Motor Control and Learning by
Expanded and completely updated, the fourth edition of Motor Control and Learning: A Behavioral Emphasisis a comprehensive introduction to motor behavior. The authoritative text frames the important issues, theories, persons, and research in the field in a reader-friendly way, allowing students to learn the most pertinent information in the field. Motor Control and Learning: A Behavioral Emphasis, Fourth Edition,is the only graduate textbook that combines motor control and motor learning with the in-depth details students need in order to understand the topic and distinguish between different sides of an issue. Authored by two of the leading researchers in the field, the new edition features an up-to-date review of the latest research, more than 400 new references, new figures, and these new features: -Highlight boxes featuring in-depth discussion of relevant issues, new topics, and classic research -Selected quotes representing important contributions to the field, interpreted for current and future researchers -Web-based references that support and enhance students' comprehension of the material Motor Control and Learning: A Behavioral Emphasis, Fourth Edition,is the only text that focuses specifically on the motor learning and motor control areas of motor behavior. The new features and ancillaries make it ideal for students to use as a text and for professionals to access as a reference. Part Iintroduces the fields of motor control and learning. It provides a brief history; explains the tools of motor behavior research; presents the information-processing approach, which is fundamental to understanding how humans think and act; and describes how attention influences motor behavior. Part IIaddresses various factors contributing to the complex whole of the human motor system. It examines the roles of sensory information and the ways in which information from the environment influences movement behavior, considers the central control and representation of action, deals with laws and models regarding speed and accuracy, looks at the coordination needed for more complex tasks, and addresses factors that make people differ in their skilled behaviors. Part IIIaddresses performance changes that accompany motor learning. It describes the research methods used for studying and measuring motor learning, discusses the effects of various conditions under which a learner can practice motor skills, considers the effects of providing augmented information about what was done, and examines the empirical relationships and principles concerned with the retention and transfer of motor skills.
Articles
Group Therapy
Group Treatment for Neurogenic Communication Disorders by
This resource for clinicians presents a number of group treatment methods for persons with aphasia or other neurogenic communication disorders. Introductory chapters address such general issues as measuring outcomes of group therapy and dealing with reimbursement. In the 15 chapters that follow, international specialists offer in-depth descriptions
Bilingual Cognition and Language by
This collection brings together leading names in the field of bilingualism research to celebrate the 25th anniversary of the Studies in Bilingualism series. Over the last 25 years the study of bilingualism has received a tremendous amount of attention from linguists, psychologists, cognitive scientists, and neuroscientists. The breadth of coverage in this volume is a testament to the many different aspects of bilingualism that continue to generate phenomenal interest in the scholarly community. The bilingual experience is captured through a multifaceted prism that includes aspects of language and literacy development in child bilinguals with and without developmental language disorders, language processing and mental representations in adult bilinguals across the lifespan, and the cognitive and neurological basis of bilingualism. Different theoretical approaches - from generative UG-based models to constructivist usage-based models - are brought to bear on the nature of bilingual linguistic knowledge. The end result is a compendium of the state-of-the-art of a field that is in constant evolution and that is on an upward trajectory of discovery.
Beyond Aphasia by
This book focuses explicitly on therapeutic techniques developed from a social model approach to disability and learning to live with difference. It describes theories, activities and methods of implementation developed from the work of Connect with people with long term aphasia. "Theoretical discussion runs alongside practical ideas for therapy and evaluation, case studies and commentaries from the authors regarding the method and means of implementation." Synthesises theory and practice in this new area of service delivery. Its non-impairment led focus of the therapies means that it has wide appeal to therapists, health service professionals and volunteers who work with people with chronic disabilities affecting lifestyle and communication.
Supporting Communication for Adults with Acute and Chronic Aphasia by
How can SLPs and other practitioners provide the best supports for adults with aphasia-and help them make a successful return to daily life? Clear answers are in this comprehensive text, the definitive guide to research-based strategies, supports, and technologies that improve outcomes for adults with chronic or acute aphasia. Introducing a unique approach to aphasia treatment, this book goes far beyond coverage of AAC devices, revealing innovative ways to educate families and communities about the needs of people with aphasia and encourage ongoing participation in everyday life. SLPs, OTs, PTs, and other service providers will get the foundational knowledge they need to leverage today's technology--both electronic and non-electronic options-to support communication ensure effective communication support across all healthcare settings and stages of recovery implement therapeutic assessments that involve patients as proactive partners in their rehabilitation weave communication supports into inpatient and outpatient therapy conduct aphasia treatment in small groups to enhance communication and reduce social isolation support participation in everyday situations, including self-care, leisure activities, and interpersonal interactions strengthen social relationships by training the communication partners of people with aphasia maintain ongoing, long-term communication support that adapts to changing needs An ideal textbook for graduate courses on aphasia--and an indispensable resource for practicing SLPs and other service providers--this book will help professionals strengthen the communication skills, social competence, and life satisfaction of people with aphasia. Includes brief, instructive case studies and quick-reference lists of communication strategies and supports Click here to learn more about Brookes' Augmentative and Alternative Communication Series!
Article and Web Resource
Voice Disorders by
A detailed look at voice disorders that brings the knowledge of speech-language pathologists and medical professionals together for a fuller picture of causes, evaluation, and treatment. This book integrates a comprehensive and in-depth discussion of the anatomy, physiology, and neurology of specific voice disorders including causes, symptoms, evaluation, and treatment approaches. Discussion of multicultural perspectives, evidence based practice, quality of life, and the WHO International Classification of Functioning, Disability, and Health provides readers with a current framework for clinical management. All-inclusive, current, and user-friendly, this first edition text provides a solid foundation for both normal structure and function of the respiratory and laryngeal systems as well as details on specific voice disorders and best practices for clinical management.
The Voice and Voice Therapy by
The Voice and Voice Therapy incorporates the most current scientific evidence from a variety of disciplines that supports the behavioral approaches to voice assessment and intervention. Well-written, with meaningful applications and helpful pedagogy, the book is accessible and relevant to students, instructors, and clinicians. The 10th Edition includes nearly 500 new references representing advances in the field; updated topics and discussions; and new and improved pedagogical elements to ensure that students, instructors, and clinicians have the most current voice and voice-related disorders resource available.
Understanding Voice Problems: chapter 10 by
Understanding Voice Problems: A Physiological Perspective for Diagnosis and Treatment emphasizes the physiological perspective of voice disorders--and the behavioral and emotional factors that can influence these changes. Readers will find a strong foundation in normal phonatory physiology and acoustics as well as pathophysiology arising from voice misuse, abuse, or neurological involvement. Coverage includes in-depth explorations of patient interviewing, history-taking, examination, and testing and discussions of pediatric and geriatric voice considerations. The book contains numerous illustrations, including full-color plates of vocal fold pathologies. A companion website features nearly 30 video clips that demonstrate healthy, normally functioning larynges at work, plus larynges with various pathological problems.
Articles