Handbook of Clinical Audiology by
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2021! Prepare your graduate students for their careers in audiology with Katz's Handbook of Clinical Audiology, Seventh Edition. This go-to resource was developed by an unsurpassed team of editors and authors, whose expertise in research and clinical practice spans all core areas of clinical audiology. Packed with new research, relevant case studies, and today's best practices, the Seventh Edition has been extensively revised and updated throughout and features six all-new chapters, updated research, a streamlined table of contents, and new online teaching and learning resources to save you time and help your students succeed. Instructor Resources: NEW! A Test Bank with 460 questions to make creating exams faster and easier NEW! Chapter by chapter image bank containing over 340 images great for creating personalized course material. Student Resources: NEW! On-line case studies that bring audiology concepts to life. Expanded References and Additional Readings that facilitate further exploration of topics of interest. eBook available for purchase
Introduction to Audiology by
The leading text for the introduction to hearing and hearing disorders course required of all Speech Language Pathology and Audiology majors. Introduction to Audiology, Tenth Edition,provides in-depth coverage of the physics of sound, anatomy, and physiology of the auditory system; causes and treatment of hearing and balance disorders; and relevant diagnostic and therapeutic techniques. It emphasizes the proper evaluation of hearing disorders and the treatment avenues available for these disorders. The accompanying CD-ROM features a variety of video vignettes depicting clinical topics, a series of clinical case studies to examine students' abilities to synthesize diagnostic findings and develop cogent management recommendations, multiple format interactive exercises for students to evaluate their comprehension of information, printable clinical forms, and much more. HIGHLIGHTS OF THE TENTH EDITION: NEW"Evolving Case Studies"feature follows select disorders through diagnosis and recommended treatment paralleling students' mastery of key concepts. This new addition to the pedagogy will enhance students' understanding of comprehensive patient management from case history through discharge. NEW updated discussionsin the important areas ofamplificationandinfant hearing. NEWexpansion and clarification ofclinical masking procedures. NEWdiscussion of recent developments in themanagement of auditory processing disorders. NEW sectionon therole of the audiologist in vestibular management, as well asmore on audiologic counseling.
Clinical Audiology by
The third edition of Clinical Audiology: An Introduction provides a comprehensive enhancement of all the introductory material available in previous editions of this stimulating textbook. Students can gain an understanding of the scope of the field of audiology and feel prepared to dive deeper into the subject as they progress through their courses. This essential book, now with even more exciting content and features, focuses on the clinical nature of audiology to familiarize students with the many challenging questions encountered by an audiologist. This textbook is intended primarily for beginning-level students in the fields of audiology and speech-language pathology. It is intended for the first major courses in audiology, whether it be at the undergraduate or graduate level. Whether your goal is to pursue a career as an audiologist or a speech-language pathologist, Clinical Audiology: An Introduction, Third Edition is the most comprehensive, accessible book available to provide you with the clinical understanding to advance in your chosen field. New to the Third Edition New coauthor: Virginia Ramachandran, MSW, AuD, PhD Two new chapters on implantable hearing technology and hearing assistive and connectivity technologies Updated descriptions of hearing disorders and their causes Expanded focus on diagnostic approach strategies Expanded audiological treatment section Updated hearing aid technology and verification approaches An introduction to vestibular system assessment Key Features Learning objectives at the beginning of each chapter preview the concepts to be discussed. End of chapter discussion questions aid students in applying concepts. End of chapter summaries outline the key points from the chapter improve retention Margin notes provide key terms and definitions. Clinical notes describe particular techniques students might consider using Comprehensive glossary and index
Web Resources
Educational Audiology Handbook by
Educational Audiology Handbook, Third Edition, offers a roadmap for audiologists who work in schools or other providers who support school-based audiology services. As the gold standard text in the field, the handbook provides guidelines and blueprints for creating and maintaining high-quality educational audiology programs. Educational audiologists will also find guidance for achieving full integration into a school staff. Within this comprehensive and practical resource, there are a range of tools, including assessment guidelines, protocols and forms, useful information for students, families, school staff, and community partners, as well as legal and reference documents. New to the Third Edition All chapters revised to reflect current terminology and best practices A new feature called "Nuggets from the Field" which offers practical information from experienced educational audiologists currently working in school settings Revised and updated chapter on legislative and policy essentials Latest perspectives on auditory processing deficits Contemporary focus on student wellness and social competence Expanded information and resources for access to general education Updated perspectives on hearing loss prevention New information on the development of remote audiology practices Materials and recommendations to support interprofessional collaboration Updated and more comprehensive technology information with multiple handouts and worksheets Resources for students in all current learning environments Expanded focus on coaching to support students and school staff
Cochlear Implants for Kids by 
Auditory-Verbal Therapy: for Young Children with Hearing Loss and Their Families and the Practitioners Who Guide Them by
Summary Provides a comprehensive examination of auditory-verbal therapy (AVT), from theory to evidence-based practice intended for AVT practitioners, administrators, teachers of children with hearing loss, special educators, audiologists, speech-language pathologists, psychologists, surgeons, primary care physicians, and parents.
