Auditory-Verbal Therapy: for Young Children with Hearing Loss and Their Families and the Practitioners Who Guide Them by
Summary Provides a comprehensive examination of auditory-verbal therapy (AVT), from theory to evidence-based practice intended for AVT practitioners, administrators, teachers of children with hearing loss, special educators, audiologists, speech-language pathologists, psychologists, surgeons, primary care physicians, and parents.
Children with Disabilities, Seventh Edition by
Access the NEW ONLINE COMPANION MATERIALS now! Comprehensive, authoritative information from the most respected experts: For 30 years, that's what Children with Disabilities has given the thousands of students, faculty, and professionals who rely on it. Now this trusted text is in a NEW seventh edition, thoroughly updated with the very latest research, new instructor materials, and the critical issues professionals need to know as they prepare to work with children and families. Incorporating 5 years of significant research and progress in multiple disciplines, this highly anticipated new edition is the textbook of choice for courses on disability. The internationally respected editors bring together a who's who of contributors--of seasoned experts and fresh voices--definitive compendium of information about developmental, clinical, family, education, and intervention issues. WHAT'S NEW All-new chapters on diagnosis, neuropsychological assessment, "new" disabilities faced by survivors of previously fatal disorders, and complementary and alternative medicine New multimedia instructor materials online, including high-quality downloadable medical illustrations 30+ new contributors from diverse fields Expanded chapters on autism and ADHD New developments in neuroscience, genetics, and imaging Greater focus on interdisciplinary collaboration Considerations from drafts of the DSM-5 Thoroughly updated content in every chapter PowerPoint slides for each chapter, easy to customize for courses Children with Disabilities retains and strengthens the student-friendly features of previous editions: concise and accessible chapters, a helpful glossary, chapter overviews, case studies that bring key concepts to life, extensive cross-referencing to make information easy to find, and resource lists for every topic. And with the complete package of new multimedia instructor materials, instructors will use this textbook effectively in their courses and prepare students for years of successful practice. An unparalleled text from the leading voices in the disability field, Children with Disabilities is the cornerstone resource future professionals will keep year after year to support their important work with children and families.
Children with Hearing Loss by
A framework for the skills and knowledge necessary to help parents promote spoken language development through listening in to their young children who are deaf or hard of hearing. The book covers the most current information on hearing, listening, spoken language development and intervention for young children with hearing loss.
Comprehensive Handbook of Pediatric Audiology, Second Edition by
The Comprehensive Handbook of Pediatric Audiology, Second Edition is the most wide-ranging and complete work of its kind, and has become the definitive reference in the specialty area of pediatric audiology. Content areas range from typical auditory development, to identification and diagnostic processes, to medical and audiologic management of childhood hearing and ear disorders. An interdisciplinary assembly of sixty-six internationally recognized experts from the fields of audiology, speech-language pathology, education, pediatric medicine, otology, and hearing science have contributed to this second edition. Building from the success of the first edition, and aligning with the evolution of the profession, this edition expands and deepens its coverage of early identification of hearing loss, etiology and medical considerations, and hearing technologies, especially implantable devices and the measurement of outcomes resulting from intervention. The Comprehensive Handbook of Pediatric Audiology, Second Edition is intended for use in doctoral-level education programs in audiology or hearing science, as well as to serve as an in-depth reference source for practicing audiologists and other professionals, educators, scientists, and policy makers seeking current and definitive information on evidence-based pediatric audiology practice. - Publisher.
Educational Audiology Handbook by
Educational Audiology Handbook, Third Edition, offers a roadmap for audiologists who work in schools or other providers who support school-based audiology services. As the gold standard text in the field, the handbook provides guidelines and blueprints for creating and maintaining high-quality educational audiology programs. Educational audiologists will also find guidance for achieving full integration into a school staff. Within this comprehensive and practical resource, there are a range of tools, including assessment guidelines, protocols and forms, useful information for students, families, school staff, and community partners, as well as legal and reference documents. New to the Third Edition All chapters revised to reflect current terminology and best practices A new feature called "Nuggets from the Field" which offers practical information from experienced educational audiologists currently working in school settings Revised and updated chapter on legislative and policy essentials Latest perspectives on auditory processing deficits Contemporary focus on student wellness and social competence Expanded information and resources for access to general education Updated perspectives on hearing loss prevention New information on the development of remote audiology practices Materials and recommendations to support interprofessional collaboration Updated and more comprehensive technology information with multiple handouts and worksheets Resources for students in all current learning environments Expanded focus on coaching to support students and school staff
Foundations of Aural Rehabilitation by
The best-selling textbook, Foundations of Aural Rehabilitation: Adults, Children, and Their Families, Fifth Edition, introduces the fundamentals of audiologic rehabilitation and hearing-related speech-language pathology in an easy-to-read, concise resource for the field of communication sciences and disorders. The text offers creative coverage of theory, clinical practice, and research-based approaches for identifying, diagnosing, and treating hearing and communication-based disorders. The text is separated into three sections for the most comprehensive coverage of each topic: Part 1 describes the components of an aural rehabilitation plan, Part 2 concerns adults and their family members, and Part 3 concerns children and their parents. Important topics throughout include patient-centered services, counseling, selection and fitting of listening devices, conversational fluency and communication strategies training, auditory training, speechreading, and language and speech acquisition. New to the Fifth Edition: Reorganization of chapters from two to three sections, to streamline the presentation of the material Expanded presentation of research designs and principles of evidence-based practice State-of-the-science review of the most current research in auditory training and audiovisual speech perception Updated information and references to reflect emerging trends in speech and language therapy, along with practical examples of lessons Improved and expanded number of figures that illustrate and illuminate key concepts and ideas Key Features: Text is written by a nationally and internationally recognized expert in aural rehabilitation, who is an active researcher in the areas of auditory training, speechreading, and communication strategies, and who writes in an engaging and clear style Chapters begin with Chapter Outlines and end with Key Chapter Points and Terms and Concepts to Remember Numerous case studies, sidebars, and text boxes Bolded key terms in text with definitions in margins, and a comprehensive end-of-book glossary
Introduction to Audiologic Rehabilitation by
What students and clinicians need to know about the most recent advances in the changing state of audiology is presented in this accessible resource. Included is coverage of important contemporary issues such as professional practice documents, evidence based practice, multicultural issues, and advances in computer and web-based rehabilitation activities. Written by a renowned team of experts and highly regarded in the field, Introduction to Audiologic Rehabilitation, 6/e is a reader-friendly, well-organized, cohesive treatment based on a proven model, framed within the concepts of the World Health Organization.
