Assessment in Speech-Language Pathology by
This thoroughly updated sixth edition of the best-selling text Assessment in Speech-Language Pathology remains an invaluable resource for instructors, students, and clinicians. The book covers the diagnosis and evaluation of a wide range of communication disorders in adults and children. This one-of-a-kind manual provides a comprehensive package of reference materials, explanations of assessment procedures, practical stimulus suggestions, and hands-on worksheets and screening forms. The highly practical resource is separated into four easy-to-navigate sections: Part I highlights preparatory considerations; Part II includes procedures and materials for obtaining, interpreting, and reporting assessment information; Part III provides materials and suggestions for assessing communicative disorders. Part IV presents a quick-reference section, providing information on hearing considerations and medical diagnoses. This must-have sixth edition reflects the latest research, best practices, and important trends and developments for assessment in speech-language pathology. New to the Sixth Edition Updated content throughout to reflect current research and practice New chapter on Selective Mutism New section covering the assessment of transgender voice Updated Sources of Additional Information in every chapter, with addition of recommended mobile applications for speech-language assessment Key Features Full-color design with images, charts, and illustrations to engage readers and display key concepts Each chapter concludes with practical forms, including worksheets, checklists, and additional sources of information Glossary of key terms Chapter tabs with separate colors for quick and easy access
Born to Talk by
In a new fifth edition that offers exciting expansions and updates, Born To Talk continues to provide college students of all levels with a contemporary and comprehensive view of speech and language development in a reader-friendly and interactive manner. Structured to reflect the actual development of language in a child, this engaging text introduces readers to research-based information on the nature of human communication, theories of language and cognitive development, the anatomy and physiology of speech, milestones of language and literacy, cultural and linguistic diversity in language acquisition, and speech and language disorders. The new revised fifth edition of Born To Talk includes up-to-date research on the impact of parent-child interactions, language samples from one child across the first three years, and emergent literacy in preschool. The revision also expands on the acquisition of the sound system and brings an integrated perspective of childhood language disorders through case examples. New to this Edition: # New research is covered throughout the book regarding the impact of parent-child interactions, language samples from one child across the first three years, and emergent literacy in preschool. # An expanded section on the acquisition of the sound system helps readers better understand a vital aspect of language development. # New case studies found throughout the text provide students with real-life examples of childhood language disorders.
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders - DSM-5 by
This new edition of Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5®), used by clinicians and researchers to diagnose and classify mental disorders, is the product of more than 10 years of effort by hundreds of international experts in all aspects of mental health. Their dedication and hard work have yielded an authoritative volume that defines and classifies mental disorders in order to improve diagnoses, treatment, and research. The criteria are concise and explicit, intended to facilitate an objective assessment of symptom presentations in a variety of clinical settings -- inpatient, outpatient, partial hospital, consultation-liaison, clinical, private practice, and primary care. New features and enhancements make DSM-5® easier to use across all settings: * The chapter organization reflects a lifespan approach, with disorders typically diagnosed in childhood (such as neurodevelopmental disorders) at the beginning of the manual, and those more typical of older adults (such as neurocognitive disorders) placed at the end. Also included are age-related factors specific to diagnosis. * The latest findings in neuroimaging and genetics have been integrated into each disorder along with gender and cultural considerations.* The revised organizational structure recognizes symptoms that span multiple diagnostic categories, providing new clinical insight in diagnosis. * Specific criteria have been streamlined, consolidated, or clarified to be consistent with clinical practice (including the consolidation of autism disorder, Asperger's syndrome, and pervasive developmental disorder into autism spectrum disorder; the streamlined classification of bipolar and depressive disorders; the restructuring of substance use disorders for consistency and clarity; and the enhanced specificity for major and mild neurocognitive disorders).* Dimensional assessments for research and validation of clinical results have been provided.* Both ICD-9-CM and ICD-10-CM codes are included for each disorder, and the organizational structure is consistent with the new ICD-11 in development. The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, is the most comprehensive, current, and critical resource for clinical practice available to today's mental health clinicians and researchers of all orientations. The information contained in the manual is also valuable to other physicians and health professionals, including psychologists, counselors, nurses, and occupational and rehabilitation therapists, as well as social workers and forensic and legal specialists.
Introduction to Communication Disorders: a Lifespan Evidence-Based Approach, Global Edition by
For introductory courses in communication sciences and disorders A clear, comprehensive introduction to communication sciences and disorders, with an evidence-based, lifespan perspective. This text provides a thorough introduction to communication sciences and disorders designed for undergraduate-level students. The new Fifth Edition continues the evidence-based, lifespan perspective. It reviews and explains the most recent research evidence pertaining to the assessment and treatment of communication disorders from birth through the end of life in a clear, comprehensible fashion. Each chapter is concise, yet provides comprehensive information appropriate for an introductory-level text. Students gain a basic foundation in the areas of anatomy and physiology of the speech and hearing mechanisms, and an overview of the various disorders that affect voice, fluency, articulation, language, cognition, swallowing, and hearing, along with detailed descriptions of the varying etiologies that cause these impairments. The authors describe specific evaluation procedures and tools for each disorder, and discuss efficacious management approaches and techniques for both child and adult populations. Case studies, evidence-based practice summary boxes, video examples, and technical and photographic illustrations are featured in each chapter as a means to maximide the student's learning experience. In addition, Check Your Understanding and thought questions are also provided in each chapter to ensure student comprehension of information.
