Clinical Applications of the Auditory Brainstem Response by 
Recommended Readings
Auditory Electrophysiology
A practical laboratory-to-clinic guide on the basics of auditory electrophysiology Written primarily by audiologists familiar with cutting-edge research in a rapidly changing field, Auditory Electrophysiology provides a fresh perspective on the most current advances and practices in the specialty. Research and clinical information are presented separately to facilitate learning and provide a more practical organization of the material. In addition to clinical applications and case studies, this text includes sections on the foundational science and historical background of auditory evoked potentials as well as clinical practice and management. Key Features: Includes case studies written by clinicians who are experts in auditory evoked potentials, helping to highlight clinical applications in the specialty Discusses how auditory electrophysiology techniques are used in central auditory function testing Provides practical guidelines on how to write a clinical report, with easy-to-use templates, helping readers quickly master report writing Contains a chapter on the application of principles of evidence-based practice, to guide clinical technique and analysis of auditory evoked potentials Ideal as an introduction to the field for graduate students in audiology and ENT residents, Auditory Electrophysiology is also a useful guide for clinicians who want to refresh their skills or add to their practice. It fills a gap in the literature for an up-to-date text and reference on all aspects of auditory evoked potentials.
Prescribed Readings
Balance Function Assessment and Management by
The third edition of Balance Function Assessment and Management, the leading textbook on the subject, continues to comprehensively address the assessment and treatment of balance system impairments through contributions from top experts in the areas of dizziness and vertigo. Designed for use in graduate audiology programs and by practicing audiologists, this is also a valuable text for those in the fields of physical therapy, otolaryngology, and neurology. New to the Third Edition Reorganized with the expertise of four additional Editors: Kamran Barin, PhD, Robert F. Burkard, PhD, Kristen Janky, AuD, PhD, and Devin L. McCaslin, PhD Three new chapters: An Historical Perspective of the Perception of Vertigo, Dizziness, and Vestibular Medicine (Zalewski) Vestibular Balance Therapy for Children (Christy) Challenging Cases (Shepard) All existing chapters have been revised and updated An effort has been made to make the text more concise Three new helpful appendices: Appendix I covers the pathophysiology behind dizziness. The authors provide a list of disorders that cause symptoms of dizziness and balance disorders going from common peripheral disorders to rare central disorders. For each of the disorders a vignette is included that provides the symptoms, test findings, treatments, prognosis, and site-of-lesion. Appendix II deals with the development of codes that are used for billing services. The discussion includes the movement in the United States for changing to Alternative Payment Models; reimbursement based on quality of care and away from fee-for-service billing. Appendix III provides an overview of interprofessional education (IPE) and interprofessional practice (IPP) and how the hope is that IPE will lead to IPP.
Vertigo and disequilibrium : a practical guide to diagnosis and management by
This updated edition provides a comprehensive basis for understanding, identifying, and treating the underlying multifactorial etiologies of dizziness and imbalance. Vertigo is a common malady for which patients seek treatment, yet the vestibular system and its associated disorders are often misunderstood. This book effectively demystifies this topic, with clinical pearls and knowledge from foremost experts in the field. The first six chapters cover procuring a thorough patient history, examination techniques, computerized testing, radiological studies, surgical anatomy and physiology of the vestibular system, and laboratory testing. Subsequent chapters concisely detail the diagnosis and treatment of pathologies such as Meniere's disease, benign paroxysmal positional vertigo, labyrithinitis, superior semicircular canal dehisence syndrome, and unilateral peripheral vestibulopathy.
Recommended Readings
Vertigo and Imbalance: Clinical Neurophysiology of the Vestibular System by Prescribed Readings
Assessment and Management of Central Auditory Processing Disorders in the Educational Setting: from Science to Practice, Second Edition
Auditory Processing Disorders: Assessment, Management, and Treatment, Third Edition
Auditory Processing Disorders: Assessment, Management, and Treatment, Third Edition details the definition, behaviors, and comorbidities of auditory processing disorders while educating the reader on the most current practices for audiological and speech-language assessment of APD, including its impact on literacy and language processing. Practical rehabilitation, management strategies, and direct evidence-based treatment programs, including the use of technology, are covered in detail. Auditory Processing Disorders is a highly practical book designed specifically for practicing clinicians and instructors, both audiologists and speech-language pathologists. It contains a comprehensive review of APD and is an excellent resource for upper-level audiology students and for educated parents, teachers, and other professionals wishing to learn more about APD for themselves, their child, and their practice. The third edition includes a global perspective of auditory processing including the latest in evidence-based treatment programs. Content has been edited to be more concise and user-friendly for increased readability and comprehension. Contributions are from the field's most recognized experts such as Gail Chermak, Frank Musiek, Jack Katz, Harvey Dillon, Gail Richards, and Teri Bellis. NEW TO THIS EDITION: New chapters address neurological brain damage and its impact on auditory processing, psychiatric disorders associated with auditory processing, the impact of otitis media on auditory processing skills, and new methods for diagnosing. A new chapter on psychological testing and what psychologists contribute to the battery of testing, diagnosis, and knowledge base of APD, endorsing intraprofessional collaboration. A new chapter on an evidence-based program known as CAPDOTS from Carol Lau in Vancouver with data to support its use in deficit specific remediation. An updated chapter from Nina Kraus and her laboratory colleagues at Brain Volts, Northwestern University with a new perspective on categorizing and assessing APD. Updated chapters reflect the current research on AN/AD and the newest relevant tests for the SLP to administer when screening for APD and treating the phonological aspects of the disorder. ASHA expert Janet McCarty presents information and advice on private third-party payors and government agencies for coding and reimbursement. Updated images of new FM systems and apps for treatment.
Handbook of Central Auditory Processing Disorder Volume 2: Comprehensive Intervention, Second EditionRecommended Readings
