Assessment in Speech-Language Pathology by Kenneth G. Shipley; Julie G. McAfee
This thoroughly updated sixth edition of the best-selling text Assessment in Speech-Language Pathology remains an invaluable resource for instructors, students, and clinicians. The book covers the diagnosis and evaluation of a wide range of communication disorders in adults and children. This one-of-a-kind manual provides a comprehensive package of reference materials, explanations of assessment procedures, practical stimulus suggestions, and hands-on worksheets and screening forms. The highly practical resource is separated into four easy-to-navigate sections: Part I highlights preparatory considerations; Part II includes procedures and materials for obtaining, interpreting, and reporting assessment information; Part III provides materials and suggestions for assessing communicative disorders. Part IV presents a quick-reference section, providing information on hearing considerations and medical diagnoses. This must-have sixth edition reflects the latest research, best practices, and important trends and developments for assessment in speech-language pathology. New to the Sixth Edition Updated content throughout to reflect current research and practice New chapter on Selective Mutism New section covering the assessment of transgender voice Updated Sources of Additional Information in every chapter, with addition of recommended mobile applications for speech-language assessment Key Features Full-color design with images, charts, and illustrations to engage readers and display key concepts Each chapter concludes with practical forms, including worksheets, checklists, and additional sources of information Glossary of key terms Chapter tabs with separate colors for quick and easy access
ISBN: 9781635502091
Publication Date: 2019-11-01
Disabled Village Children by David B. Werner
Disabled Village Children is for those concerned with the well being of disabled children living in rural or poor areas. The book contains a wealth of information crucial for therapists, professionals and community groups facing a variety of common childhood disabilities including polio, cerebral palsy, juvenile arthritis, blindness and deafness. The book provides clear, detailed information and easy-to-implement ideas for rehabilitation at the village level, development of skills, making low-cost aids and the prevention of disabilities.
ISBN: 9780942364064
Publication Date: 1987-05-01
King, G., Strachan, D., Tucker, M., Duwyn, B., Desserud, S., & Shillington, M. (2009). The application of a transdisciplinary model for early intervention services. Infants and Young Children, 22(3), 211-223.
Samuels, A., Slemming, W., & Balton, S. (2012). Early childhood intervention in South Africa in relation to the developmental systems model. Infants & Young Children, 25(4), 334-345.
Augmentative and Alternative Communication by
This definitive textbook incorporates critical information on implementing augmentative and alternative communication (AAC). It explains the principles and procedures of AAC assessment and offers intervention techniques that are appropriate throughout the life span of children and adults with congenital or acquired communication disorders.
Multilingual Illustrated Dictionary by
The Multilingual Illustrated Dictionary is a seven-language glossary, fully illustrated with colour pictures and photographs. The seven Southern African languages are English, IsiZulu, Sesotho, IsiXhosa, Setswana, Afrikaans and Sepedi. Suitable for school, home and work, this valuable resource book offers a unique opportunity for all South Africans to broaden their vocabulary and to learn about each other's languages. For easy reference, the dictionary is divided into 12 themes, a mini grammar section and a multilingual index. Each teme is fully illustrated and labeled in English, IsiZulu, Sesotho, IsiXhosa, Setswana, Afrikaans and Sepedi. The temes are concluded with useful phrases.
Assessment in Speech-Language Pathology by
This thoroughly updated sixth edition of the best-selling text Assessment in Speech-Language Pathology remains an invaluable resource for instructors, students, and clinicians. The book covers the diagnosis and evaluation of a wide range of communication disorders in adults and children. This one-of-a-kind manual provides a comprehensive package of reference materials, explanations of assessment procedures, practical stimulus suggestions, and hands-on worksheets and screening forms. The highly practical resource is separated into four easy-to-navigate sections: Part I highlights preparatory considerations; Part II includes procedures and materials for obtaining, interpreting, and reporting assessment information; Part III provides materials and suggestions for assessing communicative disorders. Part IV presents a quick-reference section, providing information on hearing considerations and medical diagnoses. This must-have sixth edition reflects the latest research, best practices, and important trends and developments for assessment in speech-language pathology. New to the Sixth Edition Updated content throughout to reflect current research and practice New chapter on Selective Mutism New section covering the assessment of transgender voice Updated Sources of Additional Information in every chapter, with addition of recommended mobile applications for speech-language assessment Key Features Full-color design with images, charts, and illustrations to engage readers and display key concepts Each chapter concludes with practical forms, including worksheets, checklists, and additional sources of information Glossary of key terms Chapter tabs with separate colors for quick and easy access
Disabled Village Children by
Disabled Village Children is for those concerned with the well being of disabled children living in rural or poor areas. The book contains a wealth of information crucial for therapists, professionals and community groups facing a variety of common childhood disabilities including polio, cerebral palsy, juvenile arthritis, blindness and deafness. The book provides clear, detailed information and easy-to-implement ideas for rehabilitation at the village level, development of skills, making low-cost aids and the prevention of disabilities.