Introduction to Aural Rehabilitation by
i>Introduction to Aural Rehabilitation, Third Edition provides comprehensive preparation for future audiology and speech-language pathology professionals to serve children and adults with hearing loss. The information is presented in a logical and readable sequence by first introducing the nature of aural rehabilitation, and then discussing considerations for children, adults, and older adults with impaired hearing. This thoroughly updated third edition includes the latest research and findings for each chapter topic: from hearing aid technology, non-hearing aid assistive technology, cochlear implant surgery and benefits, to techniques in speech and language development on behalf of children with impaired hearing and techniques for adult aural rehabilitation. Each chapter is authored by internationally recognized authorities on the topics of working with those with impaired hearing, hearing aids for children and adults, the influence of hearing impairment on communication, family counseling, educational management, cochlear implantation, and many others. Introduction to Aural Rehabilitation highlights the most important clinical and practical aspects of providing aural rehabilitation services, while avoiding the technical detail of theoretical texts. Key Features Contributions from more than 15 experts in the field of aural rehabilitation Chapter outlines begin each chapter and highlight key topics 15+ appendices with materials and scales for communication assessments New to the Third Edition All chapters have been significantly revised, including updated and expanded references The latest information on cochlear implantation for children, surgical procedures and benefits, hearing aids, and non-hearing aid assistive listening devices Updated end-of-chapter study questions for use as test materials or as quizzes to test student retention of information
Patient and Family-Centered Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology by
A how-to-guide on providing an evidence-based, patient- and family-centered care service in speech-language pathology and audiology Patient and family-centered care is a vital component of improving treatment satisfaction and measurable success. Patient and Family-Centered Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology focuses on teaching speech-language pathology and audiology students how to develop and incorporate this model into everyday practice. Carly Meyer, Nerina Scarinci, Louise Hickson, and an impressive array of international authors share personal experiences and pearls that prepare students with both scientific evidence and practical information for implementation. The content reflects a cross-collaborative approach, with contributions from speech-language pathologists and audiologists, as well as other health professionals including psychologists and occupational therapists. Key Features: Professional topics including preparation and planning for patient- and family-centered care in the practice setting, needs assessments, multidisciplinary collaboration, and cultural and linguistic diversity Real-life cases, description of evidence-based patient outcomes, and firsthand insights included in each chapter Learning objectives, boxed features such as student activities and helpful tips, questions for consideration, and end of chapter summaries enhance retention and integration of knowledge 29 video case examples that include interviews with patients, families, and clinicians, as well as demonstrations of patient- and family-centered care in action This book includes complimentary access to a digital copy on https://medone.thieme.com.
Pediatric audiology casebook by
"Leverages real-life cases to foster in-depth understanding of pediatric audiology. Pediatric Audiology Casebook, Second Edition is fully updated with more than 60 new cases presented in four sections, covering all facets of the diagnosis and management of hearing disorders in children. Renowned experts Jane R. Madell, Carol Flexer and rising stars Jace Wolfe and Erin C. Schafer have compiled an impressive compendium of basic to complex diagnostic cases, covering the most salient topics in the field. The book effectively bridges the gap between content knowledge and clinical application, enabling readers to put acquired theory into active practice by engaging in problem-based learning. Key Features - All cases include key information for diagnosing and managing pediatric patients : clinical history, audiologic testing, evaluative reader questions, thought-provoking answers, definitive diagnosis, recommended treatment options, and final outcome - Expanded use of cochlear implants including implant performance issues - Overcoming challenges from family non-compliance and complicated mapping to professional collaboration and multidisciplinary assessments. Paired with the best-selling textbook Pediatric Audiology: Diagnosis, Technology, and Management, Third Edition, this robust classroom duo is an essential resource for instructors and students alike. Acquire in-depth knowledge from the textbook, apply it to practical case studies, and achieve deeper understanding of the full spectrum of pediatric audiology"--Provided by publisher.
Assessing Infants and Preschoolers with Handicaps by