Pediatric Audiologic Rehabilitation by 
Introduction to Aural Rehabilitation by
i>Introduction to Aural Rehabilitation, Third Edition provides comprehensive preparation for future audiology and speech-language pathology professionals to serve children and adults with hearing loss. The information is presented in a logical and readable sequence by first introducing the nature of aural rehabilitation, and then discussing considerations for children, adults, and older adults with impaired hearing. This thoroughly updated third edition includes the latest research and findings for each chapter topic: from hearing aid technology, non-hearing aid assistive technology, cochlear implant surgery and benefits, to techniques in speech and language development on behalf of children with impaired hearing and techniques for adult aural rehabilitation. Each chapter is authored by internationally recognized authorities on the topics of working with those with impaired hearing, hearing aids for children and adults, the influence of hearing impairment on communication, family counseling, educational management, cochlear implantation, and many others. Introduction to Aural Rehabilitation highlights the most important clinical and practical aspects of providing aural rehabilitation services, while avoiding the technical detail of theoretical texts. Key Features Contributions from more than 15 experts in the field of aural rehabilitation Chapter outlines begin each chapter and highlight key topics 15+ appendices with materials and scales for communication assessments New to the Third Edition All chapters have been significantly revised, including updated and expanded references The latest information on cochlear implantation for children, surgical procedures and benefits, hearing aids, and non-hearing aid assistive listening devices Updated end-of-chapter study questions for use as test materials or as quizzes to test student retention of information
Articles
Pediatric Audiology by
The definitive educational resource on the clinical management of hearing disorders in children Pediatric Audiology: Diagnosis, Technology, and Management, Third Edition is fully updated with cutting edge topics reflecting the latest advances in the field. New chapters include hearing and vestibular issues in children, state-of-the-art testing methods for neonates, and longitudinal studies on cochlear implant technology. Renowned experts Jane R. Madell, Carol Flexer and rising stars Jace Wolfe and Erin C. Schafer provide meticulous discussion on all aspects of pediatric audiology--from underlying pathology and testing to medical, therapeutic, and surgical treatments. Pearls and best practices from a cadre of esteemed experts focus on achieving optimal patient outcomes. Key Features Thirty-seven chapters organized by four sections: Hearing Loss: Essential Information, Diagnosing Hearing Disorders in Infants and Children, Hearing Access Technologies for Infants and Children, and Educational and Clinical Management of Hearing Loss in Children Detailed clinical discussion of pediatric audiologic test protocols and the selection and management of technologies The neurophysiology of reading impairment -- from theory to management Closed caption videos provide hands-on guidance on clinical testing techniques This richly illustrated edition is essential reading for graduate students in audiology, a robust resource for professors and audiologists who teach and mentor these students, and a go-to field guide for practicing clinicians. Paired with Pediatric Audiology Casebook, this dynamic duo is a must-have reference for trainee and veteran audiologists alike. This book includes complimentary access to a digital copy on https://medone.thieme.com.
Comprehensive Handbook of Pediatric Audiology, Second Edition by
The Comprehensive Handbook of Pediatric Audiology, Second Edition is the most wide-ranging and complete work of its kind, and has become the definitive reference in the specialty area of pediatric audiology. Content areas range from typical auditory development, to identification and diagnostic processes, to medical and audiologic management of childhood hearing and ear disorders. An interdisciplinary assembly of sixty-six internationally recognized experts from the fields of audiology, speech-language pathology, education, pediatric medicine, otology, and hearing science have contributed to this second edition. Building from the success of the first edition, and aligning with the evolution of the profession, this edition expands and deepens its coverage of early identification of hearing loss, etiology and medical considerations, and hearing technologies, especially implantable devices and the measurement of outcomes resulting from intervention. The Comprehensive Handbook of Pediatric Audiology, Second Edition is intended for use in doctoral-level education programs in audiology or hearing science, as well as to serve as an in-depth reference source for practicing audiologists and other professionals, educators, scientists, and policy makers seeking current and definitive information on evidence-based pediatric audiology practice. - Publisher.
Foundations of Aural Rehabilitation by
The best-selling textbook, Foundations of Aural Rehabilitation: Adults, Children, and Their Families, Fifth Edition, introduces the fundamentals of audiologic rehabilitation and hearing-related speech-language pathology in an easy-to-read, concise resource for the field of communication sciences and disorders. The text offers creative coverage of theory, clinical practice, and research-based approaches for identifying, diagnosing, and treating hearing and communication-based disorders. The text is separated into three sections for the most comprehensive coverage of each topic: Part 1 describes the components of an aural rehabilitation plan, Part 2 concerns adults and their family members, and Part 3 concerns children and their parents. Important topics throughout include patient-centered services, counseling, selection and fitting of listening devices, conversational fluency and communication strategies training, auditory training, speechreading, and language and speech acquisition. New to the Fifth Edition: Reorganization of chapters from two to three sections, to streamline the presentation of the material Expanded presentation of research designs and principles of evidence-based practice State-of-the-science review of the most current research in auditory training and audiovisual speech perception Updated information and references to reflect emerging trends in speech and language therapy, along with practical examples of lessons Improved and expanded number of figures that illustrate and illuminate key concepts and ideas Key Features: Text is written by a nationally and internationally recognized expert in aural rehabilitation, who is an active researcher in the areas of auditory training, speechreading, and communication strategies, and who writes in an engaging and clear style Chapters begin with Chapter Outlines and end with Key Chapter Points and Terms and Concepts to Remember Numerous case studies, sidebars, and text boxes Bolded key terms in text with definitions in margins, and a comprehensive end-of-book glossary
Introduction to Audiologic Rehabilitation by
What students and clinicians need to know about the most recent advances in the changing state of audiology is presented in this accessible resource. Included is coverage of important contemporary issues such as professional practice documents, evidence based practice, multicultural issues, and advances in computer and web-based rehabilitation activities. Written by a renowned team of experts and highly regarded in the field, Introduction to Audiologic Rehabilitation, 6/e is a reader-friendly, well-organized, cohesive treatment based on a proven model, framed within the concepts of the World Health Organization.
