Introduction to Communication Disorders: a Lifespan Evidence-Based Approach, Global Edition by
For introductory courses in communication sciences and disorders A clear, comprehensive introduction to communication sciences and disorders, with an evidence-based, lifespan perspective. This text provides a thorough introduction to communication sciences and disorders designed for undergraduate-level students. The new Fifth Edition continues the evidence-based, lifespan perspective. It reviews and explains the most recent research evidence pertaining to the assessment and treatment of communication disorders from birth through the end of life in a clear, comprehensible fashion. Each chapter is concise, yet provides comprehensive information appropriate for an introductory-level text. Students gain a basic foundation in the areas of anatomy and physiology of the speech and hearing mechanisms, and an overview of the various disorders that affect voice, fluency, articulation, language, cognition, swallowing, and hearing, along with detailed descriptions of the varying etiologies that cause these impairments. The authors describe specific evaluation procedures and tools for each disorder, and discuss efficacious management approaches and techniques for both child and adult populations. Case studies, evidence-based practice summary boxes, video examples, and technical and photographic illustrations are featured in each chapter as a means to maximide the student's learning experience. In addition, Check Your Understanding and thought questions are also provided in each chapter to ensure student comprehension of information.
Speech-language therapy in a school context : principles and practices by
Summary"The education system in South Africa is struggling to help learners to develop their full potential, particularly those from poor and rural communities. Research has shown that a lack of communication skills has become a major challenge and a barrier to learning for many learners. The current situation in this country requires us to consider not only children who have specific communication impairments, but also those battling to develop communication skills when their situation places them at a severe disadvantage. Speech-language therapy in a school context is a much-needed academic text for training students in speech-language therapy and audiology to work effectively in an educational environment. Speech-language therapy in a school context promotes collaborative practices among professionals, including occupational therapists, physiotherapists, learning support therapists and teachers, while reinforcing the ethical principles and practices required by the Health Professions Council of South Africa. It provides theory and practical guidelines in line with the Revised National Curriculum Statement and is supported by interactive learning activities. Speech-language therapy in a school context is aimed at students in speech-language therapy and audiology and is also a valuable foundational text for practicing therapists." --Publisher.
Assessment in Speech-Language Pathology by
This thoroughly updated sixth edition of the best-selling text Assessment in Speech-Language Pathology remains an invaluable resource for instructors, students, and clinicians. The book covers the diagnosis and evaluation of a wide range of communication disorders in adults and children. This one-of-a-kind manual provides a comprehensive package of reference materials, explanations of assessment procedures, practical stimulus suggestions, and hands-on worksheets and screening forms. The highly practical resource is separated into four easy-to-navigate sections: Part I highlights preparatory considerations; Part II includes procedures and materials for obtaining, interpreting, and reporting assessment information; Part III provides materials and suggestions for assessing communicative disorders. Part IV presents a quick-reference section, providing information on hearing considerations and medical diagnoses. This must-have sixth edition reflects the latest research, best practices, and important trends and developments for assessment in speech-language pathology. New to the Sixth Edition Updated content throughout to reflect current research and practice New chapter on Selective Mutism New section covering the assessment of transgender voice Updated Sources of Additional Information in every chapter, with addition of recommended mobile applications for speech-language assessment Key Features Full-color design with images, charts, and illustrations to engage readers and display key concepts Each chapter concludes with practical forms, including worksheets, checklists, and additional sources of information Glossary of key terms Chapter tabs with separate colors for quick and easy access
Language Disorders from Infancy Through Adolescence by
Language Disorders from Infancy Through Adolescence, 4th Edition is the go-to text for all the information you need to properly assess childhood language disorders and provide appropriate treatment. This core resource spans the entire developmental period through adolescence, and uses a descriptive-developmental approach to present basic concepts and vocabulary, an overview of key issues and controversies, the scope of communicative difficulties that make up child language disorders, and information on how language pathologists approach the assessment and intervention processes. This new edition also features significant updates in research, trends, instruction best practices, and social skills assessment. Comprehensive text covers the entire developmental period through adolescence. Clinical application focus featuring case studies, clinical vignettes, and suggested projects helps you apply concepts to professional practice. Straightforward, conversational writing style makes this book easy to read and understand. More than 230 tables and boxes summarize important information such as dialogue examples, sample assessment plans, assessment and intervention principles, activities, and sample transcripts. UNIQUE! Practice exercises with sample transcripts allow you to apply different methods of analysis. UNIQUE! Helpful study guides at the end of each chapter help you review and apply what you have learned. Versatile text is perfect for a variety of language disorder courses, and serves as a great reference tool for professional practitioners. Highly regarded lead author Rhea Paul lends her expertise in diagnosing and managing pediatric language disorders. Communication development milestones are printed on the inside front cover for quick access. Chapter objectives summarize what you can expect to learn in each chapter. Updated content features the latest research, theories, trends and techniques in the field. Information on autism incorporated throughout the text Best practices in preliteracy and literacy instruction The role of the speech-language pathologist on school literacy teams and in response to intervention New reference sources Student/Professional Resources on Evolve include an image bank, video clips, and references linked to PubMed.
Believe that all can achieve : increasing classroom participation in learners with special support needs by
Summary"Every learner and every teacher is a unique blend of personal characteristics and background factors that change with time and context, and affect the experience of living and developing. Traditionally, the education of children with disabilities focused on the nature of specific conditions in an attempt to alleviate barriers to learning. The disability, and not the impact of the impairment on participation at school or at home, was emphasized. The current focus is on the strengths, attitudes and positive functioning of children within meaningful contexts. Believe that all can achieve addresses inclusion as the foundation for education in an attempt to celebrate diversity in the classroom, to capitalize on the strengths each learner brings to the learning-teaching dyad, and to welcome every family member as part of the broader classroom community."--Cover