designed to give basic hands-on experience in the overallethnography research process, Ethnography Essentials coversa wealth of topics, enabling anyone new to ethnography research tosuccessfully explore the excitement and challenges of fieldresearch.
Handbook of Ethnography by
Publication Date: 2001-03-22
`This wonderful Handbook establishes the central, and complex place ethnography now occupies in the human disciplines. All future work will begin here. This Handbook will soon become required reading for all scholars and graduate students who wish to be knowledgeable in this complex field of inquiry. This is a stunning accomplishment. The field owes the editors and their contributors a major debt of thanks' - Norman K Denzin, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign`A marvellous achievement! The Handbook has all the marks of a winner - compelling writing, comprehensive coverage and very useful discussions. This is a real benchmark for ethnography. It will set the background for debate and point to ne
Research Practice for Cultural Studies by
Publication Date: 2003-01-01
'This is an Excellent textbook and a valuable addition to the growing field of 'how to' books providing advice and guidance for practitioners and students wishing to undertake fieldwork of an ethnographic nature.... this books deserves to be high on your reading list' - Active Learning in Higher Education `Gray's book tells us an important story, starting from the epistemological and methodological background of a number of key studies in the Birgmingham tradition, it explores how to make use of these research experiences and how to deploy "experience" as a tool for research' - Roberta Sassatelli, School of Economic and Social Studies, University of East Anglia How is culture `lived'? What are the best ways of investigating cultural life? This timely, assured and accessible book has three objectives. First, it seeks to give a critical selective account of the main ethnographic methods that have influenced cultural studies. Second, it offers practical guidance on the craft of research, from formulating a topic to presenting it in written form. Third, it provides help with key questions of evaluative criteria and values in the research process. This is one of the first cultural studies books to address the question of the research process in detail. Students who want to do empirical research will find the book to be an indispensable resource that will enable them to focus on the correct issues and ask the right questions for effective research. The book develops a set of research practices that are appropriate to a critical understanding of culture, power and everyday life. It will rapidly establish itself as the lecturer's stand-by and the student's friend for all issues relating to qualitative research in cultural studies.
Understanding Qualitative Research and Ethnomethodology by
Publication Date: 2004-01-01
Understanding Qualitative Research and Ethnomethodology provides a discussion of qualitative research methods from an ethnomethodological perspective. Detailed yet concise, Paul ten Have's text explores the complex relation between the more traditional methods of qualitative social research and the discipline of ethnomethodology. It draws on examples from both ethnomethodological studies and the wider field of qualitative research to discuss critically an array of methods for qualitative data collection and analysis. With a student-friendly structure, this engaging book will be an invaluable resource for both students and researchers across the social sciences.