Clinical Research in Communication Disorders by
This thoroughly updated fourth edition of Clinical Research in Communication Disorders: Principles and Strategies remains an instrumental resource for courses on research methods and design in communication disorders. The book is separated into three key sections: science and the scientific methods, clinical research designs, and doing, reporting, and evaluating research. Together, these sections provide thorough coverage of both the single-subject and group design strategies along with issues of measurement; philosophy of science; ethics of research; and planning, conducting, and reporting research. Instructors and students in communication sciences and disorders will appreciate the text's comprehensive coverage of scientific methods, group and single-subject research designs, report writing, and ethics of research in a single source. New to the Fourth Edition: New coauthor, Anthony P. Salvatore, PhD A new chapter on statistical analysis of research data, including several statistical techniques for single-subject research data, meta-analysis of both group and single-subject studies Updated criteria for visual analysis of single-subject research data New sections on translational research, qualitative research, and mixed methods research Descriptions of additional research designs not included in the previous edition (e.g., the regression discontinuity design) Updated information on research ethics and review of fraudulent biomedical research Web-based sources that monitor research fraud and recalled studies Updated and expanded references throughout Key Features: Chapter outlines open each chapter and provide a summary of the key topics Chapter summaries recap key points in an easy-to-read bulleted format End-of-chapter study guides allow readers to test their knowledge Bolded key terms throughout
Doing a Systematic Review by
Written in a friendly, accessible style by an expert team of authors with years of experience in both conducting and supervising systematic reviews, this is the perfect guide to using systematic review methodology in a research project. It provides clear answers to all review-related questions, including: How do I formulate an appropriate review question? What's the best way to manage my review? How do I develop my search strategy? How do I get started with data extraction? How do I assess the quality of a study? How can I analyse and synthesize my data? How should I write up the discussion and conclusion sections of my dissertation or thesis?
Evaluating and Conducting Research in Audiology by
Evaluating and Conducting Research in Audiology is the first research methods textbook that is specific to the field of audiology and designed to serve as an academic textbook for audiology graduate students. This text can also be accessible for audiology practitioners who are interested in clinical and applied research. The comprehensive coverage includes materials for multiple courses within audiology degree programs, including research methods, analysis of professional literature, evidence-based practice, and capstone research projects. Classroom tested, and written by authors who have extensive backgrounds in publishing and editing, this text provides knowledge that is required in evaluating, conducting, and disseminating research. The book is separated into three sections: (a) research methods; (b) evidence-based practice; and (c) conducting and disseminating research. Together, these sections provide a detailed coverage of the research methods that are relevant to conducting research, particularly in the field of Audiology. Key Features Learning outcomes at the beginning of each chapter End of chapter reviews including key points and study questions Audiology-specific examples, research methods, and study designs "Golden Nugget" boxes throughout the book containing valuable information related to the critical concepts In-depth discussion of qualitative research methods, survey research methods, and systematic reviews to motivate students and early career researchers to consider these methodologies in their research
Planning, designing and reporting research by
Introducing the research process -- Planning a research project -- Applying methods for collecting data -- Using data collection procedures -- Understanding reliability and validity -- Analysing and interpreting data -- Using reference techniques -- Presenting the research project.
Research and statistical methods in communication sciences and disorders by 
Research in Communication Sciences and Disorders by
Research in Communication Sciences and Disorders: Methods for Systematic Inquiry, Fourth Edition is a comprehensive yet comprehendible text meant for instructors and students of research methods in the field of communication sciences and disorders. This forward-thinking book reflects the movement toward evidence-based practice in speech-language pathology and audiology. The authors ensure that the concepts associated with evidence-based practice are integrated throughout the chapters. Rather than treating empirical research and searching for clinical evidence as separate topics, this text presents both as different applications of a process of scientific inquiry. The order of the chapters reflects the steps a researcher or clinician might complete when conducting an investigation. Also included are features that help students be more active in learning the material. Each chapter has a set of review questions or case scenarios that can be used as homework, as probe questions in class, or as a basis for group activities. In addition, the authors provide lists of supplemental readings from the research literature in the field. New to the Fourth Edition New author: Jaimie L. Gilbert for an enhanced audiology perspective New chapter: Writing a Literature Review Reorganized for better flow of information Various new and updated references to reflect the current state of research Additional illustrations and tables Expanded material on critical appraisal
Research Methodology by
Designed with students, for students Eight steps, two pathways, one book. The Fifth Edition of the bestseller Research Methodology has reimagined, redesigned, and fully renovated how a textbook can help students achieve success in their methods course or research project. Eight steps: Foolproof for any beginner researcher, the book breaks the process of designing and doing a research project into achievable stages. It delivers students from research problem to their written research report at the pace they need, with clear explanations, DIY tasks and study skills support. In a new landscape format it presents figures, models and visualizations elegantly, so they don′t break over a page, making even complex concepts easier to understand. Two pathways: With an innovative, beautiful design, regular progress checkpoints have been built into the book and its online resources. As students proceed through the 8 steps, each chapter provides regular opportunities for students to check understanding or give themselves a challenge. Each pathway then gives them the resources they need. Confused? Stop, practise with quizzes and flashcards, or use a video to look at a concept a different way. Up for a challenge? Access a wealth of additional material including research articles, readings, case studies, activities, bibliography tools and inspiration to pursue your curiosity, impress your lecturer, and nail your assignments. With this one book, every student gets what they need to succeed. It is the perfect essential text for students and beginner researchers across the social sciences.
Research Methods for the Behavioral Sciences by
See how interesting experimental and nonexperimental research can be with RESEARCH METHODS FOR THE BEHAVIORAL SCIENCES, 6th Edition. Inviting and conversational, the text leads you through the research process from start to finish -- using a step-by-step approach that emphasizes the decisions researchers make at each stage. Current research examples are selected to be of particular interest to students like you, and learning objectives help you focus on what's important. Chapter after chapter, the authors' "lecture in a book" style delivers clear explanations of topics that make this text easy to read and understand.
Writing Scientific Research in Communication Sciences and Disorders
Writing and learning are complementary activities -- The introduction -- The method -- The results -- Constructing data tables -- Constructing data graphs -- The discussion -- The title -- The abstract -- The review article -- Content editing -- Copy editing -- Getting published and the peer review process -- The writing process.