WALC 1 Aphasia Rehab by
Written in the best-selling format of the WALC series, these activities have: easy-to-read format simple, concise language application to a wide range of acquired language disorders consistent progression of complexity within and between tasks Activities are organized by five skill areas: Matching and Identification Tasks begin simply, with single, more concrete items and progress to more complex tasks. The tasks are receptive. Clients match shapes, letters of the alphabet, and words. Then, they match written words, phrases, and sentences to pictures. Following Commands Clients follow oral and written directions requiring comprehension of body parts, objects, prepositions (e.g., over, out), and adjectives (e.g., heaviest, shortest). Vocabulary These activities target deficits in comprehension and expression. Clients choose words and supply words to complete word pairs, familiar phrases, and synonyms. Other tasks include matching words to simple definitions and clues; naming items by word class; and supplying item functions and descriptions. Answering Questions The client either listens to, or reads a sentence, and answers simple wh- questions. The questions require one-, two-, and three-word responses. Yes/no questions about object functions progress from simple (e.g., Do boats float?) to more complex and abstract (e.g., Is a road wider than a sidewalk?). Comparison, before/after, and simple reasoning questions round out the activities. Functional Language These activities build on the previous units by increasing the complexity and content level. Questions may have more than one right answer or require expression of opinions. Tasks include cloze phrase and sentence completion, open sentence completion, paragraph comprehension, paragraph fill-in-the-blanks, predicting from a short story, and formulating short stories. 222 pages, answer key
Acquired Language Disorders by
Acquired Language Disorders: A Case-Based Approach, Third Edition, is a practical, easy-to-follow, informative guide for students and clinicians. The authors present each case from an impairment-based perspective with practical applications for improving activities of daily living, as well as a socially interactive perspective to create a wholistic picture of each case. For people with aphasia, clinicians are encouraged to consider not only language but also executive functions, attention, memory, and visuospatial skills. This edition begins with a review of the basics of brain-behavior relationships and pertinent medical terminology for treating individuals who have a neurological impairment. Each disorder is then introduced in a case-based format that includes a case scenario with a photo, functional analysis of the patient, critical thinking/learning activities, a diagnostic profile, the new Target Assessment Snapshot, treatment considerations, and a Venn diagram of the A-FROM Model with patient goals for each case. Special features include "Test Your Knowledge" sections based on 10 patient scenarios along with an answer key, a Quick Reference Diagnostic Chart for ALDs, and a Functional Communication Connections worksheet for treatment planning purposes. New to the Third Edition The 15 clinical cases include new photos along with the Target Assessment Snapshot depicting level of severity for expression, comprehension, reading, and writing and areas of cognitive impairment. A new case includes a bilingual person with aphasia. All chapters have been updated with relevant research. An A-FROM model graphic for each patient's treatment goals is included. There is a new Assessment Summary Sheet to help the clinician with the development of a diagnostic profile. The chapter on assessment is updated and new assessments are added, including the Assessment of Living with Aphasia (ALA) and the Repeatable Battery for the Assessment of Neuropsychological Status (R-BANS), the Progressive Aphasia Severity Scale (PASS), and more. Chapter 10 includes more than 25 treatment approaches and therapeutic programs. The chapter on assessment and service delivery for people with ALD includes discussions of the ICF and the A-FROM Model.
Language Intervention Strategies in Aphasia and Related Neurogenic Communication Disorders by
This thoroughly revised and updated Fifth Edition is the most comprehensive resource on aphasia and related neurogenic communication disorders from the most distinguished authorities of our time. This classic text has been used by graduate speech language pathology students for over 25 years, and continues to be the definitive resource across the speech sciences for aphasia. The book describes a wide range of intervention strategies including team treatment, group therapy, approaches for bilingual and culturally diverse clients, augmentative and alternative communication, and computer-assisted interventions. An important section addresses psychosocial/functional approaches to intervention. New to this edition are Activities for Discussion that encourage students to reflect on what they just read.
