Acoustic Analysis of Speech by
The Acoustic Analysis Of Speech presents essential information on modern methods for the acoustic analysis of speech. It assumes only a modest technical background and is intended for the reader who wants to know the basic issues in speech analysis but does not have an extensive background in engineering, physics or mathematics.The book discusses the basic methods for the acoustic analysis of speech in relation to (a) the acoustic theory of speech production and (b) measures of primary interest to speech scientists, speech-language pathologists, linguists, psychologists or others who are interested in the acoustic signal of speech. Readers will gain an understanding of theory, methods and databases pertaining to speech acoustics.The book offers a simple and straightforward explanation of all aspects of acoustic analysis from recording the signal, to analysis methods, to sources of data on phonetic and suprasegmental aspects of speech. Includes reference to acoustic data for several languages in addition to English.TEXTBOOK
Articulatory and phonological impairments : a clinical focus by
"This text offers comprehensive coverage of a wide range of concepts related to articulation and phonology. In this comprehensive fourth edition of Articulatory and Phonological Impairment: A Clinical Focus, a range of topics are covered including, an overview of phonetic transcription and diacritics used to document disordered speech, several theoretical models, including newer nonlinear frameworks, phonological development, and relevant diagnostic and therapeutic suggestions for special populations discussed in detail. A large portion of the text is devoted to specific assessment and treatment details of articulatory and phonological disorders including a section on childhood apraxia of speech, cerebral palsy, cleft lip and palate, mental disability, hearing impairments, acquired dysarthrias, and apraxia of speech." --Publisher.
Cleft palate and craniofacial anomalies : effects on speech and resonance by 
Clinical Phonetics by
A comprehensive introduction to the art and science of clinical transcription. Clinical Phonetics was written with the belief that the clinical application of phonetics is a specialized branch of the field that requires a particular sensitivity to the challenge of transcribing speech disorders. The three primary strengths of the fourth edition of this text continue to be: authoritative coverage of the phonetics of American English, tested skills teaching in clinical transcription using four hours of audio examples (CDs sold separately), and the discussion of a wealth of clinically-relevant topics throughout the text and numerous appendices. Other notable features of the book are its broad coverage of phonetics, including an overview of the anatomy of speech production; phonetic symbols for consonants, vowels and diphthongs; diacritics for narrow transcription; representing suprasegmentals such as stress pattern; acoustic properties of speech; and dialect. This newly revised edition of Clinical Phonetics preserves the strengths of the earlier editions but offers significant improvements in content and style.
Phonetic Data Analysis by
Phonetic Data Analysis examines the procedures involved in describing the sounds of a language and illustrates the basic techniques of experimental phonetics, most of them requiring little more than a tape recorder, a video camera, and a computer. Examines the procedures involved in describing the sounds of a language and illustrates the basic techniques of experimental phonetics. Written by Peter Ladefoged, one of the world's leading phoneticians. Enables readers to work with a speaker in class or go out into the field and make their own discoveries about how the sounds of a language are made. Provides full descriptions of techniques that are readily available and do not require the resources of a major phonetics laboratory. Includes enlightening comments throughout about Ladefoged's own fieldwork experiences.
The Phonetic Transcription of Disordered Speech by
"Phonetic transcription is an area of increasing interest for clinicians treating a wide range of speech and language disorders, and in this book Ball, Rahilly, and Tench present the latest symbol systems for accurate transcription at the phonetic, segmental, prosodic, and discourse levels for use in a clinical context and illustrate their use with various speech and language disorders." "Key features include presentation of symbol sets for transcription of disordered speech and voice in context of phonetic transcription as a whole; illustrations of use of transcription with a wide range of disorders; methods for training students in clinical transcription; and importance of narrow, detailed transcription to accurate diagnosis."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved
Planning, designing and reporting research by
Introducing the research process -- Planning a research project -- Applying methods for collecting data -- Using data collection procedures -- Understanding reliability and validity -- Analysing and interpreting data -- Using reference techniques -- Presenting the research project.
Practical research : planning and design by
Nature and tools of research -- The problem : the heart of the research process -- Review of the related literature -- Planning your research project -- Writing the research proposal -- Descriptive research -- Experimental, quasi-experimental, and ex post facto designs -- Qualitative research methods -- Mixed-method designs -- Action research and participatory designs -- Analyzing quantitative data -- Analyzing qualitative and mixed-methods data -- Planning and preparing a final research report -- Appendix A. Using a spreadsheet : Microsoft Excel -- Appendix B. Using SPSS.
Research Methodology by
Designed with students, for students Eight steps, two pathways, one book. The Fifth Edition of the bestseller Research Methodology has reimagined, redesigned, and fully renovated how a textbook can help students achieve success in their methods course or research project. Eight steps: Foolproof for any beginner researcher, the book breaks the process of designing and doing a research project into achievable stages. It delivers students from research problem to their written research report at the pace they need, with clear explanations, DIY tasks and study skills support. In a new landscape format it presents figures, models and visualizations elegantly, so they don′t break over a page, making even complex concepts easier to understand. Two pathways: With an innovative, beautiful design, regular progress checkpoints have been built into the book and its online resources. As students proceed through the 8 steps, each chapter provides regular opportunities for students to check understanding or give themselves a challenge. Each pathway then gives them the resources they need. Confused? Stop, practise with quizzes and flashcards, or use a video to look at a concept a different way. Up for a challenge? Access a wealth of additional material including research articles, readings, case studies, activities, bibliography tools and inspiration to pursue your curiosity, impress your lecturer, and nail your assignments. With this one book, every student gets what they need to succeed. It is the perfect essential text for students and beginner researchers across the social sciences.
Research Methods for the Behavioral Sciences by
See how interesting experimental and nonexperimental research can be with RESEARCH METHODS FOR THE BEHAVIORAL SCIENCES, 6th Edition. Inviting and conversational, the text leads you through the research process from start to finish -- using a step-by-step approach that emphasizes the decisions researchers make at each stage. Current research examples are selected to be of particular interest to students like you, and learning objectives help you focus on what's important. Chapter after chapter, the authors' "lecture in a book" style delivers clear explanations of topics that make this text easy to read and understand.
Speech Science Primer by
Written in a clear, reader-friendly style, Speech Science Primer serves as an introduction to speech science and covers basic information on acoustics, the acoustic analysis of speech, speech anatomy and physiology, and speech perception. It also includes topics such as research methodology, speech motor control, and history/evolution of speech science. With its reader-friendly content and valuable online resources, Speech Science Primer: Physiology, Acoustics, and Perception of Speech, Sixth Edition is an ideal text for beginning speech pathology and audiology students and faculty.