It takes two to talk : a practical guide for parents of children with language delays by 
Language Development by
Language Development: An Introduction offers a cohesive, easy-to-understand overview of all aspects of language development, including syntax, morphology, semantics, phonology, and pragmatics. Each idea and concept is explained in a way that is clear to even beginning students and then reinforced with outstanding pedagogical aids such as discussion questions, chapter objectives, reflections, and main point boxed features. Filled with real-world examples, the book looks at how children learn to communicate in general, and in English specifically, while emphasizing individual patterns of communication development. The 10th Edition keeps readers up to date on major topics in the field and the challenges that teachers face in today's diverse classrooms. It provides more child language examples; improves readability with more thorough explanations and clarifications; includes updated research with the addition of several hundred new references; streamlines the discussion of reading comprehension; includes practical learning theories; and more.
Language Disorders by
Taking a functional approach, Language Disorders, 6/e focuses on children's language problems from a holistic perspective. Unlike other language disorders books, it moves logically from assessment through intervention emphasizing universal techniques that work for all delays and disorders. With over 1200 new references, it provides a strong theoretical background and emphasizes evidence-based practices. This edition includes a new chapter on early communication intervention, more on language analysis, coverage of Specific Language Impairment, and more on augmentative and alternative communication.
Language Disorders from Infancy Through Adolescence by
Spanning the entire childhood developmental period, Language Disorders from Infancy Through Adolescence, 5th Edition is the go-to text for learning how to properly assess childhood language disorders and provide appropriate treatment. The most comprehensive title available on childhood language disorders, it uses a descriptive-developmental approach to present basic concepts and vocabulary, an overview of key issues and controversies, the scope of communicative difficulties that make up child language disorders, and information on how language pathologists approach the assessment and intervention processes. This new edition also features significant updates in research, trends, social skills assessment, and instruction best practices. Clinical application focus featuring case studies, clinical vignettes, and suggested projects helps you apply concepts to professional practice. UNIQUE! Practice exercises with sample transcripts allow you to apply different methods of analysis. UNIQUE! Helpful study guides at the end of each chapter help you review and apply what you have learned. Highly regarded lead author who is an expert in language disorders in children provides authoritative guidance on the diagnosis and management of pediatric language disorders. More than 230 tables and boxes summarize important information such as dialogue examples, sample assessment plans, assessment and intervention principles, activities, and sample transcripts. Student/Professional Resources on Evolve include an image bank, video clips, and references linked to PubMed. NEW! Common core standards for language arts incorporated into the preschool and school-age chapters. NEW! Updated content features the latest research, theories, trends and techniques in the field. Information on preparing high-functioning students with autism for college Social skills training for students with autism The role of the speech-language pathologist on school literacy teams and in response to intervention Emerging theories of etiology and psychopathology added to Models of Child Language Disorders chapter Use of emerging technologies for assessment and intervention
Persisting Speech Difficulties in Children by
This is the third book in the series "Children's Speech and Literacy Difficulties" and is based on research and practice with school-age children with persisting speech and associated difficulties. It focuses on the psycholinguistic nature of their difficulties, how to design intervention programmes, and how intervention outcomes might be measured. It will serve as a practical handbook and will contain usefuls word lists, tips and photocopiable sheets in the appendix. Each chapter will summarise recent research findings and close with a bulleted summary of the main points in the chapter. Provides an explanation of the psycholinguistic approach and how to implement it, and integrate it with other approaches. Includes case studies
Speech-language therapy in a school context : principles and practices by 
Treatment Resource Manual for Speech-Language Pathology, Sixth Edition by
The thoroughly revised Sixth Edition of the best-selling Treatment Resource Manual for Speech-Language Pathology remains an ideal textbook for clinical methods courses in speech-language pathology, as well as for students entering their clinical practicum or preparing for certification and licensure. It is also a beloved go-to resource for practicing clinicians who need a thorough guide to effective intervention approaches/strategies. This detailed, evidence-based book includes complete coverage of common disorder characteristics, treatment approaches, information on reporting techniques, and patient profiles across a wide range of child and adult client populations. The text is divided into two sections. The first part is focused on preparing for effective intervention, and the second part, the bulk of the book, is devoted to therapy strategies for specific disorders. Each of these chapters features a brief description of the disorder, case examples, specific suggestions for the selection of therapy targets, and sample therapy activities. Each chapter concludes with a set of helpful hints on intervention and a selected list of available therapy materials and resources. New to the Sixth Edition This new edition includes updated citations and references throughout as well as current information on treatment efficacy in all disorder chapters to reflect recent developments in the field. In addition, the authors have added the following: A new chapter on Contemporary Issues including critical thinking, telepractice, simulation technologies, and coding and reimbursement New tables on skill development in gesture, feeding, and vision New information on therapist effects/therapeutic alliance Coverage of emerging techniques for voice disorders and transgender clients Expanded information on:​​​​​​ Childhood Apraxia of Speech Cochlear Implants Cultural and Linguistic Diversity Interprofessional Practice Shared Book-Reading Traumatic Brain Injury Treatment Dosage/Intensity Vocabulary Development Key Features Bolded key terms with an end-of-book glossary A multitude of case examples, reference tables, charts, figures, and reproducible forms Lists of Additional Resources in each chapter