The Brain Injury Workbook by
Evolved from working with head injured groups at Headway and those attempting to return to work, this is a rich, comprehensive and photocopiable workbook for professionals, carers and clients. It contains over 140 cognitive rehabilitation exercises - tailored for memory, thinking skills, executive functions, awareness and insight, and emotional adjustment. It provides more than 40 information sheets on key problem areas, with questions for the reader, designed to educate and stimulate thinking and discussion. Suitable for both individuals and groups, it includes questionnaires for clients to complete with or without help and quizzes to evaluate and encourage information retention. Primarily for professionals where exercises or handout sheets can be photocopied and used therapeutically, The Brain Injury Workbook can also be used by carers or family members to provide stimulating activities for a head-injured person. In addition, the head-injured person themselves can work through the book on their own.
Cognitive Rehabilitation for Persons with Traumatic Brain Injury by 
Communication and Cognition in Normal Aging and Dementia by 
Dementia Reconsidered by
"For some years now, Tom Kitwood's work on dementia care has stood out as the most important, innovative and creative development in a field that has for too long been neglected. This book is a landmark in dementia care; it brings together, and elaborates on, Kitwood's theory of dementia and of person-centred care in an accessible fashion, that will make this an essential source for all working and researching in the field of dementia care." Robert Woods, Professor of Clinical Psychology, University of Wales "Over the last ten years or so Tom Kitwood has made a truly remarkable contribution to our understanding of dementia, and to raising expectations of what can be achieved with empathy and skill. This lucid account of his thinking and work will communicate his approach to a yet wider audience. It is to be warmly welcomed." Mary Marshall, Director of the Dementia Services Development Centre, University of Stirling * What is the real nature of the dementing process? * What might we reasonably expect when dementia care is of very high quality? * What is required of organizations and individuals involved in dementia care? Tom Kitwood breaks new ground in this book. Many of the older ideas about dementia are subjected to critical scrutiny and reappraisal, drawing on research evidence, logical analysis and the author's own experience. The unifying theme is the personhood of men and women who have dementia - an issue that was grossly neglected for many years both in psychiatry and care practice. Each chapter provides a definitive statement on a major topic related to dementia, for example: the nature of 'organic mental impairment', the experience of dementia, the agenda for care practice, and the transformation of the culture of care. While recognizing the enormous difficulties of the present day, the book clearly demonstrates the possibility of a better life for people who have dementia, and comes to a cautiously optimistic conclusion. It will be of interest to all professionals involved in dementia care or provision, students on courses involving psychogeriatrics or social work with older people, and family carers of people with dementia. Key features: * One of the few attempts to present the whole picture. * Very readable - many real-life illustrations. * Offers a major alternative to the 'medical model' of dementia. * Tom Kitwood's work on dementia is very well known
The Dementia Care Workbook by
"I regard this as a long overdue and highly relevant addition to the literature on dementia care. Its grounding in the reality of practice and realistic approach will make it a very valuable workbook for a wide range of car workers. The book will play a large part in helping to improve dementia care by presenting a vision and manual for 'best fit' realistic practice." Danny Walsh, University of Nottingham, UK "This is an excellent text for both undergraduate and postgraduate students. The strong emphasis on person centred approaches and relationships permeates throughout the book and the activities presented provide the reader with the opportunity to reflect upon their own practice and the best fit options identify interventions for consideration." Sandra Fleming, School of Nursing and Midwifery, Trinity College Dublin, Ireland "I thought this book was a very useful and detailed text exploring the world of the person with dementia and their carer." Dr Alisoun Milne, Reader in Social Gerontology, School for Social Policy, Sociology and Social Research, University of Kent, UK "Excellent text which provides a number of useful case studies which helps to demonstrate the application of evidence to practice. Well written, informative chapters." Val Howatson, Pathway Leader in Mental Health, Glasgow Caledonian University, UK This workbook builds upon the person-centred approach to dementia care, and gives students, practitioners and carers a new way of looking at dementia and the people who live with it. The authors reflect upon the reality of working within dementia care and the importance of working positively with others to achieve the best care possible. The workbook is full of exercises and activities to try, all designed to help you engage and connect with the person with dementia, empowering both them and their families/carers. Key topics explored by the workbook includes: Understanding how it feels to live with dementia. Recognising the issues and feelings involved for family carers or healthcare professionals when caring for individuals with dementia Questioning your own care approach and attitudes to encourage more compassionate person-centred care Throughout the workbook, vignettes featuring two fictional characters living with dementia, provide examples of good and realistic practice and encourage you to examine your own practice and explore ways in which the care you give can be enhanced. The Dementia Care Workbook is a valuable companion and learning tool for all those working with people with dementia
